High cpu temps in my loop? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

High cpu temps in my loop?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
leonman44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 576
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
High cpu temps in my loop?

Hello guys , finally i upgraded to 2x360mm rads and i also delidded my i5 8600k , i was expecting temps closer to 60-65c under full load but i get spikes up to 72-73c on some cores under load (cinebench , realbench even csgo!).

The cpu was delidded twice just to make sure i did everything right the 1st time and i apllied some liquid metal within the cpu but also between my nickel cpu block and ihs for best performance.

My card full oced , a 2080 seahawk ek gets absolutely max 55-57c which is more than great for the stock paste which is usually pure junk.

Room's ambient temp is a bit high 30c.

Are cpu's temps what i should expect or its something really wrong here?

*Cpu is at 1.27v 4.8ghz which is not really that high , i was hoping to push 5ghz 1.4v and get 70-75s but as far as i can see that aint happening.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190910_010100.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	294548  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (6).png
Views:	18
Size:	2.79 MB
ID:	294552  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190910_010047.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	1.18 MB
ID:	294554  


leonman44 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 10:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrGrievous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 370
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
It kinda looks like you just lost the CPU lottery here, since you have delided the cpu twice now I dont believe it is a mounting issue. What 360mm rads did you get? Also what fans are you using and how fast are they spinning?

MrGrievous is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bratislav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 20
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hello,

- turn the fans on the front and top radiators to be intake

- turn the rear fan to be exhaust

- keep the CPU block in the normal position

- the hose from the pump to the GPU should enter on the left side of the block

Good luck!
Bratislav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
leonman44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 576
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by MrGrievous View Post
It kinda looks like you just lost the CPU lottery here, since you have delided the cpu twice now I dont believe it is a mounting issue. What 360mm rads did you get? Also what fans are you using and how fast are they spinning?
Is there a cpu lottery on temps? I thought it was only for the overclock.

I have the intake 2 fans on the motherboard rear one running 60% until 75c which ramps up 100%
Bottom fan switching off (it makes a lot noice for some reason on this specific case) until 55c , then 60% until 75c that again ramps up 100%

All radiators fans are as exhaust connected to the case fan controller , i am running it at 1/3 of their speed to keep it quiet but even at full speed the performance gain is small compared to the noise gain.

I also removed the filters from inside the front and top panels , also completely removed the bottom panels so i can improve the raw airflow.

* The top rad is from the phobya's 60mm one but i think its rebranded Alphacool UT60 with the kits 3 included fans and the front one is the PE360 from ek with vardar fans.

Quote: Originally Posted by Bratislav View Post
Hello,

- turn the fans on the front and top radiators to be intake

- turn the rear fan to be exhaust

- keep the CPU block in the normal position

- the hose from the pump to the GPU should enter on the left side of the block

Good luck!
That was my first plan but the case's front mount is not that great , it has some weird bumps that creates a space between the fan and the radiator , so i couldnt mount it with ek's included screws. What i did is that i removed the air filters in the front and upper panel to increase noticeably the fans performance.

Rear and bottom fans are also unfiltered as intakes.

Is this fan layout loosing that much performance?

The cpu block is indeed in the normal position

As for the card that wasnt in the instructions and temps are more than great , sorry to argue here but why this could be an issue?


Last edited by leonman44; 09-10-2019 at 03:13 PM.
leonman44 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 03:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,406
Rep: 544 (Unique: 309)
pretty sure most modern GPU blocks do not have a "correct" flow pattern, at least i know EK is this way.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 03:23 PM
Newb to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,867
Rep: 167 (Unique: 124)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
pretty sure most modern GPU blocks do not have a "correct" flow pattern, at least i know EK is this way.
Pretty sure this particular one does though:



If it has a jet plate, you can guarantee the flow is optimized for a specific inlet port.

CPU: Q6600 X5470 2100T 1680V2 9900K
GPU: 8800GT 9800GTX+ 750Ti 1080Ti
RAM: 2x8GBTZ
Gentoo64 in Water
(14 items)
LGA775 X5470
(6 items)
CPU
9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard
EVGA Z370 Micro
GPU
MSI 1080TI GXEK 2100.5/12627
RAM
16GB Trident Z 4000C16
Hard Drive
970 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X850 Gold
Cooling
480mm Radiator Custom
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Operating System
Gentoo Linux 64 Multi-Lib
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271UH 165Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
CPU
X5470 4GHz (stock v)
Motherboard
GA-EP45-UD3P
GPU
EVGA 9800 GTX+ 512MB
RAM
8GB 4x2GB GSkill 1066MHz DDR2
Cooling
XSPC Rasa, D5 + Res, 240mm Rad
Case
Lian-Li PC7-HX
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by mouacyk; 09-10-2019 at 03:26 PM.
mouacyk is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,406
Rep: 544 (Unique: 309)
oh shart! look at that. A tiny little jet plate. It's so cute! Maybe I'm just way behind these days.
you're definitely correct here, sir.

looks like I'm just behind on the times. I hadn't seen this new block style from EK yet, cuz I haven't looked at 20xx series at all.

My 1080ti blocks still use the classic style that ran from like fermi+

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.

Last edited by skupples; 09-10-2019 at 03:40 PM.
skupples is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
leonman44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 576
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by mouacyk View Post
Pretty sure this particular one does though:

If it has a jet plate, you can guarantee the flow is optimized for a specific inlet port.
That is getting fixed tommorow! Just after my blitz 2 drain.

Also turned off my pc and found out that HUGE bubble coming out from my front rad when the pump stops working , thats weird because i tilted noumerious times the case in all different ways except upside-down and it doesnt really go away.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190911_012931.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	4.77 MB
ID:	294624  


leonman44 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhillyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kincheloe, MI
Posts: 485
Rep: 26 (Unique: 25)
I ran with an air pocket in the rad for years. its not a big deal as its just sitting in the tank area of the rad. Even makes a nice waterfall sound. Over time, the air will blend into the water and go away.

On the last rebuild, I ended up laying my case on its side, cycled the pump a few times and that got rid of my huge air pocket in the radiator. Just make sure the pump doesnt run dry, obviously. I was just trying to clear air out of the monoblock, ended up getting a huge bubble out of the radiator. then had to clear the monoblock all over again... This is why I go with plexi covers.
PhillyB is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,406
Rep: 544 (Unique: 309)
yep, i've done some silly stuff to properly cycle the air outta my STH10.
also note, you aren't going to get it all out on the first day, or even week. Just get it good enough, then give it a shake every once in awhile and make sure water is above the drip tip in the res.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off