[Official] 7870 Tahiti LE (XT) Owners Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] 7870 Tahiti LE (XT) Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 09:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
Battman23 Level 1
 
Battman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
One thing I have done to combat the throttling is to create a custom Preset in CCC called Gaming where I set Overdrive to on and changed core and power. I then found the XML file in %AppData%\Local\AMD\ACE and manually edited the XML file under the CoreClock setting want_0 to match the want_1. This completely stops throttling. I also then went in and set the Power back to 0 in the XML file and I am not getting throttling, but I am not sure if this is harming the card in any way. I am not getting artifacts in games or Kombustor. The only problem with this method is that you have to manually set the profile. I guess you could set triggers for each game but that would be a pain.

Since I am getting very high temps 80°C - 83°C I may try to set negative power with default clock of 975mhz and see if I get any artifacts or locks. I am really looking to get the temp down so the fan isn't going crazy b/c anything over 75°C makes the fan go over 50% and it sounds like a hair dryer.

If any of you guys have an interest check out this method and let me know what you get with fan speeds, temps, etc.

i5-3470 w/ CoolerMaster Hyper 212 // 8GB Memory // Gigabyte B75-D3H // PowerColor 7870 EZ
Battman23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 11:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
Battman23 Level 1
 
Battman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mates Rates View Post

I've used both the 030 bios and 032. My card came with the 030 bios. My experience of both as follows:

032 bios
Installing this bios and setting the power limit to +20, the card would throttle. Only around 60% gpu usage

030 bios
Power limit set to +20, the card did not throttle and would always perform at 90-100%.

Power limit set to 0% on both these bios', the card did not throttle, always performed at 90-100%

If you're still experience throttling I recommend setting Unofficial overclocking mode to without Powerplay support in Afterburner.

My Afterburner config may be of use to you, I have attached it. Replace the CFG in the Afterburner root directory.

I recommend MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 7 as it supports voltage control for tahiti cards.

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/msi_afterburner_beta_download.html

MSIAfterburner.zip 1k .zip file
030 bios.zip 105k .zip file

For a stable 1200/1500 overclock, I need to set my voltage to 1.231V

I also recommend using Afterburners 3D/2D profile management, as pictured below.

VtFgvNn.png

Mates,

Thanks, I'll check this out when I get home. I'll see if I can use this to get power/temps/fan speed down and keep standard clocks.

i5-3470 w/ CoolerMaster Hyper 212 // 8GB Memory // Gigabyte B75-D3H // PowerColor 7870 EZ
Battman23 is offline  
post #23 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
eBombzor Level 1
 
eBombzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiftstealth View Post

Hmph the card specs are almost identical to the GTX 680

Same core count, same memory bus, same memory, same memory speed, same ROP's. Bios flash anyone?

The 680 uses a completely different architecture and completely different cores. It's not possible to successfully flash a BIOS for a card with a different architecture.


CPU
Intel i5-3470
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z77-D3H
GPU
EVGA 780 Ti w/ H80i (richie's bracket)
RAM
Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 520 240GB
Power Supply
Antec TPC-650
Cooling
CM Hyper 212 Evo
Cooling
2x Fractal R2 140mm
Cooling
2x Phanteks PH-F140HP_WT
Cooling
1x Phanteks PH-F140SP
Case
Fractal R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (GSYNC)
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire TK (Browns) w/ 40A-R O-Rings (Blue)
Mouse
Zowie FK2 2016
Mouse
Intel Promo *free*
Audio
Klipsch R6i
Audio
ASUS Xonar DGX
Audio
Philips SHP9500
Audio
Creative Aurvana Live!
Audio
Logitech Z-5
▲ hide details ▲
eBombzor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 08:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
crucifix85 Level 1
 
crucifix85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 273
I just got a powercolor myst this week. I wonder how far these overclock?

Validation
http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/nk3nz/
crucifix85 is offline  
post #25 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
Kanashimu Level 1
 
Kanashimu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 196
Requoting myself before it becomes lost.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanashimu View Post

Okay, I have the Powercolor Myst. I guess this would be a good thread to ask a bunch for questions I got about this card.

Bought it this Monday, .32 BIOS. Catalyst 13 Beta drivers.

1) Why did you RMA your card? (asking the OP, eBombzor)
2) Whats the latest BIOS version?
3) Anyone know the exact differences between Powercolor Myst and Powercolor EZ Edition? I know that the Myst is newer, and has copper heatpipes and a slightly different shroud, and is much heavier. I'm guessing being newer also has a later BIOS revision.

Got a few more I'll keep posting in a bit.

Edit:

4) Does anyone else get random spikes to 100% load (for a brief moment) on your desktop? This happens constantly. Why does this happen?
5) For your overclocks, in games and benching, does core clock spike between 975 and your OC setting? If it is, then your OC is not performing properly; there probably isn't enough power or core voltage sent to the GPU. However, if you don't have your power limits high enough, you WON'T see artifacts. At 1175 with everything else stock, I get no artifacts. However, when I turn power to +20%, 1175 instant artifacts like crazy, 1150 artifacts bad as well. My framerate also went up noticeably, suggesting that just because you have a high clock with no artifacts doesn't mean its performing. AMD's power settings will try to force the card to conform to certain power requirements, it seems.


Edit #2: Validation

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/euk33/

Kanashimu is offline  
post #26 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
eBombzor Level 1
 
eBombzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanashimu View Post

Requoting myself before it becomes lost.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanashimu View Post

Okay, I have the Powercolor Myst. I guess this would be a good thread to ask a bunch for questions I got about this card.

