how to use biocide plus and inhibitor - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

how to use biocide plus and inhibitor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 03:59 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 948
Rep: 66 (Unique: 45)
Quote: Originally Posted by bkrownd View Post
My system is closed, so opening up the reservoir fill port is a bit of a pain, and removing fluid even moreso. Though fortunately I have my radiator externally mounted or I wouldn't have any access to the fill port without draining. I used X1 concentrate, but with no way to estimate the volume of the loop I just poured some concentrate in, and topped off with distilled water.
Well you can use that same fill port on your externally mounted radiator to dip a pH Test strip in for a few seconds to test to see if you are nice and balanced. I don't know if you have concern to think you might not be, but it definitely won't hurt. I too have a system with an externally mounted radiator, and I also had used the fill port to run my first pH Test on my loop, it worked great. In my case it was right after flushing out Pastel White Cryofuel that had fell out in my loop, worst decision I had ever made was to put colored liquid in my loop. I spent hours flushing it, and had hoped that I could run it with just distilled water for a few days before switching to Mayhem's Biocide/Inhibitor Plus, and discovered the pH was really low, finally made the decision to just clean it with Mayhem's Blitz Kit Part 2, which did a hell of a job, I ran it in my loop for 48 hours, and it cleaned out all kinds of white junk that the flush did not. Every test I have ran since that, has been right in the sweet spot for pH Balance, so for me this mix of Distilled and Mayhems Biocide/Inhibitor Plus, has been great. In late 2017 we expanded to doing Custom Loops for some of our clients who needed the extra cooling in the Pro Workstation Segment of our Business, and I have only used that same combination in those loops, and so far, 2 Years in and just under 50 Loops deep, we have not had one Coolant Related issue. If this ever changes I will definitely be on here asking advice from some of our more seasoned members, but so far this was the most recommended solution to me from this forum that I put a crap ton of further research into, and it has not failed me yet. So that's something...

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
Offical Ryzen 9 3950x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(34 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Cooling
280mm Alphacool UT60
Cooling
280mm EKWB Coolstream CE
Cooling
Optimus Foundation AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
x2 Corsair Pump/Res Combo
Cooling
EKWB Acrylic 1080ti FTW Block
Cooling
Aquaero 6xt
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 6 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 04:03 PM
LTSC Consiglieri
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 22,485
Rep: 658 (Unique: 351)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
X1 doesn't evaporate near as much as distilled...
that's definitely one of the benefits of using a "coolant" over an "additive" i'm cheap, so I haven't picked up a bottle of X1 since i got my 1st set of droppers a year or two ago.

reminds me, I need to pull the beast out n top off. i tried shutting off last night, but heard the system start glugging, so i flipped it back on.

a Migraine supported by 40 GTAP15s Vs. my brain = migraine won.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #23 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 04:15 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 948
Rep: 66 (Unique: 45)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
that's definitely one of the benefits of using a "coolant" over an "additive" i'm cheap, so I haven't picked up a bottle of X1 since i got my 1st set of droppers a year or two ago.

reminds me, I need to pull the beast out n top off. i tried shutting off last night, but heard the system start glugging, so i flipped it back on.

a Migraine supported by 40 GTAP15s Vs. my brain = migraine won.
That Sucks man. Migraines are the frickin worst! Glad you caught the glugging when you did.

I have a few of those leak tester pumps, so I test all my Systems for leaks before I ever fill them, it comes in handy when working on so many systems and needing to be sure the loops are solid before putting in the liquid. That is the ONE problem I have noticed here in our dry Vegas Climate especially. The rate at which the Coolant Evaporates. I was convinced on my own system that I had somehow missed a leak somewhere because of how fast my coolant level in my Res was dropping. So much so that I painstakingly checked every single fitting for evidence of a leak, and when I couldn't find one, I completely drained the system, which on this crazy beast is no small feat, and then tested with 3 different Leak Testers, the last one I left on Pressurized in my system for just under 24 hours, and no pressure loss at all, so I know I don't have a leak. So I have come to expect to top off my Res Once a Month, not by a lot mind you, but still around 10 mL or so (Just Guestimating).

I guess this is the one downside to mixing with distilled on your own huh?

