How Often To Drain & Refill Loop!? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How Often To Drain & Refill Loop!?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 745
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
How Often To Drain & Refill Loop!?

So I finally manned up and built my first custom loop! It's been running for just over two months now. Simple distilled water + EK Cryofuel (anti-corrosive, anti-sendiment and biocide mix)

My question is simple:
How often do I need to drain the loop and fill it w/ fresh coolant?

Silence Redefined!
(11 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming X
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB T-Force DARK Pro
Hard Drive
Plextor 1TB nVME
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celcius S36
Case
Fractal Design Define R6
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
ASUS ROG Strix Flare
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 600
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 11:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 278
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
For me it has always been a bit of trial and error. I would drain and fill 4-6 months and if the water came out clear, I ran it for longer before the next drain and fill. I generally won't run for more than a year and haven't had issues. If the water is not clear when you drain it, tear down the loop and clean/flush all components. If this happens, make sure you are using proper additives and consider drain and fill sooner than the last drain and fill.

All in all, my rule of thumb is every 4-6 months to be on the safe side but every year would be acceptable with the following considerations:

-If you water temps run high, heat will reduce the life of your additives
-If you have clear tubes and exposure to sunlight, algae grow can be more of a problem
-If you run something other than water (some fancy nano liquid) or a dye additive, your results will vary

The best way to monitor your loop health is monitor your components temps over ambient and water temps over ambient. If your CPU/GPU temps increase over time but water temps stay about the same over ambient, you need to check your contact/thermal paste. If that doesn't fix the issue, your waterblock is more than likely clogged. If your water temps increase over ambient, its time to blow out the radiators/dust filters. A flow rate indicator can also help monitor your pump health and clogs in the waterblocks.

Good luck.

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 11:49 AM
LTSC Consiglieri
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 22,404
Rep: 653 (Unique: 349)
i'd get Mayhem's Blitz part 2, run the entire thing, then fill with distilled + Mayhem's X1.

EK Cryofuel will clog the crap outta your system eventually.

as to how often, once on proper mayhems' solutions? every couple years.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 12:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ironsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 815
Rep: 55 (Unique: 51)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
i'd get Mayhem's Blitz part 2, run the entire thing, then fill with distilled + Mayhem's X1.

EK Cryofuel will clog the crap outta your system eventually.

as to how often, once on proper mayhems' solutions? every couple years.

This is what i do. Except i just use distilled water to flush the loop after Blitz pt 2 until i finished a one and a half to two (4) liter jugs.

Then fill up with my Pastel solutions.

Rinse and repeat every 2 years or so.

Gaming Rig: (2) Swiffy MCP35x, UT60 + GTX 480 rad, (1) 360 HWL GTX, (1) 240 HWL GTS, HK IV 2920X @ 4.2 GHz, AsRock X399 Fatality, (2) NVidia 1080 w/ HK IV blocks, Gammix S11 Pro 1TB, Crucial MX500 1TB, 2TB Samsung F4, (4) 3 TB & (2) 5 TB Toshiba HD, CL STH10, EVGA 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro
HTPC Rig: HK IV Stock 3700x, Asus Strix B450, D5 vario w/ EK top, 480 UT60, 240 HWL GTX, Asus 290 w/ XSPC WB 1000/1300, Crucial P1 500 GB, 12TB Ironwolf, 6TB & 8TB HGST, Enthoo Primo, EVGA G2 750, Win 10 Pro
Ironsmack is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 12:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 1,445
Rep: 48 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ironsmack View Post
This is what i do. Except i just use distilled water to flush the loop after Blitz pt 2 until i finished a one and a half to two (4) liter jugs.

Then fill up with my Pastel solutions.

Rinse and repeat every 2 years or so.
I used 5 (4) liter jugs last run just to be safe. It helps they are only $1.99

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 01:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York City
Posts: 742
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
I do it once a year-ish. Normally when swapping in new hardware. (which normally means new blocks too.)

I use Koolance liquid coolant (i get the bulk size).

normally about ever 2 years i do a deep clean and throw away all the tubes and vinegar clean all the rads.
Zurv is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 02:15 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,671
Rep: 1561 (Unique: 1019)
Typically once a year. Your mileage may vary based on several factors.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
Nvidia MSI Trio-X RTX 2080 Super
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO PLUS NVM.e 500GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Tt Core-X71 + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 745
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by StAndrew View Post

-If you water temps run high, heat will reduce the life of your additives
-If you have clear tubes and exposure to sunlight, algae grow can be more of a problem
-If you run something other than water (some fancy nano liquid) or a dye additive, your results will vary
-I generally always monitor my temps when gaming
-Clear tubes but it's a completely closed "silent design" case (no windows on the side panels)
-Just distilled water + "Coolant concentrate: EK-CryoFuel Clear Concentrate (100mL; for 1L of coolant)"

Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post

EK Cryofuel will clog the crap outta your system eventually.
OK I should clarify: it's the "Coolant concentrate: EK-CryoFuel Clear Concentrate (100mL; for 1L of coolant)"
so it doesn't have anything in it. It just looks like slightly-more-opaque water - doesn't seem to have any particulate or anything in it. In fact it had to be mixed with 1000ml of water (which was too much for my loop) and the rest of the mix has been sitting in my storage closet for 2 months now. There's no sediment or anything settled in the bottle.

Silence Redefined!
(11 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming X
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB T-Force DARK Pro
Hard Drive
Plextor 1TB nVME
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celcius S36
Case
Fractal Design Define R6
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
ASUS ROG Strix Flare
Mouse
Steelseries Rival 600
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by LesPaulLover; 02-04-2020 at 08:53 PM.
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 09:22 PM
Adclock.net
 
Rayleyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,743
Rep: 144 (Unique: 129)
My loop has about 3-4 litres of water in it, I change the liquids out whenever i change hardware, I generally don't watch it at any other time and i've not run into any problems in the years ive been doing it.

Click For Awesome (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Mule go_quote.gif

Me and my roommates watched a standalone video of a guy demonstrating it on YouTube. I lost it when he started stroking it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen00 go_quote.gif

I like robo-butts and I can not lie, microchips with a great wave line...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tunechi go_quote.gif

I honestly don't think there's any way to explain it without it sounding weird or one's imagination taking a ride.
Quote:
Originally Posted by candy_van go_quote.gif

I can't even remember the last time I grounded myself before handling stuff.
Unless it's the middle of the winter and I'm moonwalking across my carpet in socks before tearing a PC apart I'm not worried about it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liranan go_quote.gif

A laptop is still a PC, albeit a portable one. You can tell how many laptops there are by looking at the 1366*768. Most people don't play...biggrin.gif


Rayleyne is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 09:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zfast4y0u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 369
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
first time i used mayhem blood red, cpu block clodged horribly within a year, it even started making sounds xD after full disassembly and cleaning, i went again with blood red, but this time they changed the formula, running it over a year now and its perfect, no clodge what so ever how much i can tell by observing the fins of my blocks. gonna tear it down eventually in next week or two, wanna do maintence again and switch to just distilled water with anti corosive thing. its best way to go imo, no need to take blocks apart then, just change lube, quick n dirty xD its no fun taking everything apart, last time took me 4 days to put all back in and make it work again.

Last edited by Zfast4y0u; 02-04-2020 at 09:38 PM.
Zfast4y0u is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off