Hi, newbe here. [Build Log: Water cooling, upping the anti] Sorry, if I sound stupid... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hi, newbe here. [Build Log: Water cooling, upping the anti] Sorry, if I sound stupid...

post #1 of 146 (permalink) Old 11-22-2014, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
I will be doing a prolonged build log where I start with a Corsair H70 all in one water cooler to a full custom loop. I have never done a custom loop before so it will be a new experience for me. I will be adding to the water loop as time progresses. I know next to nothing about how to make a custom loop so I will need some help on what the proper procedure is.

Here's the hardware I'm starting with:

Case:

NEW NZXT H440 STEEL Mid Tower Case. Next Generation 5.25-less Design. Include 4 x 2nd Gen FNv2 Fans, High-End WC support, USB3.0, White. Not much to say here accept I might need some guidance for what radiator or radiators can fit inside the case.

Intel core i7 5820K. Its running at 4.5 GHZ right now, but I will hope to see this increase as my build gets better.

ASUS X99-A. I used ASUS's AI Suite 3 to OC my processor to 4.3 GHz, but figured out the settings to get a better OC with it. The 4.5 GHz OC is from the AIS3 application.

1x ASUS GTX 980 STRIC DC2OC GPU +1.I have since purchased another one of these, but have not yet installed and and don't even know the ASIC score of it. The first one has an ASIC score of 77%. I may just go for a third.

SAMSUNG 840 EVO 120 GB. I originally purchased this SSD from newegg for $69.99. this is the drive I was using for my OS. It served me well. I will be doing away with this though I'm afraid.

1X SAMSUNG 840 Pro 512 +1. I purchased one of these about a month ago, but have since got another one. I will be putting them in RAID 0, and this will replace the EVO for the OS.