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
Offical Ryzen 9 3950x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(34 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Cooling
280mm Alphacool UT60
Cooling
280mm EKWB Coolstream CE
Cooling
Optimus Foundation AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
x2 Corsair Pump/Res Combo
Cooling
EKWB Acrylic 1080ti FTW Block
Cooling
Aquaero 6xt
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 6 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hahler2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
I just received my biocide plus and inhibitor plus. Just getting ready to start building my cpu loop. Do I need to premix the drops and the distilled water, or can I fill with distilled water, check for leaks, and then add the biocide and inhibitor directly to the reservoir? I'm thinking for a single 360 rad, pump/res and cpu block that 3 to 4 drops of each should be enough.
hahler2 is offline  
post #25 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: In Van Down by the River
Posts: 1,447
Rep: 48 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by hahler2 View Post
I just received my biocide plus and inhibitor plus. Just getting ready to start building my cpu loop. Do I need to premix the drops and the distilled water, or can I fill with distilled water, check for leaks, and then add the biocide and inhibitor directly to the reservoir? I'm thinking for a single 360 rad, pump/res and cpu block that 3 to 4 drops of each should be enough.
Add it to the loop once at the end. Once everything is running fine then start checking PH and adding as much as needed

My Baby
(23 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Optimus Signature V2
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink w/ 2x NB-BlackSilent Pro's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 560GTX w/ 8x Arctic P14 PST PWM's
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 480GTX w/ 16x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS w/ 6 Arctic P12 PST PWM's
Case
Case Labs Magnum TH10A with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG278Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Light Harmonic Oscar XXI
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #26 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 12:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hahler2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
I don't have any PH strips. I'll have to order some. But the rest sounds good. Thanks.
hahler2 is offline  
post #27 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HITTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,431
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
🙂
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200213-181655_Chrome Beta_1581639429567.png
Views:	3
Size:	840.0 KB
ID:	326588  


Win10 x64 Pro, Acer XB240H, Corsair Obsidian 750D Black,DEMCifilter Corsair Obsidian 750D Dust Filter Kit,Delidded i7-3770K OC'[email protected], F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM, MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GD5, ASRock Z75 Pro3, EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 PSU, EK-KIT L240, 2 x NF-A14-FLX Fans, 2 x NF-F12 iPPC 2000, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID 0 32KB strip, WD Re WD1003FBYZ 1TB,2TB HGST/Hitachi (HUA723020ALA641), Samsung SH-S223L. Schiit Magni3 & Modi3 and V-Moda M-100 Masters.


HITTI is offline  
post #28 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 05:24 PM
LTSC Consiglieri
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 22,485
Rep: 658 (Unique: 351)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
That Sucks man. Migraines are the frickin worst! Glad you caught the glugging when you did.

I have a few of those leak tester pumps, so I test all my Systems for leaks before I ever fill them, it comes in handy when working on so many systems and needing to be sure the loops are solid before putting in the liquid. That is the ONE problem I have noticed here in our dry Vegas Climate especially. The rate at which the Coolant Evaporates. I was convinced on my own system that I had somehow missed a leak somewhere because of how fast my coolant level in my Res was dropping. So much so that I painstakingly checked every single fitting for evidence of a leak, and when I couldn't find one, I completely drained the system, which on this crazy beast is no small feat, and then tested with 3 different Leak Testers, the last one I left on Pressurized in my system for just under 24 hours, and no pressure loss at all, so I know I don't have a leak. So I have come to expect to top off my Res Once a Month, not by a lot mind you, but still around 10 mL or so (Just Guestimating).

I guess this is the one downside to mixing with distilled on your own huh?
yep.

I wonder if the incoming replacement for the droppers takes evap into account.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #29 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HITTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,431
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
mayhem's website I cannot find pH test strips.

Win10 x64 Pro, Acer XB240H, Corsair Obsidian 750D Black,DEMCifilter Corsair Obsidian 750D Dust Filter Kit,Delidded i7-3770K OC'[email protected], F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM, MSI GeForce GTX 960 2GD5, ASRock Z75 Pro3, EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 PSU, EK-KIT L240, 2 x NF-A14-FLX Fans, 2 x NF-F12 iPPC 2000, 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID 0 32KB strip, WD Re WD1003FBYZ 1TB,2TB HGST/Hitachi (HUA723020ALA641), Samsung SH-S223L. Schiit Magni3 & Modi3 and V-Moda M-100 Masters.


HITTI is offline  
post #30 of 51 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 05:54 PM
LTSC Consiglieri
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 22,485
Rep: 658 (Unique: 351)
do you have a pool store near by? best place.

second best place, hardware store.

try to get ones that come in a resealable bottle, and check the exp date.

or ofc, just amazon everything until we're all property of Bezos, that works too. This planet will surely be named Bezearth in no time at this rate. lol

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off