WIP: ASUS 7970 DC2T crossflash to Matrix Project and gen Info thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

WIP: ASUS 7970 DC2T crossflash to Matrix Project and gen Info thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,407
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
I've been working on trying to OC my ASUS 7970 DC2 Top since I first got it, and have seen others having success with cross-flashing to the Matrix bios. I've been working with five Matrix Bios revisions posted at TechPowerUp's ASUS 7970 Video BIOS Collection.

I've been able to flash both bios to my DC2T, but I keep running into errors loading the drivers (only when card is flashed with a Matrix bios). Here is what I've learned so far.

It took me some site to research this info below, so I thought I would share it.

1) I can flash with the bios switch in first or second position (First position is towards the DVI ports and Second position is towards the PCI-E Power), so there is no locked bios on my card as others have reported.

2) Position 1 is for dual link DVI (2560x1400 res and higher) and Position 2 is for single link DVI x2.

3) The bios ending in U2 is for Position one and U3 is for Position two. for example, here are the latest DC2T bios:
6798.15.23.0.2.AS01.U2 is the latest DC2T bios for Position 1 / dual link DVI
6798.15.23.0.2.AS01.U3 is the latest DC2T bios for Position 2 / single link DVI x2

4) There is a UEFI GOP bios for the DC2T reportedly working, but appears to be the U2 / single link DVI x2 variety:
Bios Revision - 6798.15.17.0.1.AS04.U2
File name - Asus.HD7970.3072.120718.rom
Version - 015.017.000.001.000000

5) Again, here you will find the five Matrix bios I tired, in both positions. Just remember which position, or U2/U3 bios version you will need:
Position 1 / dual link DVI, 6798HB.15.23.0.1.AS01.U2
Position 2 / single link DVI x2, 6798HB.15.23.0.1.AS01.U3



6) Now that I've shared this info, I'm hoping other DC2T and maybe some brave DC2 owners might want to give it a try. First back up your original bios! This is easily done with GPU-Z. As for flashing the bios, you can use a bootable USB to DOS flash using ATIflash, or from windows using the command prompt in admin mode, and using winflash to flash your bios. If you break a bios, just boot with the switch in the opposite position, then flip the switch back to the broken bios prior to flashing the backup bios you already created and saved.

KaRLiToS has a nice winflash tutorial
The bios flashing command will be: atiwinflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom

I've got an older tutorial on DOS flashing which includes ATIflash that will help.
The DOS flashing command will be: atiflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom

7) Last, if anyone with a Matrix bios stumbles in here, please post a copy of your card's bios (at least from position 1 / U2). I would like to test a few more bios and see if I can make this crossflash work as others have reported.

Here is one example of it working with a DC2T: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=376491

Bios position switch and what the difference is between the dual link DVI and single link DVI x2:



Useful tools/software
ATIflash courtesy of techPowerUp
make bootable USB (linked above) and at c: type
atiflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom [hit enter]

Winflash courtesy of techPowerUp
flash command after running command prompt as admin:
cd c:\winflash [hit enter]
atiwinflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom [hit enter]

techPowerUp bios for all available ASUS 7970 Cards
Video Bios Collection

ASUS Republic of Gamers
GPU tweak 2.2.14 courtesy of ROG Forums

Update ::May 12 2013::
Here are some "must read" posts in the thread:
1) DJ_OXyGeNe_8's post with winflash package containing Matrix Platinum and Matrix non-Platinum bios (not found on Techpowerup) note the bios already within the winflash folder are matrix.rom and matrixnonp.rom
2) my post showing GPU-Z errors when the bios does not take
3) DJ_OXyGeNe_8's post showing how to unlock extra OCing features in GPU Tweak 2.1.4
4) twisted1's post discussing bios version shipping with Top allowing full voltage control with GPU Tweak 2.1.4
5) twisted1's post showing DC2/DC2T and Matrix PCBs

Update ::May 1 2013:: Had to quote the post::
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_8 View Post

And from experiences what I understand;

Old DCU II and DCU II top with 015.012.00... bios can be unlocked with GPU Tweak 2.2.1.4

New DCU II Top with 015.023.000.. bios can't be unlocked. But with the same bios number DCU II (non top) can be unlocked. With DCU II bios, DCU II Top can be unlocked.

DCU II Top with new bios can turn Matrix, but 1.256V limited.

Update :: May 24 2013 ::
There is now a bios editing tool that works for HD7000 series cards (for more info, jump to post #105)
Quote:
Originally Posted by twisted1 View Post

Ok, finally got around to doing some testing with the Dc2T card.

