Budget CPU only loop, or AIO? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Budget CPU only loop, or AIO?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Gamer
 
Cysquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,218
Rep: 74 (Unique: 49)
Budget CPU only loop, or AIO?

Im ready to change up my cooling setup on my pc. I wan't to push my cpu overclocks, it seems I have a fairly decent CPU. My NH u12s isnt cutting it. I have a feeling everyone is going to say custom loop. I would really like to keep the costs down. Please give me some opinions, suggestions. Thanks

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 5700 XT 8G GDDR6
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 1TB P34A80
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus SSR-650FX
Cooling
Noctua NH U12S
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2419HGF
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Elite
Mouse
UtechSmart Venus
▲ hide details ▲
Cysquatch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 08:10 PM
Why is it smoking?
 
Mr. Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 3,958
Rep: 365 (Unique: 298)
A 3600 isn't hard to keep cool with any halfway decent air or AIO cooler, even when pushed to its limits (which won't be much higher than PBO anyway). You can go with a custom loop if you want it, but it's just going to be for looks, something to tinker with, or with an eye towards future upgrades. I'm not trying to turn you off the idea. I just want to make sure you know that it won't make a drastic difference in the CPU's performance.

Black Feathers
(22 items)
Even Better JuJu
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 2280
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus 750
Cooling
EK-KIT Classic RGB P360 with upgraded pump/res and tubing
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon RX 5700 +XT RGB - Nickel + Plexi
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM PST
Cooling
DEEPCOOL RF120M
Cooling
XSPC G1/4" Inline 10k Sensor, Chrome
Cooling
Mayhems Pastel White Concentrate
Case
Lian-Li PC O11 Dynamic (white)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Viotek GFT27DB
Monitor
BenQ GL2760H
Keyboard
Logitech G213
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
Enhance GX-MP6
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50x
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2HR
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 I AORUS PRO WIFI
GPU
ZOTAC Gaming GeForce GTX 1660 Super amp
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz C16
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 512GB SSD 3D NAND A55
Optical Drive
External Blu Ray DVD Drive
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus 550 Gold
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
EVGA DG-77
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Mr. Mojo is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Gamer
 
Cysquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,218
Rep: 74 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mr. Mojo View Post
A 3600 isn't hard to keep cool with any halfway decent air or AIO cooler, even when pushed to its limits (which won't be much higher than PBO anyway). You can go with a custom loop if you want it, but it's just going to be for looks, something to tinker with, or with an eye towards future upgrades. I'm not trying to turn you off the idea. I just want to make sure you know that it won't make a drastic difference in the CPU's performance.
I'm at 4.5 ghz @ 1.28 volts. I did get my system to boot to windows at 4.7, But voltages were maxing out my cooler. I'd really like to push the limits of this cpu. You think a decent AIO would be capable?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 5700 XT 8G GDDR6
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 1TB P34A80
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus SSR-650FX
Cooling
Noctua NH U12S
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2419HGF
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Elite
Mouse
UtechSmart Venus
▲ hide details ▲
Cysquatch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 10:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
poah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: in a house
Posts: 953
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
Im ready to change up my cooling setup on my pc. I wan't to push my cpu overclocks, it seems I have a fairly decent CPU. My NH u12s isnt cutting it. I have a feeling everyone is going to say custom loop. I would really like to keep the costs down. Please give me some opinions, suggestions. Thanks


Arctic freezer II 280/360 will be good enough. ultimately you are going to be limited to 1.35v for an overclock.
poah is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 10:39 PM
PC Enthusiast
 
Ashura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 957
Rep: 52 (Unique: 39)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
I'm at 4.5 ghz @ 1.28 volts. I did get my system to boot to windows at 4.7, But voltages were maxing out my cooler. I'd really like to push the limits of this cpu. You think a decent AIO would be capable?
Anything above your 4.5GHz is not guaranteed. So the question is how much is the potential 0-200mhz worth to you?


A - You're willing spend 100-200 bucks & will be okay even if you're stuck @ 4.5ghz. The experience of trying is good enough for the money.
The Arctic freezer II, Kraken X62/63, 280mm or 360mm, whichever fits your budget. These AIOs can handle your CPU at max clocks.



B - You want to upgrade your cooling but do not want to waste any money. In that case, a dual tower cooler such as the D15, Dark Rock pro 4 , Assassin III would be good choices. Or if you'd like an AIO, then the Arctic Freezer II 240mm is great value for money.
These will be a major upgrade from your current cooler whilst not hurting your wallet.

