h80i pump question (not what you think) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

h80i pump question (not what you think)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2014, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
AMDfanAMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 175
Rep: 5
**i posted this in air cooling by accident**
reposting to water cooling, some one please let me now how to delet the thread in air cooling so its not a double post!


This isnt a "Should i push/pull" question.

i have been using an H80i and it has served me well, i just recently minimized my pc into a bitfenix prodigy with an Asus impact MOBO, the mobo has 4 fan headers on it. i want to control my fans with my MOBO since windows 8.1 doesnt seem to want to work with corsair link even after trying the registry fix.

with the h80i pump plugged into the mobo i only have 3 headers for fans, my push/pull on the radiator and my exhaust, the 4th fan i leave unplugged as an intake bc it is simply to loud at full speed. id like to have full control over my 4 fans from my mobo and plug the pump directly to a molex to 3-pin from the PSU. Also, the "SATA" plug is plugged in, idk if that is for the built in fan power or if that is for the pump so i left both plugged in to be safe.

Anyone do this?

Thanks!

TL:DR - Can you plug the pump from an H80i directly to a molex to 3-pin connector from the power supply instead of a header on the motherboard without the pump imploding.

Max it out
AMDfanAMD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2014, 11:52 AM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,176
Rep: 1554
I think you'd be fine to plug the pump into a 3 pin to molex adaptor, however I have a better solution. Purchase a Y splitter. This will allow you to have all the fans and the pump connected to the Motherboard, whilst allowing full control to the fans.

See here:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.
BradleyW is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2014, 01:07 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Synister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Steel City, UK
Posts: 628
Rep: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDfanAMD View Post

**i posted this in air cooling by accident**
reposting to water cooling, some one please let me now how to delet the thread in air cooling so its not a double post!


This isnt a "Should i push/pull" question.

i have been using an H80i and it has served me well, i just recently minimized my pc into a bitfenix prodigy with an Asus impact MOBO, the mobo has 4 fan headers on it. i want to control my fans with my MOBO since windows 8.1 doesnt seem to want to work with corsair link even after trying the registry fix.

with the h80i pump plugged into the mobo i only have 3 headers for fans, my push/pull on the radiator and my exhaust, the 4th fan i leave unplugged as an intake bc it is simply to loud at full speed. id like to have full control over my 4 fans from my mobo and plug the pump directly to a molex to 3-pin from the PSU. Also, the "SATA" plug is plugged in, idk if that is for the built in fan power or if that is for the pump so i left both plugged in to be safe.

Anyone do this?

Thanks!

TL:DR - Can you plug the pump from an H80i directly to a molex to 3-pin connector from the power supply instead of a header on the motherboard without the pump imploding.

If you can deal with the noise of the pump at full whack - it really shouldn't be an issue. You could even use a reducer to take the 12V down to 7V and have the pump running a fixed lower speed.

N.B. Increasing pump flow rate does not increase cooling performance! thumb.gif

IF You Can COOL IT!cool.gif - You Can CLOCK IT!wheee.gif
Amat Victoria Curam - Victory Loves Preparation rolleyes.gif
Synister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2014, 01:52 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,176
Rep: 1554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synister View Post

If you can deal with the noise of the pump at full whack - it really shouldn't be an issue. You could even use a reducer to take the 12V down to 7V and have the pump running a fixed lower speed.

N.B. Increasing pump flow rate does not increase cooling performance! thumb.gif

Well, it does, because the faster water is moving, the more difficult it is to heat the water. But with an AIO, the loop is relatively small so it won't have much of a performance impact. So your half right I guess haha.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.
BradleyW is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2014, 08:24 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Synister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Steel City, UK
Posts: 628
Rep: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post

Well, it does, because the faster water is moving, the more difficult it is to heat the water. But with an AIO, the loop is relatively small so it won't have much of a performance impact. So your half right I guess haha.

Sorry but when you think about what you wrote here: 'because the faster water is moving, the more difficult it is to heat the water' that would decrease cooling performance right? as the water wouldn't have the time to conduct the heat away from your CPU.

The only reason you have the ability to increase pump RPM is to push through a larger loop - or more dense and complex radiator. The cooling capacity of your loop depends more on the ambient temps and the rad/fans/blocks.

IF You Can COOL IT!cool.gif - You Can CLOCK IT!wheee.gif
Amat Victoria Curam - Victory Loves Preparation rolleyes.gif
Synister is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-26-2014, 08:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RabidSnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 281
Rep: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post

I think you'd be fine to plug the pump into a 3 pin to molex adaptor, however I have a better solution. Purchase a Y splitter. This will allow you to have all the fans and the pump connected to the Motherboard, whilst allowing full control to the fans.

See here:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

I used a ton of these in my build, putting both the push fans on one fan header, and the pull on another. Mainly for OCD sake :-p but they are cheap and most fan headers have more than enough wattage supplied to them to handle at least 2 fans.
RabidSnail is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 09:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rickcooperjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Unknown Location
Posts: 2,205
Rep: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synister View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post

Well, it does, because the faster water is moving, the more difficult it is to heat the water. But with an AIO, the loop is relatively small so it won't have much of a performance impact. So your half right I guess haha.

Sorry but when you think about what you wrote here: 'because the faster water is moving, the more difficult it is to heat the water' that would decrease cooling performance right? as the water wouldn't have the time to conduct the heat away from your CPU.

