Guild Wars 2 Crossfire 7970? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Guild Wars 2 Crossfire 7970?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RagingAzn628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,509
Rep: 123
hey guys,

I tried to run GW2 in Crossfire 7970s today but only GPU 1 was working while GPU 2 was idle. Does GW2 even support Crossfire?

RagingAzn628 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 09:02 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165
GW2 is an NVIDIA TWIMTBP title. As such, AMD does not have access to the final gold build, so we will be unable to investigate CrossFire scaling until after the game launches this weekend.

(I'm playing on Anvil Rock!)

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
post #3 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RagingAzn628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,509
Rep: 123
How is this guy running it in Crossfire?

RagingAzn628 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 09:13 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165
This may have been before NVIDIA bought the rights to the title and began optimizing for SLI. CrossFire may not have been working, as the game has relatively low system requirements.

There are numerous possibilities, but that user having great CF scaling is unlikely.

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
post #5 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 09:34 PM
PC Gamer
 
Descadent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 3,881
Rep: 120
that was the last beta event in that video. (excluding random stress tests they have been having)

Steam: Khyber GT | Origin: Khyber_GT | XBL: Khyber GT | PSN: ThreefiddyZ | PST for iRacing name
Descadent is offline  
post #6 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 08:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clorox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 453
Rep: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thracks View Post

GW2 is an NVIDIA TWIMTBP title. As such, AMD does not have access to the final gold build, so we will be unable to investigate CrossFire scaling until after the game launches this weekend.
(I'm playing on Anvil Rock!)

Thanks for this answer, I've been wondering why my game was playing so poorly in crossfire the past couple of stress tests. So we should expect better crossfire support shortly after the head start?

Clorox is offline  
post #7 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 11:21 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165
Update: 12.8CAP1 has a profile for GW2, and it's currently in testing.

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
post #8 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 04:10 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165
Another update:

We're at +7% CF scaling currently, at 1080/1600p w/ all the bells and whistles. NVIDIA is at -20% across the board.

This title may just not be all that friendly to multi-GPU, but we're continuing to look into it.

Radeon fans might also be pleased to know that 7000 Series is faster at 1080/1600p w/ AA, by about 5-10%. biggrin.gif

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
post #9 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clorox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 453
Rep: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thracks View Post

Another update:
We're at +7% CF scaling currently, at 1080/1600p w/ all the bells and whistles. NVIDIA is at -20% across the board.
This title may just not be all that friendly to multi-GPU, but we're continuing to look into it.
Radeon fans might also be pleased to know that 7000 Series is faster at 1080/1600p w/ AA, by about 5-10%. biggrin.gif

Is that with the drivers that are in beta, or current? I'm getting wildly different frames in the game with my crossfired 6950's. Anywhere from 21-55+ in certain areas. However, I'm usually on the lower spectrum. I even change my settings and the frame rates don't really change. I think so far the game isn't optimized very well, hopefully things change in a day or two, but I'm skeptical.

Clorox is offline  
post #10 of 98 (permalink) Old 08-22-2012, 06:04 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 829
Rep: 165
Probably a mixture of 12.4, 12.6, 12.7 beta and 12.8.

If you have an issue with Catalyst, please do me a favor submit it to THIS FORM.
Thracks is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off