2x50mm TEC's Direct Die by Ultrasonic2 - Page 26 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2x50mm TEC's Direct Die by Ultrasonic2

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #251 of 256 (permalink) Old 08-09-2010, 10:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zipdogso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 618
Rep: 61 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krow View Post
I'm actually going for self contained (atleast for this event I was). I'm going to have to be creative about how to make it Semi-contained after I get the second radiator in the loop...
???
Sorry, I am getting really thick here in my medicinal induced euphoria....

Can you explain ?

The route I was thinking was that if you are using rads anywhere... the coolant coming back from the rad will never be below ambient. If you are only cooling the hotside with ambient coolant and you have 2 TECs side by side shoving a collective (estimate .) of 400w say off the hotside it is very likely that the hotside will be of such a temp that once you take off the Dt then allow for the CPU being warmer than the actual coldside temp, 40ºC on the CPU might be all you can get at that operating point. shoving extra rads on it may not make any difference.....
zipdogso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #252 of 256 (permalink) Old 08-09-2010, 11:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Edmonton AB, CA
Posts: 424
Rep: 28 (Unique: 21)
It will when I up the voltage. When I can I'm getting a 22V Meanwell with the appropriate wattage. And figuring out where where to put the next rads is just the puzzle I have to solve.

EDIT: Probably going to stop replying to this thread because it's kinda not mine and I don't wanna hijack it.

Krow is offline  
post #253 of 256 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 01:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dragon Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Im just getting into TEC cooling and Just reading through this series of posts has answered alot of questions for me thanks guys and keep up all the good work.

Dragon Slayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #254 of 256 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 02:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flak-spammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 498
Rep: 27 (Unique: 24)
Welcome to the forums! Well if you have any other questions preferably start a new thread.

flak-spammer is offline  
post #255 of 256 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zipdogso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 618
Rep: 61 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krow View Post
EDIT: Probably going to stop replying to this thread because it's kinda not mine and I don't wanna hijack it.
I agree so I'll stop with this post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krow View Post
It will when I up the voltage. When I can I'm getting a 22V Meanwell with the appropriate wattage. And figuring out where where to put the next rads is just the puzzle I have to solve.
The problem I mentioned will still rear it's head. At a higher operating point you will have a higher Dt but also a higher hotside temp. It doesn't matter if you have 100 rads your coolant will NEVER be below ambient plus a couple of degrees. You will get a cooler CPU temp with a higher operating point but don't expect miracles it wont be a fantastic improvement, at least not what I call a fantastic improvement.
I have always said undervolting or multiple TEC setups need more than rad cooling to be really effective, you need to get the hotside cooled by something colder than ambient.

Ambient coolant is NOT cold it is lukewarm.
TEC hotside are often several times hotter than the hottest CPU and your cooling it with lukewarm (ambient) coolant. Surely anyone can see thats not an ideal situation.
zipdogso is offline  
post #256 of 256 (permalink) Old 09-17-2010, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 2,543
Rep: 163 (Unique: 99)
The difference with this block is that i have separate TEC pressure screws and cover screws . This was done because the cover screws required more torquing than the TEC. This also enabled me to have both of the TEC's wires exiting on the same side for the block







Ultrasonic2.com
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL
Ultrasonic2 (muffy) is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off