Temp Probe Placement Questions/Suggestions? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Temp Probe Placement Questions/Suggestions?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Capt Do-Over!
 
Tolkmod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 78
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Temp Probe Placement Questions/Suggestions?

Question, discussion and hopefully some answers

I'm currently planning on placing my temp probes on the extra in/out ports on my radiators. Giving me a good indication of the cooling done by them.

I've been seeing that people recommend putting more than one temperature prob on their loops. Anyone care to explain this one to me?

My radiators (2 total) https://www.thermaltake.com/pacific-cl480-radiator.html
Tolkmod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 822
Rep: 22 (Unique: 14)
I have 11 in loop and they are a waste. 4 Calitemp sensors and 7 AQ temp sensors on each part in my loop. They differ between then at most 1 degree if even that.

With 2 temp sensors and a flow sensor the Aquero can give you power consumption measurements, that's the only reason I can see to have that many.

● Power measurement: Allow calculating power dissipation from a temperature difference and corresponding flow rate
Power measurement
Up to four independent power measurements can be configured to calculate
dissipated or absorbed power in up to for cooling loops. Prerequisites are
two water temperature sensors and a flow sensor in the same cooling loop.
The water temperature sensors are optimally installed into radiator inlet and
outlet port.
The aquaero calculates the current power dissipation using the temperature
difference between two temperature sensors and the current flow rate. Water
ha a thermal capacity of 4187 Ws/(kg * K), meaning an energy of 4187 Ws
is required to increase the temperate of 1 kg of water by 1 Kelvin.
Power = thermal capacity * volume flow * temperature difference
Due to inaccuracies of temperature and flow sensors and temperature inertia
of the cooling system, power measurement is a bit problematic in general.
Especially during system start up, the actual power dissipation will differ significantly from values calculated by the aquaero. Furthermore, any coolant
additive alters the thermal capacity, this is factored in in the aquaero. The
power measurement functionality should therefore just be seen as an interesting additional information.

My Baby
(24 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Capt Do-Over!
 
Tolkmod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 78
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shawnb99 View Post
I have 11 in loop and they are a waste. 4 Calitemp sensors and 7 AQ temp sensors on each part in my loop. They differ between then at most 1 degree if even that.

With 2 temp sensors and a flow sensor the Aquero can give you power consumption measurements, that's the only reason I can see to have that many.
So, if I'm not one of those guys who pushes the limits with his overclocks the temp sensors on the in and outlets of the radiators should be fine then, as well as the temperature monitoring of the GPU/CPU's that are built into their individual platforms should be sufficient?

I also have my flow sensors on the exit flows of both my loops. Wasn't sure how big of a deal it was to put them on a particular flow side.
Tolkmod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 09:32 AM
Shooting down fallacies
 
ciarlatano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC Metro
Posts: 7,000
Rep: 403 (Unique: 271)
Quote: Originally Posted by Tolkmod View Post
So, if I'm not one of those guys who pushes the limits with his overclocks the temp sensors on the in and outlets of the radiators should be fine then, as well as the temperature monitoring of the GPU/CPU's that are built into their individual platforms should be sufficient?

I also have my flow sensors on the exit flows of both my loops. Wasn't sure how big of a deal it was to put them on a particular flow side.
Even two is redundant in my book. As @Shawnb99 said, you will see maybe a degree of difference between the sensors. People vastly overestimate the difference in liquid temps at different points of the loop.

Yeah....the little girl hentai avatar is really creeping me out....
ciarlatano is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 09:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,249
Rep: 80 (Unique: 63)
I've personally only ever used one temp probe in my loop. Just to keep track of water temp rises under load.

Generally, like it has already been stated, the temp difference from any point in the loop will be 1-2 degrees different at best.

EK Club XCrossXFire ClubX
-OCN Water Cooling Club-
Destrto
(13 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370
Motherboard
MSI 990FXA-Gaming
GPU
AMD PowerColor RX 580
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16Gb
RAM
G.Skill - Ripjaws X Series 16 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 500Gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 Tb
Power Supply
Raidmax Vampire 800 Watt
Cooling
EK-Suprema​cy MX CPU ​Block
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
XSPC 240mm​ Radiator
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 DDC 3.2 PWM Elite
Case
HBT Gravity6
▲ hide details ▲
Destrto is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
Capt Do-Over!
 
Tolkmod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 78
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Sounds good, thanks for all the input guys.

I'm just going to stick to the in-out probes on my radiators and leave it at that.
Tolkmod is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 09:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Moose-Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 79
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Tolkmod View Post
Sounds good, thanks for all the input guys.

I'm just going to stick to the in-out probes on my radiators and leave it at that.
Those are the only two sensors I have IN my loop.

You should also monitor room ambient. Put one temp sensor in FRONT of the case intake. You can never cool lower than room ambient. (Do not place directly near the rad or it WILL pick up radiant heat.)
The difference between your rad outlet and your intake is the loop Delta (difference). This is a very effective metric to use when setting up fan curves.

I monitor room ambient away from my case on an extender. I also monitor the intake temps on both rads, interior case temp and finally exhaust temp. But I am an old HVAC guy so I can use that info for tweaking. I also have an Aquaero 6 LT

Build: msi C8r (Carbon8r)
Core i7-9700K OC 5 GHz, MSI Z390 GAMING PRO CARBON Mobo, AMD Radeon VII GPU OC 2K MHz, Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE ATX Case.
XSPC RayStorm Pro CPU w/b, Bykski Radeon VII GPU w/b, EKWB 140 Revo D5 Pump & Res.
Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 LT USB Fan-Controller, Vision Touch and 'High Flow' Sensor.
(2x) Hardware Labs Black ice Nemesis 280GTS XFLOW radiators and (1x) Alphacool NexXxoS XT45X-Flow 140 in full push/pull.
Moose-Tech is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 09:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,408
Rep: 544 (Unique: 309)
there's really no point to having more than one sensor inside the loop. Water doesn't really go through any sort of noticeable warming/cooling while in circulation. it's pretty much always the same temp. I'd be willing to bet anyone with two would report less than .5c variance between the two.

I have one inline, one ambient, and one exhaust for aquaero funsies of course.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Capt Do-Over!
 
Tolkmod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California
Posts: 78
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
sounds reasonable.

I do like the idea of keeping an eye on the ambient room temp though, so I'll probably incorporate that into my build. Would help with the 'keep calm' factor when I notice temps rising on my loops due to the fact that my room gets hot as Gehenna in the summer (thank you Orange County for not providing A/C in your apartment buildings!).
Tolkmod is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,408
Rep: 544 (Unique: 309)
They're just "being green" bro!

funny how being cheap, and being green are one in the same now. Like not handing out napkins "cuz green" no, you're just being cheap af.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off