The only reason you have the ability to increase pump RPM is to push through a larger loop - or more dense and complex radiator. The cooling capacity of your loop depends more on the ambient temps and the rad/fans/blocks.


well pump speed does affect cooling but you need more radiator to allow the heat to be transfered out me I use a V8 5core copper / brass car radiator and a brand new Cummins diesel Allison transmission cooler ( My brother bought it and decided not to use it new in box I seen it and got a crazy idea ) . The added pump speed moves coolant faster thru the waterblocks but needs way more radiator to compensate for less time for the radiator to dissapate the heat from the coolant. I can prove this and do so quite often I use 2x speed adjustable MCP655 swiftech pumps one in cooling cabinet other in the tower and trust me I turn the pumps up the temps on all in my loop go down but requires alot more radiator as I said 2x R9 290X's overclocked to max and AMD FX 9590 at 5.1ghz-5.3ghz x8 require alot of cooling and trust me I added the transmission cooler to drop coolant temps between GPU's and CPU because coolant temps were pretty high by time coolant made it to CPU.

unlike commonly thought water moving 500lph or moving 100lph will not wick heat away from stuff the same the one moving at higher speed / volume will do better but if being recycled will be alot harder to get that heat out of the coolant and into the air and such. Basically if can keep the return coolant at ambient temp and get away with higher coolant flow the speed will affect the temps on the components being liquid cooled with lower temps but with normal liquid cooling stuff not so much so to see the benefits takes alot of thinking outside of box and fabricating and such.

To put this into perspective look at a car waterpump as the engine RPM's increase the pump volume / speed increases also otherwise a car would overheat when RPM's are increased which in general isn't an issue on cars because they got enough cooling capacity via radiator and airflow flowing across radiator.

I got some older pics of my car radiator cooling setup in my photos be aware all of it has been upgraded alot since then including alot of hardware upgraded.

i dont know why i did it or why i will do it again

devil.gif| 5ghz 24/7 club| devil.gifdevil.gif| AUTHENTIC AMD FX 9370/9590 FAN CLUB | devil.gif
post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
rickcooperjr is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-27-2014, 09:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sinnedone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,513
Rep: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDfanAMD View Post

**i posted this in air cooling by accident**
reposting to water cooling, some one please let me now how to delet the thread in air cooling so its not a double post!


This isnt a "Should i push/pull" question.

i have been using an H80i and it has served me well, i just recently minimized my pc into a bitfenix prodigy with an Asus impact MOBO, the mobo has 4 fan headers on it. i want to control my fans with my MOBO since windows 8.1 doesnt seem to want to work with corsair link even after trying the registry fix.

with the h80i pump plugged into the mobo i only have 3 headers for fans, my push/pull on the radiator and my exhaust, the 4th fan i leave unplugged as an intake bc it is simply to loud at full speed. id like to have full control over my 4 fans from my mobo and plug the pump directly to a molex to 3-pin from the PSU. Also, the "SATA" plug is plugged in, idk if that is for the built in fan power or if that is for the pump so i left both plugged in to be safe.

Anyone do this?

Thanks!

TL:DR - Can you plug the pump from an H80i directly to a molex to 3-pin connector from the power supply instead of a header on the motherboard without the pump imploding.


You don't have to plug in the motherboard plug on the H80i. That only sends an rpm signal to the motherboard to keep it from throwing fan errors.

You can control the fans on the H80i through corsair link. If it doesn't add too much amperage, you can have the stock fan on the h80i and connect another fan on the splitter cable to your case and control that through corsair link as well.

Just remember the software is a little buggy and you have to use "H80i" temp to automate fan speeds.

sinnedone is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-28-2014, 01:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rickcooperjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Unknown Location
Posts: 2,205
Rep: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinnedone View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDfanAMD View Post

**i posted this in air cooling by accident**
reposting to water cooling, some one please let me now how to delet the thread in air cooling so its not a double post!


This isnt a "Should i push/pull" question.

i have been using an H80i and it has served me well, i just recently minimized my pc into a bitfenix prodigy with an Asus impact MOBO, the mobo has 4 fan headers on it. i want to control my fans with my MOBO since windows 8.1 doesnt seem to want to work with corsair link even after trying the registry fix.

with the h80i pump plugged into the mobo i only have 3 headers for fans, my push/pull on the radiator and my exhaust, the 4th fan i leave unplugged as an intake bc it is simply to loud at full speed. id like to have full control over my 4 fans from my mobo and plug the pump directly to a molex to 3-pin from the PSU. Also, the "SATA" plug is plugged in, idk if that is for the built in fan power or if that is for the pump so i left both plugged in to be safe.

Anyone do this?

Thanks!

TL:DR - Can you plug the pump from an H80i directly to a molex to 3-pin connector from the power supply instead of a header on the motherboard without the pump imploding.


You don't have to plug in the motherboard plug on the H80i. That only sends an rpm signal to the motherboard to keep it from throwing fan errors.

You can control the fans on the H80i through corsair link. If it doesn't add too much amperage, you can have the stock fan on the h80i and connect another fan on the splitter cable to your case and control that through corsair link as well.

Just remember the software is a little buggy and you have to use "H80i" temp to automate fan speeds.


He already stated the the corsair link isn't working for him on his setup he already said he has tried the registry tweak and all so telling him to use it is like telling a car with no motor to run.

i dont know why i did it or why i will do it again

devil.gif| 5ghz 24/7 club| devil.gifdevil.gif| AUTHENTIC AMD FX 9370/9590 FAN CLUB | devil.gif
post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
rickcooperjr is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-28-2014, 02:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sinnedone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,513
Rep: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcooperjr View Post

He already stated the the corsair link isn't working for him on his setup he already said he has tried the registry tweak and all so telling him to use it is like telling a car with no motor to run.

uh sorry missed that part.

One work around though which I actually did before moving from windows 7 to 8.1 is if he already has a pc with windows 7 or can install windows 7 on a secondary drive, he can setup fan profiles there first. Then disconnect the usb cable from the motherboard and load windows 8.1 and your fan profiles will still bethere with less wiring. thumb.gif

sinnedone is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off