Bought it this Monday, .32 BIOS. Catalyst 13 Beta drivers.

1) Why did you RMA your card? (asking the OP, eBombzor)
2) Whats the latest BIOS version?
3) Anyone know the exact differences between Powercolor Myst and Powercolor EZ Edition? I know that the Myst is newer, and has copper heatpipes and a slightly different shroud, and is much heavier. I'm guessing being newer also has a later BIOS revision.

Got a few more I'll keep posting in a bit.

Edit:

4) Does anyone else get random spikes to 100% load (for a brief moment) on your desktop? This happens constantly. Why does this happen?
5) For your overclocks, in games and benching, does core clock spike between 975 and your OC setting? If it is, then your OC is not performing properly; there probably isn't enough power or core voltage sent to the GPU. However, if you don't have your power limits high enough, you WON'T see artifacts. At 1175 with everything else stock, I get no artifacts. However, when I turn power to +20%, 1175 instant artifacts like crazy, 1150 artifacts bad as well. My framerate also went up noticeably, suggesting that just because you have a high clock with no artifacts doesn't mean its performing. AMD's power settings will try to force the card to conform to certain power requirements, it seems.


Edit #2: Validation

http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/euk33/

Oh sorry I completely overlooked your previous post.

 

I actually received my RMA'd card 2 minutes ago and it fixed most of the problems I had.

The reason for the RMA was because my card was making really weird vibrations (not coil whine, actual vibrations) and the card was getting up to 81 C on the core and 105 C on the VRMs, which made me really uncomfortable.

Sapphire replaced my card and gave me a new one. There are no more vibrations anymore but there is crap tons more coil whine than my previous card and the temps are a little bit worse. I'm thinking of adding a fan to the bottom of my case to feed air to the GPU directly. Front fans don't help at all b/c the card exhaust to the side panel and the front.

 

I'm going to start experimenting with fan placements inside my R4.


CPU
Intel i5-3470
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z77-D3H
GPU
EVGA 780 Ti w/ H80i (richie's bracket)
RAM
Samsung 30nm 2x4GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 520 240GB
Power Supply
Antec TPC-650
Cooling
CM Hyper 212 Evo
Cooling
2x Fractal R2 140mm
Cooling
2x Phanteks PH-F140HP_WT
Cooling
1x Phanteks PH-F140SP
Case
Fractal R4
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (GSYNC)
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire TK (Browns) w/ 40A-R O-Rings (Blue)
Mouse
Zowie FK2 2016
Mouse
Intel Promo *free*
Audio
Klipsch R6i
Audio
ASUS Xonar DGX
Audio
Philips SHP9500
Audio
Creative Aurvana Live!
Audio
Logitech Z-5
▲ hide details ▲
eBombzor is offline  
post #27 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
lucky88shp Level 1
 
lucky88shp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo02816 View Post

Powercolor EZ edition is an inferior version of the Myst. The pixel fillrate is much lower, as is the texel fillrate is lower as well. I know because I bought this card. It does not overclock well at all, but it still performs like a stock 7870 tahiti with a stock score of 8000 on 3dmark11 performance. I'm keeping the EZ as a spare but it definitely is inferior to the Myst. Hope this helps.

Hey man,

Can you please post GPU-z stats screenshot for the EZ? I cannot believe that the EZ edtion would have anything different other than the cooler when compared to any other Tahiti LE board...I am getting a little disappointed seeing your post as I just bought it yesterday and waiting for it to arrive. I basically traded my XFX Radeon 6970 2GB for it....How much did it overclock stable and what are the temps like? Thanks in advance!

EDIT: BTW 2 guys who reviewed the EZ edition on Newegg, stated that they overclocked stable 1150-1200core and ~1550 memory! Sounds good enough to me!
lucky88shp is offline  
post #28 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 02:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
HmoobYaj87 Level 1
 
HmoobYaj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 137
My bro just got his ez edition in today. overclocked to 1200/1600 and I see no difference in performance compared to my mysts. Only thing different is that it would throttle down to 2d clocks while gamig on stock clocks even with the .032 bios( came with .031 bios) but stay at constant overclock if I increase or decrease clocks by 1mhz. So far it's a solid card but I prefer the myst's cover to the ez edition one. Oh and count me in the club, will post verifications whenever I do get o my computer. (typing from iphone)

HmoobYaj87 is offline  
post #29 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 02:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
.:hybrid:. is an unknown quantity at this point .:hybrid:. is an unknown quantity at this point
 
.:hybrid:.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 4,991
What is the best way to test for artifacting on my GPU? I think I am experiencing some, but its very minor. It's really fast, like for 1ms the whole screen will flash white. Blink and you miss it, only happens rarly when playing LoL so far. Not overclocked.

I don't want to use Furmark since I hear it blows up cards, is OCCT good?

thumb.gif


.:hybrid:. is offline  
post #30 of 5258 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 04:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
JSTe Level 1
 
JSTe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by .:hybrid:. View Post

What is the best way to test for artifacting on my GPU? I think I am experiencing some, but its very minor. It's really fast, like for 1ms the whole screen will flash white. Blink and you miss it, only happens rarly when playing LoL so far. Not overclocked.

I don't want to use Furmark since I hear it blows up cards, is OCCT good?

Driver issues maybe?

But for testing Unigine Heaven is quite good in my experience, or overclock-picky games like Crysis or DX: Human Revolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by sepiashimmer 

Many people want an Intel IGP which runs a generation of games smoothly at a decent resolution. It is a very complicated issue involving very delicate feelings not worth messing with.
JSTe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off