Gigabyte 7970 GHz Edition or Gigabyte 7970 OC Edition? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte 7970 GHz Edition or Gigabyte 7970 OC Edition?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 06:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,418
Rep: 51 (Unique: 44)
Looking at these two cards...planning on getting one now and another in the summer/fall, but since the voltage is locked would I be better off getting the GHz edition? Its $50 more at the moment. I'm getting a 1440p monitor with it so if it'll give me a handful of extra frames it might be worth it.

TMallory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 07:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
vtech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: C:\Windows\system32
Posts: 3,724
Rep: 116 (Unique: 102)
i own a GV-R797TO-3GD and its nott hat bad. sure im stuck at 1183Mhz


vtech1 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-09-2013, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
splinterize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,360
Rep: 128 (Unique: 98)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zylonite View Post


Yes but any 7970 GHz edition goes for $450 and currently the OC version is at $350...SO the question is that $100 worth it? I dont OC GPUs BTW...

 

IN MY OPINION, you should consider a kepler if you dont want to bother with overvolting and OCing. The reason is that they overclock by themselves via the boost feature.

 

 

Otherwise, get the OC version. It's really not worth it to spend an extra 100$ if you dont want to do any overclocking.

splinterize is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jason007 xtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: BKK
Posts: 7
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hi guys

First I'm new here. sorry for english. I'm studying that.

I tried flashing the Gigabyte GHz BIOS (1100/6000) onto the OC version (1000/5500) now It's work fine

my pc


Anyone still use GB HD7970 oc . I have some thing to tell u guys.
I just flashed my card. [GB HD 7970 oc Rev 1.0] It's work.

The bios I used



Download
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/127732/club3d-hd7970-3072-120711.html



Tools Needed:
HP Format Tool
Latest ATi Flash
GPU-z

But first step is Setup USB Drive

Setup USB Drive
*don't forget ot backup file*
* Select the drive you want to use
1. Download DOS Start Files and HP USB Format Tool
2. Extract "win98boot"(default) folder
3. Run HPUSBDisk as Admin
4. Select Device, Change Volume label if necessary.
5. Check "Create a DOS startup disk using system files located at:"
6. Start



then Download ATIFlash 3.86 on google

After that, copy ATIFlash 3.86 files to the usb drive. Then copy the bios [on download link] over to the usb drive.

BACKUP YOUR BIOS!
you can also backup your BIOS with GPU-z.



save backup bios over to the usb drive too.
like this



Actually Name of bios file is *Club3D.HD7970.3072.120711.rom*. but i rename it as *ghzbios.rom*

*ghzbios is the bios for flash
*Bbios is backup bios



after set up usb drive. here we go.Let's flash it

No Worries . Usually You have two BIOS positions on the card.
before flash. switch bios switch on 7970 to mode 2.




1. restart system
2. boot to usb drive that we set up. you can see Window98boot
look like this.



but not like me. cuz i forgot to take a photo in that step.

Flashing Time!


3.type the following

"atiflash.exe -i"............ENTER
This will get your device ID(s) for your card(s).
Now your device ID should show like on my screen.
The Device Number is 0 as shown on my computer.
then type
"atiflash.exe -p 0 ghzbios.rom [name of bios] -fa -fm -fp -fs" ...........ENTER

4.you will see the text " to complete vbios please restart"
5. restart you system or press "Ctrl+Alt+Del"

BEFORE FLASH



GB HD 7970 OC Specs



AFTERFLASH



Club3D HD 7970 bios info



*3DMARK11*








References

1. [Tutorial] ATIWinFlash - How to flash the BIOS of your ATI Cards
https://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/tutorial-atiwinflash-how-to-flash-the-bios-of-your-ati-cards
2. How To Use ATIFLASH (USB Drive Setup)
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750
3. How to Flash ATi Cards!
https://www.overclock.net/t/640063/how-to-flash-ati-cards

MANY THANKS
Jason007 xtreme is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off