How to correctly leak test your loop......101? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to correctly leak test your loop......101?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 03:12 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
BadDad62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,402
Rep: 80 (Unique: 66)
AWESOME work 'B NEGATIVE'

+ Rep +
BadDad62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 06:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nosequeponer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 145
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
qick question about it,

this system shows if you have or don´t have a leak, but to actually find it, how do you do it?? go and look for air losses in the fittings one by one??
nosequeponer is offline  
post #13 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 06:31 AM
VSG
Call me VSG
 
VSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,840
Rep: 795 (Unique: 445)
As pointed out, use liquid soap. There are specific products made for this, like Snoop, which aerate and foam up easily at points of gas leak.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><b>Reviews</b><span>: </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1638379/ocn-labs-acer-xr382cqk-bmijqphuzx-38-freesync-monitor/0_50">Acer XR382CQK Monitor</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1632881/ocn-labs-netgear-nighthawk-s8000-gaming-streaming-switch/0_50">Neatgear Nighthawk S8000 Switch</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1509787/my-review-of-the-ek-supremacy-evo">EK Supremacy Evo</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1510189/my-review-of-the-corsair-graphite-380t/0_50">Corsair Graphite 380T</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1516369/my-review-of-the-swiftech-mcp50x-pump/0_50">Swiftech MCP50X</a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1520512/the-quad-rad-roundup/0_50">Quad Rad Roundup</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1526779/user-review-of-the-swiftech-h220-x/0_50">Swiftech H220-X</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1530984/user-review-of-the-phanteks-ph-tc14pe/0_50">Phanteks PH-TC14PE<br></a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1551158/sponsored-review-of-the-ek-fc-asus-x99-rve-monoblock/0_50">EK Asus x99 R5E Monoblock</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/tesoro-gram-spectrum/reviews/7424">Tesoro Gram Spectrum Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/cherry-mx-6-0-keyboard/reviews/7436">Cherry MX 6.0 Keyboard</a><span> |</span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1604461/user-review-of-the-gigabyte-x99-phoenix-sli-motherboard/0_50">Gigabyte x99-Phoenix SLI motherboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1613371/sponsored-corsair-k70-rgb-rapidfire-keyboard-review/0_50">Corsair K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1531984/user-review-of-the-hwlabs-black-ice-sr2/0_50">Black Ice SR2 360</a><br></div></div></div>
VSG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 08:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 2,703
Rep: 273 (Unique: 197)
same method we use to test the rads out.

spam1.gifspam1.gifspam1.gif
Mayhem is offline  
post #15 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 09:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cavey00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,609
Rep: 63 (Unique: 53)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicr0nhunter View Post

Or you could do this:

$10.36 - Gas Test Gauge (gauge + Schrader valve): http://www.homedepot.com/p/DANCO-0-15-psi-1-10-Increment-Gas-Test-Gauge-94352/100180536
$0.98 - Adapter for above to 1/2" ID tube: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Watts-3-4-in-x-1-2-in-Plastic-Barb-x-MPT-Adapter-A589/202257613
$0.79 per ft - 1/2" ID 3/4" OD tube: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/dupvctu1idx3.html
$1.99 - G1/4in. to 1/2in. ID Hose Barb Fitting: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/xsg1to1bafic.html
$0.41 x 2 : Stainless Steel hose clamps for 5/8" OD tube: http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/hoclbrmi379i.html

$14.94 with a 1' tube from barb fitting to gauge assy.*

* plus shipping of course.

Also, if/when comparing you might want to be careful with McMaster Carr's shipping. I've ordered from them several times myself and shipping was fast but not cheap and I didn't get a choice of shipping options or cost beforehand.

Late edit:
And if you need one:
$5.99 : bicycle pump incl free shipping: http://www.ebay.com/itm/381058545966

Man, they are getting you for over $10 for that gauge at your HomeDepot? Mine was $7 locally, and in stock. Plus I work in an auto dealership and had all the brass fittings laying around to uh, "borrow". Couldn't beat spending less than $10 on the whole setup, using some stuff I had at home as well from a previous WC setup.

