New to water cooling..questions and rate my material list - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New to water cooling..questions and rate my material list

post #1 of 71 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
New to water cooling..questions and rate my material list

I've been considering a new build for some time but don't really need more than the 4790k I built several years ago. Happened to visit a Microcenter while travelling for work a few weeks back and walked out with a shiny new 9900k and a Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master. I don't normally impulse buy like that but it was my birthday and the wife said "do it". After researching cooling it became clear that water cooling was the way to go for the 9900k so here I am. Being a complete novice at water cooling I've been reading and watching videos for like 2 weeks now and think I have a material list but wanted further opinions from more experienced people. I'm only looking to cool the CPU.

What I have to start:
  • i9-9900k
  • Z390 Aorus Master
  • EVGA RTX-2070
  • Intel 660p 2TB M.2 SSD
  • Define R5

PC components to finish the build:
  • Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750
  • Gskill TridentZ 8x4GB 16-18-18-38 (on Gigabyte and Gskill HCL)

Water cooling parts:
  • 01 x Hardware Labs Black Ice SR2 280mm
  • 01 x EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM
  • 01 x Heatkiller IV Pro Acetal Clean
  • 10 x Barrow 3/8 x 5/8 compression fittings
  • 06 x Barrow 90 deg rotary fitting
  • 10 x Mayhems 3/8 x 5/8 clear tubing
  • 01 x Barrow Ball Valve (for drain)
  • 01 x EK Pump Bracket
  • 02 x Noctua NF-A14 chromax

I'd like to stay around $500 total for the loop components minus shipping and fans. Goal is highest stable OC for 24x7 use as quiet as possible.