D5 + 5 Radiators? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

D5 + 5 Radiators?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-02-2017, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
0451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,224
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
Thoughts on whether an EK D5 can handle 5 rads in an Evolv ATX? Only other restrictions will be an EK Supremacy EVO and GPU waterblock.

EK CE280
EK SE360
HWL GTR 280
Alphacool 140x30
Alphacool 140x45

Smallblock Power
(10 items)
CPU
Core i7 10700K
Motherboard
MSI Z490 Unify
GPU
2080ti K|NGP|N
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200 P2
Cooling
5 Radiators
Cooling
2 Pumps
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Monitor
Samsung CF791 34"
▲ hide details ▲
0451 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-02-2017, 05:53 PM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Doesn't look promising...........


https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #3 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-02-2017, 08:56 PM
I don't even like Linux
 
cmpxchg8b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,284
Rep: 96 (Unique: 73)
Should be alright. I'm running one D5 in a loop with CPU waterblock, four GPU waterblocks, and four 480 mm radiators, all in series.

cmpxchg8b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-02-2017, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
0451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,224
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmpxchg8b View Post

Should be alright. I'm running one D5 in a loop with CPU waterblock, four GPU waterblocks, and four 480 mm radiators, all in series.

Sweet

Do you have enough thermal headroom to overclock?

Smallblock Power
(10 items)
CPU
Core i7 10700K
Motherboard
MSI Z490 Unify
GPU
2080ti K|NGP|N
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200 P2
Cooling
5 Radiators
Cooling
2 Pumps
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Monitor
Samsung CF791 34"
▲ hide details ▲
0451 is offline  
post #5 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 06:59 AM
I don't even like Linux
 
cmpxchg8b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,284
Rep: 96 (Unique: 73)
@0451 I get around 15-20 C delta T. This is high but this is compute rig so the typical scenario is 100% load. CPU overclocking (4790K) is thermally limited because it is running intense AVX/FMA code. I don't overclock GPUs because their power delivery is already stressed by this mode, and I want them to last. Those are Titan Blacks and they get harder to replace.

cmpxchg8b is offline  
post #6 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 07:36 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmpxchg8b View Post

@0451 I get around 15-20 C delta T.
Like I said, you're going to have a Delta T of 20°c plus.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #7 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 09:36 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Revan654's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,939
Rep: 71 (Unique: 53)
My single D5 pump can handle four 560 rads. However their the lease restriction Radiators made in the 60mm range.

I also have MonoBlock & GPU Block.

I did add a second D5 recently just to be on the safe side.

Current Build: Project Frost
Gaming Rig Build: Project Ice Dragon
Revan654 is offline  
post #8 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
0451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,224
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
So if I add a 2nd pump, can I add the 2nd pump next to it:

Pump 1 out -> 1" tube -> pump 2 in


Or should the pumps be on opposite sides of the loop?

Smallblock Power
(10 items)
CPU
Core i7 10700K
Motherboard
MSI Z490 Unify
GPU
2080ti K|NGP|N
RAM
Patriot Viper Steel 4400
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 1200 P2
Cooling
5 Radiators
Cooling
2 Pumps
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Monitor
Samsung CF791 34"
▲ hide details ▲
0451 is offline  
post #9 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 01:03 PM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Since the flow rate anywhere in a loop is exactly the same it doesn't matter where you put a second pump.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #10 of 63 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 01:36 PM
Covfefe
 
Wihglah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sector 001
Posts: 2,096
Rep: 84 (Unique: 75)
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbartuska View Post

Since the flow rate anywhere in a loop is exactly the same it doesn't matter where you put a second pump.

If you add 2 pumps in series you will (almost) double the pressure in the tube immediately after the 2nd pump. The restrictions will step down this pressure by a fraction of the pressure before the restriction at each step.

If you space out the pumps the pressure will have a lower maximum and hence smaller pressure drops through each component so a higher minimum. The minimum pressure will determine the flow rate of the system.

Putting the pumps in Parallel will (almost) double the flow rate whilst maintaining the original pressure.


Normally the pressure drop through a water-cooling loop makes this point moot since it's pretty low, but with an immensely complex loop with very low flow, it could be important.


One way around the issue is to mount identical components in parallel.

Ro'Ghaf II
(13 items)
Oldness
(14 items)
CPU
Intel 9900k
Motherboard
Some crappy 4 phase rubbish from Asus that was way overpriced.
GPU
EVGA 980ti ACX2 SC+
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 4266 16Gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair AX860i
Cooling
EK Supremacy Evo
Case
Cooler Master Haf Stacker 935
Case
Haf Stacker 915R
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift
Keyboard
DuckyShine 6 YOTR
Mouse
Logitech G502
CPU
IvyBridge 3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
560Ti Direct CU II
RAM
Geil DDR3
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K
Optical Drive
liteOn Bluray Burner
Power Supply
OCZ 1000W
Cooling
EK Supreme HF Copper / Plexi & Vapochill Chiller
Case
Lian Li
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
LG 21"
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech
▲ hide details ▲
Wihglah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off