Do you want UEFI Gop on your 7950/7970? I can add it to your bios!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Do you want UEFI Gop on your 7950/7970? I can add it to your bios!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
liamstears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kent/UK
Posts: 1,226
Rep: 55 (Unique: 44)
After much trial and error I have finally worked out how to add UEFI Gop to a 7950/7970 bios

I tested this because my powercolor 7950 has 2 bios, 1 normal and 1 boost but only boost bios had uefi gop, so after some comparing and some failed attempts I have successfully added uefi gop to my non boost bios!!


So does anyone want to supply me with their bios and I can add uefi gop to it for testing??

My idea with this thread is first some initial testing then if all goes well I will write up a how to so everyone can do it for themselves


So if anyone wants to put their bios on here for me to add uefi gop I will give it a try, please note though to make a back up of your bios before flashing my modded bios and I recommend only those with dual bios to test just in case I will not be the blame for problems and bricked cards so flash at your own risk.


If posting a bios for me to edit please let me know the exact card that the bios has come from (link to the makers website of it if you can) and also let me know the stock core and memory clock. Without this I cannot help




Here are some tested and working bios:


PowerColor 7950 PCS+ Stock Clocks with UEFI (Mod By Me) 800MHz core:
PowerColor 7950 Stock.zip 106k .zip file

PowerColor 7950 PCS+ Boost Clocks with UEFI (Supplied by PowerColor) 925MHz core:
PowerColor 7950 Boost.zip 106k .zip file

Sapphire 7950 11196-00 with UEFI (Mod By Me) 810MHz core:
Removed temporarily for testing

MSI 7970 TFIII with UEFI (Supplied by MSI):
7950.TFIII.UEFI.zip 102k .zip file

MSI 7970 Lightning with UEFI (Supplied by MSI):
170_180.zip 208k .zip file

If you have a Gigabyte card please check the downloads section on the Gigabyte website first as they have a few on there



To Flash Bios:

For full tutorial on how to backup and flash there is a good guide by KaRLiToS here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/tutorial-atiwinflash-how-to-flash-the-bios-of-your-ati-cards



For those wanting to do their own mods please see here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1389206/do-you-want-uefi-gop-on-your-7950-7970-i-can-add-it-to-your-bios/120#post_20172963
liamstears is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
speedytech7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle or Spokane Washington
Posts: 197
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
I have an MSI Radeon 7950 with Twin Frozr III and it is pretty solid as it is, OC of 1200/1575. Will this BIOS increase my overclocking headroom or is it purely to say you can. I haven't really had issues with my BIOS, it is voltage unlocked and everything. Also it is the 7950 PCB (aka boost edition) not the 7970 PCB version. Basically, what can this BIOS mod do for me?

Also my motherboard actually has errors (sometimes boots then hangs or just boots and black screens) booting with my card sometimes, I know UEFI GOP can sometime solve this on motherboards with fastboot and CSM like mine. I'm willing to try anything that will fix this, I do have the dual BIOS switch on my card. Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

"Overclocking is an art... I demand recognition!"
Intel or AMD - Just depends on what you're doing
speedytech7 is offline  
post #3 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
liamstears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kent/UK
Posts: 1,226
Rep: 55 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedytech7 View Post

I have an MSI Radeon 7950 with Twin Frozr III and it is pretty solid as it is, OC of 1200/1575. Will this BIOS increase my overclocking headroom or is it purely to say you can. I haven't really had issues with my BIOS, it is voltage unlocked and everything. Also it is the 7950 PCB (aka boost edition) not the 7970 PCB version. Basically, what can this BIOS mod do for me?

Also my motherboard actually has errors booting with my card sometimes, I know UEFI GOP can sometime solve this on motherboards with fastboot like mine. Sabertooth 990FX R2.0

Basically UEFI Gop will allow you to use the Ultra Fast Boot option on newer motherboards if running Windows 8

This mod will have no ill effects at all to any bios as its only adding extra code to allow UEFI Gop it doesn't modify or remove anything else
liamstears is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
speedytech7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle or Spokane Washington
Posts: 197
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
Okay, I'm willing to give it a try. What program do you suggest I use to pull the BIOS for you. Let me know, I'll do it as soon as I get home.

"Overclocking is an art... I demand recognition!"
Intel or AMD - Just depends on what you're doing
speedytech7 is offline  
post #5 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
liamstears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kent/UK
Posts: 1,226
Rep: 55 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedytech7 View Post

Okay, I'm willing to give it a try. What program do you suggest I use to pull the BIOS for you. Let me know, I'll do it as soon as I get home.

AtiWinflash as you will need that to reflash will work, or GPUZ pulled mine without a hitch
liamstears is offline  
post #6 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
speedytech7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle or Spokane Washington
Posts: 197
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
I read up on UEFI GOP... Pardon my multi posting.... so essentially you are going to take my BIOS and add on the code for the GOP abilities but my BIOS will be otherwise unchanged? Also do you want the BIOS from the switch in position 1 or 2 or both?

"Overclocking is an art... I demand recognition!"
Intel or AMD - Just depends on what you're doing
speedytech7 is offline  
post #7 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
liamstears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kent/UK
Posts: 1,226
Rep: 55 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedytech7 View Post

I read up on UEFI GOP... Pardon my multi posting.... so essentially you are going to take my BIOS and add on the code for the GOP abilities but my BIOS will be otherwise unchanged? Also do you want the BIOS from the switch in position 1 or 2 or both?

Exactly!

Well what is difference between your 2 bios? I guess one is with higher clocks?

Send both if you like but make sure I know which is which and what the stock clocks are for each

Thanks!
liamstears is offline  
post #8 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 05:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ftln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Can you share your technique of adding uefi gop support to bios please ?

Here attached is my stock bios if you can change that would be great -

sapphire7950backupbios.zip 41k .zip file
ftln is offline  
post #9 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
liamstears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kent/UK
Posts: 1,226
Rep: 55 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftln View Post

Can you share your technique of adding uefi gop support to bios please ?

I would like to test more before making a full write up but basically you add uefi to the end of the bios and then change a string in the header to let the bios know the uefi code is there

EDIT: If you supply me a bios I can edit it for you to test then if it works you can hex compare to see the changes...
liamstears is offline  
post #10 of 450 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ftln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by liamstears View Post

I would like to test more before making a full write up but basically you add uefi to the end of the bios and then change a string in the header to let the bios know the uefi code is there

EDIT: If you supply me a bios I can edit it for you to test then if it works you can hex compare to see the changes...

Bios attached 2 post above, are you busy ? I would like to try now if possible smile.gif
ftln is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off