In Line Filter - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

In Line Filter

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
In Line Filter

Just purchased a Swiftech Apogee SKF block. With 125 micron thick microfins, I'm concerned with blockage overtime. Anyone run an in-line filter and have a recommendation? Or should I just accept that I'll have to clean the block every few months?

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 02:31 PM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,128
Rep: 304 (Unique: 223)
Sure, Aqua computer, Koolance and alphacool have inline filters. Never ran them, so can't recommend any.
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by Gilles3000 View Post
Sure, Aqua computer, Koolance and alphacool have inline filters. Never ran them, so can't recommend any.
Two concerns I have:
-Filter element size (coarse / fine). I don't want something with a coarse mesh that won't filter to the size I need filtered. Would be a waste of effort. Unfortunately, I'm having a hard time finding the specs on the filters I've found.

-Flow rate. I don't want flow rate to be hit too hard. The SFK is probably one of the top 5 most restrictive blocks on the market and its cooling should scale very well with high flow rates (high head pressure). Two MCP355's should have plenty of head but I'm not sure the impact the filter would have (especially if the filter element is very fine).

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 84
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by StAndrew View Post
I'm concerned with blockage overtime.

Filters will block up over time too and they are consumable, meaning you will need to replace the core material (if you're able to disassemble the filter) or replace the entire filter ever so often. While I've never used a filter on a liquid-cooled PC I have used them in various other applications and IMHO over time the pleating material becomes restrictive to flow and that is something you might want to keep in mind and monitor I've seen filter pleating that looked as clean as the day it went in service become restrictive to flow and cause undue pressure increase on the pump side of the filter, for a pump motor that isn't designed to maintain backpressure this can shorten life expectancy if the pump has to work against that kind of restriction

Open Air Build
(13 items)
CPU
i9
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z390-H Gaming
GPU
MSI GEFORCE GTX1080 TI GAMING X 11G
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA
Cooling
All PrimoChill parts (Rad 360, Pumps D5, Fittings, and Acrylic Tubing), Byskey CPU&GPU Blocks
Case
Praxis Wet Bench
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus Predrator
Other
Thermaltake Commander F6 Fan Controller
Other
DIY Sleeved Cables
▲ hide details ▲
smilinjohn is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-15-2019, 03:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,449
Rep: 143 (Unique: 101)
Filter will catch color pigments of opaque colored coolants. If its a basic dye colored coolant like Mayhems X1 UV or just plain coolant and no dye, then the filter will catch only debris IF any are in the system. Put the filter somewhere where you can remove it for cleaning without have to drain most of the loop. I used used Alphacool filters, but haven't put them back in lately since doing a complete soak and flush of my sustems and run X1 UV green coolant now only. It will also catch soft tubing debris/plasticizer that would come from older PrimoChill tubing. So far, not seeing that with Mayhems clear tubing.

CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
GPU
EVGA RTX2080 Gaming XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 950
Power Supply
Corsair AX-1200
Case
CaseLabs M8
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GPU
Nvidia GTX1080Ti
RAM
G.Skill SNIPER 12GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX SSD
Optical Drive
LG WH10LS30 BD burner
Optical Drive
TSH663B DVD burner
Power Supply
Seasonic SSR-750PD Flagship Prime Series 750W Platinum
Cooling
EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
XSPC RX360 radiator
Cooling
EK WB D-BAYD5 PWM reservoir
Case
CoolerMaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Acer GD235HZbid
Keyboard
Ducky Mechanical
CPU
8600K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
GPU
Nvidia GTX 1070 FE
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series PC4 24000
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850
Power Supply
Rosewill Quark Series 750W Full Modular Gaming Power Supply with LED Indicator
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z270/Z370 GAMING Monoblock - Nickel
Case
Lian Li O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
ezveedub is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 05:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SoMBrA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 144
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I had filter once and never again. At some point I was getting super high temperatures and random crashes while gaming... My flow was almost 0 because all the gunk that was trapped inside the filter.
As others said, you will have to change the filter or clean it quite often!

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

SoMBrA is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Yeah that is a concern. I was looking at quick disconnects but way to $$$. A ball check valve at each end is a little better but will need a ton of paper towels. I may do the ball check valve initially and run the loop for about a week then take it out but that,s a lot of investment for a temporary setup... Right now for two valves, filter, and fittings, I'm looking at $102.

No dyes, just water.
StAndrew is online now  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 921
Rep: 26 (Unique: 18)
Flush your radiators with Mayhems blitz part 1 and run part 2 in your whole system and you shouldn’t have to worry about blockage

The only time I’ve ever had blockage was when I didn’t properly maintain my loop

My Baby
(24 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 07:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,686
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
from what I've read, folks around here like to run them for the first few days, then pull them out.

Quote: Originally Posted by Shawnb99 View Post
Flush your radiators with Mayhems blitz part 1 and run part 2 in your whole system and you shouldn’t have to worry about blockage

The only time I’ve ever had blockage was when I didn’t properly maintain my loop
also this.

coolant is multifaceted. at the least, you need corrosion protection, bio protection, and a proper coolant will also be "wetter" (i forget the word atm, too early, head hurts, no coffee yet)

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Its a well maintained loop and been running for a long time. Only run water, but still get crap in the block. Not a lot (Apogee XL2) but the new SKF has a much finer fin structure. I may go with the ball check valves and filter and run it for a few weeks, until it comes back clean...
StAndrew is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off