Assassins Creed 2 stuck at 60fps maximum - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Assassins Creed 2 stuck at 60fps maximum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zcypot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Compton, California
Posts: 2,465
Rep: 39 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtSh00ttr;13643337 
Most people can see upwards of 100fps. The 30fps is a bit of a myth that has to do with the MINIMUM number of frames per second required to create the illusion of motion.

Light is one of the most critical components in being able to differentiate between frames. The US Air Force ran an experiment with pilots and found that 1/220th of a second is still discernible to the human eye. They flashed a plane on a dark backround at 1/220th of a second. Not only did the pilots see the object but were able to identify the type/model of the plane.

30 FPS = Minimum needed to convey motion (trick the eye) .

Anything below 30 your start to experience input lag on the hardware...I should know running dirt 3 on eyefinity with 25 fps(1 gpu no xfire yet) has about half second delay on my steering.


Zcypot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 08:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
OverTheBelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 916
Rep: 53 (Unique: 50)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtSh00ttr View Post
30 FPS = Minimum needed to convey motion (trick the eye) .
Actually, I think 7 or 8 is the minimum framerate required to imply motion, but otherwise your post is correct.

Support PC developers - act against piracy.

OverTheBelow is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 08:05 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTheBelow View Post
Actually, I think 7 or 8 is the minimum framerate required to imply motion, but otherwise your post is correct.
Well if your going get all technical....

Correction: 30 FPS is the MINIMUM required to convey the illusion of FLUID motion. LOL

Also there is a HUGE difference with blur in frame. The old wagon wheel at 24fps in analog would look more fluid as each frame as the wheel partially blurred as it was shot with a shutter speed less than the rotational speed of the wheel. That make a big difference when looking at motion video. Digital stills (think gaming) where each frame is perfectly clean of motion blur (like a digital photo at high shutter speed) requires a greater frame rate to convey fluid motion


ShtSh00ttr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 08:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
intelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 303
Rep: 17 (Unique: 14)
yeah I guess 30 fps does seem low, just thought I had read that somewhere haha
intelman is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 08:42 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,310
the question of the OP has already been answered.
The rest is off topic!
Kung Pow is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Cancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SC, US
Posts: 1,038
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverTheBelow;13643324 
Facepalm.

Seriously, why the hell does someone always spout this complete BS the minute framerate is brought up? The human eye does not see in frames, but in context is capable of detecting differences even above 100.


Anyway, I (accidentally) eliminated the 62fps cap somewhat by renaming 'AC2/videos/UBI_LOGO.bik' but I don't think it's a complete workaround. The game seems to randomly dip and rise in frames with this.

Tried that...it didn't change the 60fps cap.

People from Denmark are Danish.
Therefore, people from Benmark must be Banish!

Cancer is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,310
The cap can´t be modified.

Just live with it 60 FPS is still nice.

If you want more get Brotherhood
Kung Pow is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Cancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SC, US
Posts: 1,038
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kung Pow;13643287 
Assassin´s Creed 2 has a FPS cap.
Meaining the game automatically locks the frames at 60 FPS.
Don´t worry it has nothing to do with the performance of your PC it is just done so by Ubisoft since the game is console ported and they didn´t wanna do any extra work of synthesizing frames:)

cheers.gif to the game

Stupid lazy ubisoft...they sure took the time to DRM the hell out of it.
Vsync doesn't even work for this game...it's locked at 60hz so if you have a higher refresh rate than that you're screwed apparently.

There's gotta be a hack for it somewhere.

Until I find a hack...I'll just run it at 2000x1500 resolution with 8x AA.
Stupid ubisoft....my fan isn't even audiable.

People from Denmark are Danish.
Therefore, people from Benmark must be Banish!

Cancer is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pursuinginsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,008
Rep: 157 (Unique: 145)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShtSh00ttr;13643386 
Well if your going get all technical....

Correction: 30 FPS is the MINIMUM required to convey the illusion of FLUID motion. LOL

Also there is a HUGE difference with blur in frame. The old wagon wheel at 24fps in analog would look more fluid as each frame as the wheel partially blurred as it was shot with a shutter speed less than the rotational speed of the wheel. That make a big difference when looking at motion video. Digital stills (think gaming) where each frame is perfectly clean of motion blur (like a digital photo at high shutter speed) requires a greater frame rate to convey fluid motion smile.gif

No, it isn't. If 30 were required for motion, movies filmed at 24 fps (like 99.9% of movies) would appear to stutter and, well, wouldn't appear "fluid" at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imglidinhere go_quote.gif
If this is the Bulldozer we've been waiting for, I'm sorry AMD, you suck.


^^^^Not much has changed on that front in oh, 5+ years eh.
pursuinginsanity is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-26-2011, 12:30 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by pursuinginsanity;13645453 
No, it isn't. If 30 were required for motion, movies filmed at 24 fps (like 99.9% of movies) would appear to stutter and, well, wouldn't appear "fluid" at all.


Umn you even quoted me above stating 24fps is required in analog w/blur ... I said 24fps in analog.... rolleyes.gif


ShtSh00ttr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off