GPU brackets for mounting Antec 620/920 and Corsair h50/70/110 - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GPU brackets for mounting Antec 620/920 and Corsair h50/70/110

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pc-illiterate View Post

a 2mm screw will be too small. a 2mm washer would be too small and flimsy being made from nylon to hold itself out of a 4mm hole. the bracket holes will need to be the same size as the holes in the pcb. i am a mechanic, a machinist and a metal worker. i also know exactly what i did and saw when putting on my universal gpu blocks. i am just trying to save you a headache and time and possibly money.
good luck.

I really do appreciate your advice... What size holes on the bracket and what size(diameter) screws would you recommend? Do you think I should do 3mm holes with 3mm screws? or 4mm holes with 4mm screws to fir the pcb?
Shazberries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 01:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pc-illiterate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,198
Rep: 359 (Unique: 284)
i take back what i said about screw sizes. just to be sure i dug out my install instructions for the uni block. swiftech instructions say they use a 2-56 screw to fasten the block to the pcb. i imagine this leads to a 3mm hole through the pcb and mount.
please discard anything else ive said about sizes. all i can say for sure is once you remove your heatsink from your graphics card, you can see what size screw fits through that hole.
sorry for my lack of research and memory retention before commenting. at least i was smart enough to double check before commenting anymore...

actually i would pull a heatsink from a graphics card and just measure bolt clearance before doing any printing.

post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif
pc-illiterate is offline  
post #33 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Ok, well I should have a 3D model printed by Friday and I will be able to see for sure then... I might end up doing the slotted hole too, but I will see... I have some friends with AMD cards who can test this for me...
Shazberries is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pc-illiterate View Post

i take back what i said about screw sizes. just to be sure i dug out my install instructions for the uni block. swiftech instructions say they use a 2-56 screw to fasten the block to the pcb. i imagine this leads to a 3mm hole through the pcb and mount.
please discard anything else ive said about sizes. all i can say for sure is once you remove your heatsink from your graphics card, you can see what size screw fits through that hole.
sorry for my lack of research and memory retention before commenting. at least i was smart enough to double check before commenting anymore...

actually i would pull a heatsink from a graphics card and just measure bolt clearance before doing any printing.

What size 2-56 screws? Is 2-56 the head size or the thread?
Shazberries is offline  
post #35 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-27-2014, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
UPDATE:
Should get to see the 3D printed model tomorrow and also visit a metal shop soon!
Shazberries is offline  
post #36 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Torvi and I have been talking and he suggested that instead of just using a fan on the other side of the bracket, that I use both a low profile heatsink + low profile fan... Wouldn't this require people to take the fins off their vrm? and cause cooling issues with that? Or am I completely wrong? I would love to get as much cooling as possible, so if you guy think it's better, Ill do it.
Shazberries is offline  
post #37 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 09:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pc-illiterate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,198
Rep: 359 (Unique: 284)
if their is already a heatsink on the vrm and/or the vram, there is no reason to remove it. if the overclock someone wants to run requires more vrm cooling than the factory heatsink plus a fan supplies, that someone needs to invest in custom water cooling.

post-flame-small.gif_.=5 GHz Overclock Club=._post-flame-small.gif
pc-illiterate is offline  
post #38 of 39 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Shazberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Yeah, those were my thoughts as well. There's no point in getting rid of the already present vrm cooling fins... A fan and water cooling bracket should be just fine.
Shazberries is offline  
post #39 of 39 (permalink) Old 04-10-2014, 07:43 PM
On The Red Team
 
Roboyto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: The City of Chi
Posts: 1,650
Rep: 255 (Unique: 164)

Any updates?! :) 

 

My buddy just bought a 280X and is itching to get a watercooler on it


Vega Has Ryzen
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus mATX
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
8GB Patriot Viper 4 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
256GB NVMe WD Black
Hard Drive
WD Black 6TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000x
Cooling
Mostly XSPC
Case
Corsair Obsidian 350D
Operating System
WinX Enterprise LTSC
Monitor
LG 34" UW 2560 x 1080
Monitor
(2) LG 23" 1920 x 1080
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB - Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Corsair Scimitar RGB
Audio
Logitech Z623
▲ hide details ▲
Roboyto is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off