WC custom loop turned off 3 monts... now what? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

WC custom loop turned off 3 monts... now what?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 09:11 PM - Thread Starter
Tweaking since 386 era
 
MaddogMcCree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
WC custom loop turned off 3 monts... now what?

Hi all! I have been travelling and pc has been turned off for 3 months when i get home. I have a custom loop with dye and pastel (both mayhems) in it, so i am very afraid it has either settled or maybe even gunked up. I read some horror story about a d5 pump sucking the system vacuum due to blockages and i dont want to break anything. I preferrably also dont want to disassemble and clean the entire system while it is not needed. So my question: if it looks bad when i come home, can i just turn it on and hope the settled particles dissolve again into a homogenous fluid? And just hope there is no real blockage? Or is this really a bad idea? Any recommendations?
MaddogMcCree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 10:40 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,499
Rep: 681 (Unique: 361)
full tear down, a 6 pack of distilled gallons, and a mayhems blitz kit.
don't even turn it on. just drain it, & tear it down.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 10:55 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 995
Rep: 70 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by MaddogMcCree View Post
Hi all! I have been travelling and pc has been turned off for 3 months when i get home. I have a custom loop with dye and pastel (both mayhems) in it, so i am very afraid it has either settled or maybe even gunked up. I read some horror story about a d5 pump sucking the system vacuum due to blockages and i dont want to break anything. I preferrably also dont want to disassemble and clean the entire system while it is not needed. So my question: if it looks bad when i come home, can i just turn it on and hope the settled particles dissolve again into a homogenous fluid? And just hope there is no real blockage? Or is this really a bad idea? Any recommendations?
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
full tear down, a 6 pack of distilled gallons, and a mayhems blitz kit.
don't even turn it on. just drain it, & tear it down.
LOL! I was about to recommend the exact opposite as Skupples! LOL! I highly respect Skupples experience and knowledge though, and he definitely has more experience here than me, so I would probably go with his suggestion to be on the safe side.

If it was me, I would YOLO it, lol. Probably not the best advice. First I would inspect it, hopefully you have a drain built in your system, often a good way to get a pump going if gunk has built up in it, is simply to drain a few mL of Fluid, if you built your drain system in directly after the pump and at the lowest part of your loop, then once you take off the fill port, and crack open your drain, the pressure will cause even built up gunk that may be causing a clog to flow out. I wouldn't drain all the fluid just yet, just drain a few mL into a see through bottle so you can inspect what comes out. If it is all gunked up and separated, then there is no doubt that Skupples suggestion is definitely the way to go here. If however the liquid looks fine, and looking in your Res everything else looks fine, turn on that pump for a few seconds and see if the loop starts up again. If you hear any messed up sounds, or the loop does not start up, then again, drain everything, flush the system with Distilled water, and probably refrain from using that fluid in the future, especially if you have long periods of time where you don't turn it on often.

If however it starts right up, everything looks good, then you have probably dodged a bullet and can use like normal. I personally have only had negative experiences with Colored Fluids, again I am not as experienced as others on here, I just know for me Colored Fluid, especially pastels, are just not worth the hassle. If this was Distilled water with Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor Plus, or their Clear Fluid, you wouldn't even have this concern. Anyways, good luck, let us know what happens!

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
Offical Ryzen 9 3950x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(34 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Cooling
280mm Alphacool UT60
Cooling
280mm EKWB Coolstream CE
Cooling
Optimus Foundation AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
x2 Corsair Pump/Res Combo
Cooling
EKWB Acrylic 1080ti FTW Block
Cooling
Aquaero 6xt
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 6 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:07 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,499
Rep: 681 (Unique: 361)
awe thanks, but i'm just another scrub.

i'd normally agree, if it were anything other than dye and pastel

I let an X1 build sit for 6 months, then powered it right back up, then let it run for 2 before cleaning. Temps didn't shift, so no fux given.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:08 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,499
Rep: 681 (Unique: 361)
awe thanks, but i'm just another scrub.

i'd normally agree, if it were anything other than dye and pastel

I let an X1 build sit for 6 months, then powered it right back up, then let it run for 2 years before cleaning. Temps didn't shift, so no fux given.

oh great, usb power exceeded error. too late for this shart.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:24 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,187
Rep: 136 (Unique: 119)
Just replace it, i honestly think it will be fine, but it's so cheap just to replace it.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 02:14 AM - Thread Starter
Tweaking since 386 era
 
MaddogMcCree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for the fast replies! Getting a little anxious though hehe. Skupples why do you say tear it down? Is there a risk of breaking the pump if it is clogged or so? Oreo thank for the alternative solution, depending on how it looks might try that first. Socks: replacing the fluid you mean i guess? Do i really need multiple gallons of water to flush? Would it then not be better to just first flush with tapwater and then distilled?
MaddogMcCree is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 04:15 AM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 995
Rep: 70 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by MaddogMcCree View Post
Thanks for the fast replies! Getting a little anxious though hehe. Skupples why do you say tear it down? Is there a risk of breaking the pump if it is clogged or so? Oreo thank for the alternative solution, depending on how it looks might try that first. Socks: replacing the fluid you mean i guess? Do i really need multiple gallons of water to flush? Would it then not be better to just first flush with tapwater and then distilled?
I would NOT put tap water through your Loop unless you intend to flush with at least a few gallon's of Distilled and a Mayhem's Blits Kit part 2 (Which coincidentally will need at least a few more gallons of Distilled to flush that too). Putting tap water in your loop is one of the worst things you can do, unless its thoroughly flushed with Distilled afterwards, in which case you should have just used distilled in the first place.

