Help with OC'ing Sapphire HD 7970 GPU. I'm new at this. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help with OC'ing Sapphire HD 7970 GPU. I'm new at this.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Xandict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Is this a good overclock? If I push it any higher, the screen blacks out during stress test.



Xandict is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dandraseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 99
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
Seems like an average overclock for a 7970, I would lower the voltage though and see if you are still stable at said clocks, also I would be monitoring temps while you are benching/gaming to see where you are at.

Edit: since you are new to o/c gpu's I'd reccomend dropping the mem back to stock and clocking the gpu as high as you can in 25mhz increments till you either get artifacts ( polygon tearing, odd shapes appearing or a crash) then dropping it 10mhz, once you have found that, drop the core to stock and up the memory clocks till you see no further increases or decreases in performance (since newer gddr5 has ecc coding you no longer get the "snow artifacts" you used to see when pushing memory too far).. once this is achieved, set both to thier maximum and test for stability.

Dandraseth is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Xandict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Temps at those settings are around 68C



Xandict is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dandraseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 99
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
your temps are still within acceptable range for the card, it is wise to not exceed 80c when overclocking a 7970 and mine shows instability at 78c, what stress test are you using?

Dandraseth is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Xandict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
I've been using; GPUTool, Heaven, FurMark, and 3D Mark. Some of these run and some of them start and then the screen goes black



Xandict is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dandraseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 99
Rep: 12 (Unique: 11)
I may get flamed for this but furmark is a horrible test for properly gauging a gpu's stability, all it does is heat the card up till it is ready to fail, in my opinion the real test of stability is purely gaming itself... one of the best stress tests I have come across for a gpu is the metro 2033 benchmark. Bottom line is, run heaven and 3dmark, and do some gaming with a few games that you currently play. If you are stable there then there is nothing really to worry about, however if you are failing heaven, 3dmark or any games you currently play you definately are not stable at those clocks.. it is also possible that you are voltage locked and no matter what setting you set trixx to you are still locked to your card's default voltage.. download hwinfo64 and run it next time you test.. if your gpu vcore is not within .25 of what you are setting in trixx it is intirely possible that your card is voltage locked and your current clocks may be as far as you can go.

Dandraseth is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 07:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
raghu78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,033
Rep: 1084 (Unique: 711)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandraseth View Post

I may get flamed for this but furmark is a horrible test for properly gauging a gpu's stability, all it does is heat the card up till it is ready to fail, in my opinion the real test of stability is purely gaming itself... one of the best stress tests I have come across for a gpu is the metro 2033 benchmark. Bottom line is, run heaven and 3dmark, and do some gaming with a few games that you currently play. If you are stable there then there is nothing really to worry about, however if you are failing heaven, 3dmark or any games you currently play you definately are not stable at those clocks.

very well said. furmark is not a indicator of gpu stability because it maxes out chip power and heat. so it tests the efficiency of the cooler. that is why furmark is used by users who watercool because they don't have any issues with temps and heat. stick to 3d mark, heaven 4.0 . then test using games like bf3, farcry3, crysis 3, sleeping dogs. these are demanding games and are a good test for stability. also monitor core and VRM temps when testing. keep core temps below 70c and VRM temps below 90c . use gpu-z or hwinfo32 to monitor temps.

start from stock clocks. max out power control and then push clocks in 25 mhz increments and test using benchmarks. when you cannot go any further increase voltage in small increments of 0.05v. eg: stock voltage is 1.175v then increase to 1.225v. repeat till you reach desired clocks or extra voltage does not help any further.

raghu78 is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Xandict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
What would be the reason my screen goes black during a Heaven benchmark?



Xandict is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-08-2013, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
raghu78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 11,033
Rep: 1084 (Unique: 711)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xandict View Post

What would be the reason my screen goes black during a Heaven benchmark?

if its happening at stock clocks then its a faulty card. if not then your overclocking has failed. follow the process mentioned above. start with stock clocks and stock voltage and gradually increase clocks (and voltage when required). find max stable over clocks.

raghu78 is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 03-09-2013, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Xandict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Guess my voltage is locked afterall. No matter what I set it to in TriXX it maxes at 1.256v



Xandict is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off