[Tutorial] ATIWinFlash - How to flash the BIOS of your ATI Cards - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Tutorial] ATIWinFlash - How to flash the BIOS of your ATI Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 05:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KaRLiToS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Québec, Montréal
Posts: 9,041
Rep: 959 (Unique: 560)
( If you only have one BIOS chip on your card, flash the only BIOS at your own risk )


Usually You have two BIOS positions on your card: (switch) Switch! (Click to show)
#1: Unlock BIOS (You can flash this one)
#2: Lock BIOS (This is the default BIOS you can't flash)


It is important to save the BIOS #1 even if you have two BIOSes (BIOS can have different clock state)

How to save a Backup of your BIOS using GPU-Z! (Click to show)




Now first step is to download ATIwinflash


Then extract it on your Computer and insert the BIOS you want to use in that folder like this : (In this Case, the wanted BIOS is 7970XFX.rom ) (Bios collection Link at the end of the post)

It is also important to take note of the LOCATION of ATIwinflash.exe for further use





Now go in start menu and write cmd.exe in search and open command prompt (cmd.exe) with right-click and "Run as Administrator
How to open Command Prompt (Click to show)




Once open, write the location of ATIwinflash with CD before the command (Since ATIWinflash is on my D:, I need to write D: then enter first, as shown here)




Then enter will give you this window






Now, write this command : atiwinflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom then enter. In my case its atiwinflash -f -p 0 7970XFX.rom




Then enter and the Flash Will proceed





When complete it will show a windows like this one and will ask you to reboot. (Do it unless you have more than one card to flash)






Crossfire Cards biggrin.gif


So the "0" in "Atiwinflash -f -p 0 7970XFX.rom " meant the first Card

0 : First PCIe Slot
1: Second PCIe Slot
2: Third PCIe Slot
3: Forth PCIe Slot

So if you have 4 Cards you will have to enter those commands (No need to reboot between each flash, but very important to reboot at the end of the last flashed card)

atiwinflash -f -p 0 7970XFX.rom
atiwinflash -f -p 1 7970XFX.rom
atiwinflash -f -p 2 7970XFX.rom
atiwinflash -f -p 3 7970XFX.rom






DONE




GPU BIOS Collection

ATI has 3,595 different BIOSes
Nvidia has 4,185 different BIOses

??? ? ? ?⌨️??? ???


KaRLiToS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 05:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 35
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for the great tutorial. I might need to resort to this if updating drivers / MSI Afterburner don't fix my Club3D HD 7870 freezing/hanging issues.

1ceMaster is offline  
post #3 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-25-2013, 08:05 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: India, Calcutta
Posts: 7,797
Nice read. I remember doing this like a million times after bricking my card smile.gif
jason387 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 08:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 768
Rep: 42 (Unique: 35)
Thank you for the tutorial. If you are flashing BIOS #1, should you currently be on BIOS #2 or does it not matter?

I'd Rather Have You Ignore Me For Truth Than Know Me For Lying.
Flyers
(21 items)
CPU
I5-2500k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67 Pro
GPU
Zotac Amp Edition 1080
RAM
Crucial Ballistix DDR3
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Cooling
Swiftech H220
Case
Corsair 600T SE
Operating System
Win 10
Monitor
Acer XB280HK
Monitor
HP VH240a
Keyboard
TADA68
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
Vipamz Extended XXXL
Audio
HiVi M10 Multimedia Speaker System
Audio
Massdrop x Fostex T-X0 Planar Magnetic
Audio
AKG K7XX
Audio
XtremPro Desktop USB DAC
▲ hide details ▲


confed is offline  
post #5 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KaRLiToS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Québec, Montréal
Posts: 9,041
Rep: 959 (Unique: 560)
If you are flashing BIOS #1, you need to put the BIOS switch at #1. I usually do it before booting the PC.

Lets say your borked your BIOS flashing and the BIOS #1 is now corrupted and you can't boot into windows using that BIOS

-Turn Off PC
-Put the swtich back to BIOS #2
-You restart PC running "Locked" BIOS (#2)
-Under Windows: You flip the GPU Bios switch back to #1
-Proceed to a normal flashing of the BIOS
-BIOS#1 is now repaired

thumb.gif

??? ? ? ?⌨️??? ???


KaRLiToS is offline  
post #6 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 12:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
h2on0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 397
Rep: 30 (Unique: 29)
Bookmarked and +repped. TY.

Are there any BIOS for 7970 that allow you to increase voltage above 1.3? Does anybody have any recommendations for different ones to try? I am cuurently at 1200/1700 and 1.275 with a max temp of 46c in farcry3.
h2on0 is offline  
post #7 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 09:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
krabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 335
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I lack the balls to do this, my 7850 doesn't have any bios switch and the VRM lack heatsink.
Good to know it can be done on windows desktop instead of USB drive boot.

krabs is offline  
post #8 of 222 (permalink) Old 01-31-2013, 04:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nevk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 337
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Good article...very useful thumb.gif
Nevk is offline  
post #9 of 222 (permalink) Old 02-02-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KaRLiToS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Québec, Montréal
Posts: 9,041
Rep: 959 (Unique: 560)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevk View Post

Good article...very useful thumb.gif

Thanks a lot. tongue.gif

??? ? ? ?⌨️??? ???


KaRLiToS is offline  
post #10 of 222 (permalink) Old 02-14-2013, 08:34 PM
More Power
 
Majorhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coos Bay, OR
Posts: 1,113
Rep: 43 (Unique: 40)
Good read! thumb.gif



Majorhi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off