Drop In Waterblock for the Ivy/Sandy Bridge without the Tec Headaches - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Drop In Waterblock for the Ivy/Sandy Bridge without the Tec Headaches

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mindchi|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 303
Rep: 37 (Unique: 33)
Well here is my newest water block that was built for one thing only. To blow the commercial standard water blocks out of the water without all the hastles of insulating, external power supplies, a ton of radiators, and all the rest that goes into trying to run a tec.

Pros:

1. No insulation required. The controller is set to user selectable from 15-25ºc with an ambient hold. Just turn the dial to max, and it will hold ambients

2. No special power supply to deal with, just plug it into your 6 pin pcie cable

3. This thing has no problems being cooled by a cheap $150 Rasa Kit.

4. The tec intercepts the heat load and sets the duty cycle to what is needed to cool the block to hold a very precise temp and increasing efficiency.

Basically its setup is no harder than a setting up a standard waterblock.

Testing the Block against the Apogee XT (not the gt). This test was done running an I5 2500k at 4.6ghz cooled by the rasa kit mentioned above.

Update:

I finally got around to adding Dewpoint safety to the controller.

I also shortened the height of the block and added black cap screws from a recommendation by xxbassplayerxx

Lcd now displays as follows:

H=Humidity A=Ambient B=BlockTemp
C=Dutycycle D=Duepoint T=Targettemp

attachment.php?attachmentid=234218&stc=1&d=1318806450

attachment.php?attachmentid=234219&stc=1&d=1318806450




update Ivy Bridge:

Ivy Bridge Update for the single tec direct die.

This Block handles a 4.6ghz overclock @1.336v with dt's ~16-18dt on prime small fft.

So it has real potential to keep cores down on a moderate oc on this chip.

600
Mindchi|l is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:51 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NCAL
Posts: 16,364
First off- Nice job! cheers.gif

now.. 2x Q's..

1.- are you in the US?
2.- are these available for sale? smile.gif


CL3P20 is offline  
post #3 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:53 AM
hardware nerd
 
num1son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 2,621
Rep: 109 (Unique: 88)
num1son is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
shadow19935's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,934
Rep: 141 (Unique: 116)
Impressive. IF they are available for sale im having one smile.gif
shadow19935 is offline  
post #5 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,808
Rep: 64 (Unique: 62)
would be great if they were for sale lol



Quote:
Originally Posted by STDSkillz go_quote.gif
The 1090T supports HyperTransit, so you would have 12 threads with it.
knoxy_14 is offline  
post #6 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mastical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,880
Rep: 224 (Unique: 199)
Build me one.

mastical is offline  
post #7 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 09:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Steven-1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 773
Rep: 53 (Unique: 47)
price? lol

Steven-1979 is offline  
post #8 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 10:02 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goin back to Cali
Posts: 21,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by num1son;14579745 
That's pretty cool did you build it? How much did it cost?

400SDD - Direct Die 1155/1156 Socket
Price: $149.99 USD

http://www.arqtik.com/products/285TDD.html

I'm in for one!


tsm106 is offline  
post #9 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 10:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 2,509
1305672725429.jpg
dealio is offline  
post #10 of 235 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 10:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Steven-1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 773
Rep: 53 (Unique: 47)
What kind of wattage draw would this add to a psu? Might pick one up

edit - nvm "Max Power Consumption: 694.4W"

Steven-1979 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off