White silence, aka household radiator - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

White silence, aka household radiator

post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-16-2015, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 32 (Unique: 27)
Some time ago i came across this creature in manufacturers factory outlet:

And i bought myself a shorter one, WxHxD in cm: 20x40x60 (oh my! almost like a long matx case), also white on the outside.
A househould radiator... with a slight departure from the usually seen ones - it's actually made of copper and aluminium, and only copper has contact with water.
Inside it's more-or-less a double row of this (own pics will come later):

I've been using this for a couple of years as an external radiator with my fugly old desktop.
Works like a champ, tested to passively dissipate over 300W - max heat load from a Phenom II X4 955 + GTX680.
Ideally the only moving part inside my pc should be a pump, but due to lack of mosfet waterblocks i still needed 1 system fan.
Fortunately a single GT spinning below 1000rpm means effectively zero noise, even under full load.

Time came to upgrade my my rig, so i started searching for a case that would match the radiator nicely, and found a shot showing the right angle of NZXT S340:

Width and height will match nicely after lifting the radiator 5cm up from the floor, but shorter length of s340 means mounting the rad on top of the case could be a bad idea.
(plan b: they can simply stand beside each other)

So... should i order it, or does any1 have a better idea for a matching case? smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 06-17-2015, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 160 (Unique: 125)
-A MB tray (lian-li or something or a repurposed "old" cheap atx case.
-MakerBeam / OpenBeam frame.
-ALu/steel/plexi/pvc (fake marble) panels

Reality is futile, you will be assimilated by (your) perception.