PolaRyz
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 1700x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Asus GTX 1060 6Gb
RAM
Hyper X Predator 32gb 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256 GB
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DM003
Hard Drive
Toshiba DC01ACA300
Power Supply
SeaSonic S12G 750w 80+ Gold
Cooling
Phanteks TC14PE
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Monitor
LG 23MP68VQ
Mouse
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Mousepad
Steelseries Qck Mass
▲ hide details ▲
Ashura is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 12:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
prznar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,458
Rep: 45 (Unique: 37)
Some time ago i have made a decision about making budget loop and it was worth it. Go for CPU only loop and later you can always expand to GPU also. Just get proper size radiator. When you will get the watercooling components they will stay with you. Pump, radiator, fans, fittings etc are parts that you don't have to change every time you swap pc parts. Olny GPU block is tricky because its hard to get core only GPU block now (i've used mine for 3 cards, GTX 580, 660 ti and 970). Or you can get fullcover and sell it later, and get some money back. What you get on return is the silence and cooling capacity. All that is out of the reach of any air cooler and aio is not expandable and also not as good as custom loop. Hope that helps.

Ryzen 5 3600 | ASUS TUF B450 PRO | 2x16 GOODRAM IRDM PRO 3600Mhz DDR4 | MSI VENTUS GTX 1660 Ti | PNY 1TB NVMe SSD | IN WIN 303 | be quiet! STRAIGHT POWER 10 500W
prznar1 is online now  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Gamer
 
Cysquatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,218
Rep: 74 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by poah View Post
Arctic freezer II 280/360 will be good enough. ultimately you are going to be limited to 1.35v for an overclock.
Why am I limited to 1.35v? Previous to me messing with the overclock my cpu was defaulting to 1.4v

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 5700 XT 8G GDDR6
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Silicon Power 1TB P34A80
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus SSR-650FX
Cooling
Noctua NH U12S
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2419HGF
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Elite
Mouse
UtechSmart Venus
▲ hide details ▲
Cysquatch is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 05:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Arni90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,504
Rep: 87 (Unique: 80)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
Why am I limited to 1.35v? Previous to me messing with the overclock my cpu was defaulting to 1.4v
While a custom loop can dissipate a lot of heat, the main bottleneck lies in the heat transfer from the die to the heatsink. This applies to both water cooling and air cooling on more recent processor architectures produced on 22nm, 14nm, 12nm, 10nm, and 7nm.

You might gain 10C by going from an NH-U12S to a custom loop, but that extra thermal headroom won't give you more than 50 mV before you're at the same temperature again. And Zen 2 voltage/frequency scaling is already poor past 1.15V (at least on the ones I have tested). Those 50 mV extra might gain you 50 MHz, possibly 75 MHz if you're lucky.

If you want a project for fun, going custom loop might be what you're looking for.
If you want silence, be prepared to spend a bit more money.
If you want more performance, save the money for an actual processor upgrade.

Main rig
(16 items)
CPU
9900k
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS MASTER
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
4x 8GB B-die @4000 MHz 16-16-16-37-2T
Hard Drive
960 EVO
Hard Drive
860 EVO
Hard Drive
ADATA SX8200 PRO 1TB
Optical Drive
No
Power Supply
Fractal Design ION+ 860W
Cooling
MCP655
Cooling
Alphacool RTX 2080 Ti full cover block
Cooling
EKWB Supremacy EVO
Cooling
3x 180mm radiator
Case
SST-FT02
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
EX3501R
▲ hide details ▲


Arni90 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 05:47 AM
Shooting down fallacies
 
ciarlatano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NYC Metro
Posts: 7,821
Rep: 451 (Unique: 298)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
Im ready to change up my cooling setup on my pc. I wan't to push my cpu overclocks, it seems I have a fairly decent CPU. My NH u12s isnt cutting it. I have a feeling everyone is going to say custom loop. I would really like to keep the costs down. Please give me some opinions, suggestions. Thanks
You can go into the middle with a Swiftech X3 as an option. Preassembled, but made up of copper components and configured for easy expansion. It also has a pump strong enough to effectively expand if you want to add the GPU and another rad.

Yeah....the little girl hentai avatar is really creeping me out....
ciarlatano is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 11:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
poah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: in a house
Posts: 953
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cysquatch View Post
Why am I limited to 1.35v? Previous to me messing with the overclock my cpu was defaulting to 1.4v
safe level for the 7nm ryzen is 1.35v
poah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off