NP for the advice though! Glad to help. There is Risk to the Pump if its SO CLOGGED that it is not able to pump fluid properly, but really your biggest concern is burning the pump out, which is why I said to drain just a bit of fluid first which should get your pump able to start, and then see if your pump is working properly. Hopefully you have some kind of flow meter so you can see how well its pumping. Otherwise you may have to eventually turn your system on, and not just the pump, to check temps and make sure everything looks good. Until you are sure everything is running perfectly, to avoid burning out your pump I would recommend to not allow it to stay on for more than 2 minutes at a time, until you are certain it is pumping properly and that your flow/temps are looking good. And to Cut Power to the Pump Immediately if you hear any weird noises that indicate its having issues pumping fluid, or the second you realize that it is not pumping properly to avoid damage to the pump. If those scenarios happen, and draining a few mL Doesn't help then thats when you definitely should consider draining all the fluid and using a Blitz Kit.

Mr @Socks Keep You Warm is probably correct that flushing the fluid and refilling might be the best option, the problem is it depends where the gunk build up is, and whether just a normal flush will get all the gunk out. You could be in a situation where a lot of the gunk ended up in your Pump and built up in places that are hard to get out with just a normal flush. This is why @skupples recommended using the Blitz Kit, specifically the Blitz Kit Part 2. If you aren't home yet, I would consider ordering one right now, depending on where you live I am pretty sure PCOutlet.com still has a few in stock, and if you are on the west Coast of North America they can get it to you in a few days. Amazon may have stock from PPC or TitanRig.com as well, in which case that might get to you faster.

The Blitz Kit comes with Part 1 and Part 2, definitely best not to confuse the 2. Part 1 is JUST for Radiators, and should be put to the side for a later date when it may be necessary to pull out a rad and thoroughly clean it separately. Part 2 is for running through your loop for 24 hours. It will do an amazing job of cleaning out any left over gunk built up in any part in your loop.

If you find that there is bad gunk build up, it would be a good idea to flush with at least 2 gallons of Distilled water, then fill with Part 2/Distilled Mix, let it run for at least 12 hours, although I would recommend a full 24 hours, then flush with at least another 2 gallons of Distilled, then your loop will be ready for whatever coolant you plan to use next. It also has the added bonus of making sure the pH Balance of your Loop is neutral, so if you are using good fluid, your parts will be cleaner then they were when you bought them from the factory, and you will be set up for success in your loop. In the future I would avoid pastels. Just my opinion, but I found it best to stick by this until there is a pastel on the market that can prove itself not to have this problem. Definitely would avoid mixing Pastels and Dye in the future as well. Just no Pastels, and you will be good! LOL!

Of course you can use Pastels and be fine, it just takes a crap ton more maintenance, and I just prefer to run Clear Distilled with Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor Plus, or Clear XT1, as either of those set you up with a low Maintenance loop that, like Jensen, "It Just Works". LOL!

Good Luck, let us know how it turns out, you may end up being fine, and then can delay that Blitz kit flush until you are ready to switch out your coolant (I recommend using Blitz Kit Part 2 between each Coolant Change for best results, and One Blitz Kit Purchase gives you enough Part 2 to Flush at least 2 to 3 Times.)

Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
awe thanks, but i'm just another scrub.

i'd normally agree, if it were anything other than dye and pastel

I let an X1 build sit for 6 months, then powered it right back up, then let it run for 2 years before cleaning. Temps didn't shift, so no fux given.

oh great, usb power exceeded error. too late for this shart.
You may be a scrub, but you are a knowledgeable scrub sir, you have my utmost respect!

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
Offical Ryzen 9 3950x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(34 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Cooling
280mm Alphacool UT60
Cooling
280mm EKWB Coolstream CE
Cooling
Optimus Foundation AM4 CPU Block
Cooling
x2 Corsair Pump/Res Combo
Cooling
EKWB Acrylic 1080ti FTW Block
Cooling
Aquaero 6xt
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 6 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by oreonutz; 03-01-2020 at 04:39 AM.
oreonutz is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 04:23 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 10,500
Rep: 150 (Unique: 92)
Hi,
Shouldn't be too tough to tell how bad or good it is
Just look at the fluid in the reservoir
If it's still a solid color with no fading at the top it's probably okay.
If it looks deluded then yeah break it all down and manually clean the blocks and flush the rest with the blocks removed just temp pipe it together without the blocks in it.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Tweaking since 386 era
 
MaddogMcCree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for all your extensive replies. Had I not asked this question here I would have just shaken the case and turned it on, see what happens. Learnt a lot from this. Will keep you guys updated, but that will take a small month. Currently in Australia for a long road trip, live in Amsterdam, there is a very good local supplier, will order a blitz kit right away to keep at hand.
MaddogMcCree is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off