Oh btw don't get over excited when you seal up all the leaks and forget to take your air test setup off your rig before filling it with coolant. I don't know if water will ruin an air pressure gauge or not, but I filled mine. It still seems to work but I guess time will tell.
Cavey00 is offline  
post #16 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Hardware Rep
 
B NEGATIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Yes.
Posts: 9,783
Rep: 789 (Unique: 492)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayhem View Post

same method we use to test the rads out.

Its an industry standard method...from HVAC to domestic plumbing.

AquaC test their blocks like this also.


B NEGATIVE is offline  
post #17 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Unicr0nhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MiddleofNowhere
Posts: 4,222
Rep: 522 (Unique: 350)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosequeponer View Post

qick question about it,

this system shows if you have or don´t have a leak, but to actually find it, how do you do it?? go and look for air losses in the fittings one by one??


As pointed out, use liquid soap. There are specific products made for this, like Snoop, which aerate and foam up easily at points of gas leak.

First thing I do is just go through the loop and recheck tightness of all the fittings and look for any uneven o-ring stickout. Sometimes an o-ring will not tighten up evenly around a fitting and cause a leak and when that happens you can often see that bit of the o-ring trying to squish out one side of a fitting. A tiny dab of silicone o-ring grease on every o-ring prior to installation will usually prevent that and help seal & protect o-rings.

If I didn't see anything that way then at around 10 psi you can often hear the faint hiss of all but the slowest of leaks in a quiet room. I've used a piece of tubing holding one end to my ear and the other to each potential source of a leak and found one that way. In my case it was actually a leak between the gauge and the NPT to BSPP adapter I was using, so wasn't even part of my loop where my leak was. lol. I just had to reapply some teflon tape and tighten it down more.

And lastly, as VSG mentions, if none of that found the source of a leakdown then I guess I'd pump it up to 10 psi again and start going around each fitting with a q-tip dipped in a gas leak detection soap. It's not ever come to that yet for me, but I did grab a bottle of this stuff off of Amazon ...

mega bubble leak detector
Unicr0nhunter is offline  
post #18 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 01:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Unicr0nhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MiddleofNowhere
Posts: 4,222
Rep: 522 (Unique: 350)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavey00 View Post

Man, they are getting you for over $10 for that gauge at your HomeDepot? Mine was $7 locally, and in stock. Plus I work in an auto dealership and had all the brass fittings laying around to uh, "borrow". Couldn't beat spending less than $10 on the whole setup, using some stuff I had at home as well from a previous WC setup.

Oh btw don't get over excited when you seal up all the leaks and forget to take your air test setup off your rig before filling it with coolant. I don't know if water will ruin an air pressure gauge or not, but I filled mine. It still seems to work but I guess time will tell.

lol. In addition to my job I have a small farm. I don't live anywhere near a town or city. I'm lucky I have a Home Depot near me on my way to work. It's pretty much the only thing out here besides a tiny grocery store, if you could call it that, and a gas station and just about everything else is almost an hours drive away. Nearest restaurant, even fast food, nearest movies, nearest mall, heck, nearest MalWart, all more than a 45 min drive, and computer components or anything like that I have to have shipped as it's a 2.5 hr drive to even just the closest Best Buy. Where I live two day shipping takes 4 days and your smart phone is useless for anything but a call or a text, and even then your lucky to get one bar signal if you go stand outside. The fact I can get that shipped for free for $10 to the Home Depot I drive right by several times a week is awesome especially compared to what Amazon or McMaster Carr or anywhere else I could find online was wanting for a similar combo shipped to me.

- - - -
edit: and sorry for the double post.
Unicr0nhunter is offline  
post #19 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 02:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hobojodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Makes sense. The reason im a big fan of Mcmastercarr is because their warehouse center is relatively close to my residence and will call is a breeze. I agree that their shipping charges can be finicky at times, but they are fast.

Edit:
I just picked up my parts

hobojodude is offline  
post #20 of 437 (permalink) Old 01-07-2015, 04:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
easynator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 593
Rep: 24 (Unique: 22)
easynator is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off