Tried all Matrix bioses, all does the same thing. Windows wont recognize the card, says displaydriver is not installed. Did it properly with fresh OS install(w7 HomePremium X64 SP1) and complete wipe/clean of AMD drivers. Conclusion, Matrix bioses is a no go on my card. And most likely on other 015.012 cards.

The powercolor vortex bios flashed fine, no problems at all. Except locked voltage in AB/Trixx. Did not try the modded trixx cuz I didn't find it and ran out of patience smile.gif Did try a few different versions of AB/trixx tho.

Modded my stock bios to allow +50 powertarget though. That will help overclocking both mem and GPU to the limit at the same time. You might have noticed that it's hard to max OC both gpu and mem w/o getting stability issues, higher powertarget(in essence higher TDP) should help with that.



http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=183423


Thanks to DJ_OXyGeNe_8 and twisted1 for not just helping me, but for adding considerably to this thread. DC2, DC2 Top, Matrix and Matrix Platinum owners have a lot to gain by reading through this thread because of their help!

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 11:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 173
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hi, I have both a 7970 DC2T and a 7970 DC2. I want to OC the DC2 to match the DC2T if possible. I'm wondering if these BIOS flashing will help that? Also what is the UEFI GOP rom? I have my Windows 8 in efi mode so is that something I should look at? Thanks
Mms60r is offline  
post #3 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,407
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
Edit: I recommend when doing this that you do it with one card installed at a time. it will make the actual bios flashing easier. the tag of "0" (atiwinflash -f -p 0 "NAME of the BIOS".rom) in the flashing code denotes the first card. And go ahead and try the winflash method. it is very straight forward.

Because of the bios switch, you have a "Fail Safe" way of flashing your card's bios. What I recommend you do is try the DC2T bios on your DC2 card and at least get your stock clocks higher. First, backup your bios using GPUZ. You can even make a backup of your DC2T card and flash that bios to your DC2 card to make them match!



Next, if you have the ability, make a backup of your OS. I had a bad Matrix flash break my drivers, and not just my video drivers. So you might also, if you can't make a backup of your OS, uninstall the AMD video card drivers. After the bios flash attempt, run GPU-Z and and verify the card is correctly detected and all info of the card is displayed.

Next, make sure your bios switch on the card is in position 1. Then download and flash the 1100/1400 (the latest DC2 Top) bios from the TechPowerup link. If for some reason, after the boot, the card doesn't work. Power down the system, flip the switch to position 2, and boot to windows. Then with the system up, flip the switch back to position 1 and reflash your stock bios. It will flash to your position 1 bios.

Once you have the card flashed, and it is running, you can try to push the clocks to 1125/1600 (farthest DC2T will go with ASUS' GPU Tweak program) and see if it runs at those speeds. Then, if you feel really lucky, try to flash the Matrix bios. Now I haven't heard anyone attempt it, just a DC2T to Matrix. So I don't know if it will work.

And as always with bios flashing, attempt at your own risk.

As for the UEFI GOP rom, it just allows for faster boot. it didn't work on my card though.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vestal, NY
Posts: 173
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Awesome. Thank you for the help. Exactly the kind of response I was looking for.
Mms60r is offline  
post #5 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,407
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
No worries. I've spent the last 3 days bios flashing my DC2T and learned how to overcome some of the roadblocks, and learned the hard way about driver issues from constant trial and error. But I never had a problem getting back to the original bios. And I learned the symptoms of a functioning yet bad flash. basically if GPU-Z throws an Open CL error, or "0" is displayed on core clock and memory speed, the bios will not work. The card boots and functions, but drivers wont load.

I've learned that not all cards, even the same model, can run all the bios. if you look in the techpowerup database, their are multiple versions of the DC2T bios available. But not all of them will work on your card. And unfortunately for me, none of the Matrix bios would work properly. They all allowed me to boot to windows, but they would not display correctly in GPUZ and would not allow me to load drivers.

Note to any Matrix owners, I would appreciate a copy of your bios to attempt more bios flashing attempts with my DC2T!

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
post #6 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 12:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DJ_OXyGeNe_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 441
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
I already did before... You can find here 2 of them flashed and Corssfire'd and results

check results from here

- - - - - MATRIX BIOS CrossFire 1180Mhz - - - - -

http://forum.donanimhaber.com/m_73980610/tm.htm

For me new one is better. DCU II Top to DCU II and GPU Tweak 2.2.14 (full unlocked voltage)

Mine is stable at

1200Mhz 1.275V
7000Mhz - 1.625V

check this thread

https://www.overclock.net/t/1389860/asus-dcu-ii-7970-top-voltage-totally-unlocked-by-dj-oxygene-8

DJ_OXyGeNe_8 is offline  
post #7 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 12:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DJ_OXyGeNe_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 441
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
and one guy reported; He has original 7970 Top and he can unlock voltage with Gpu Tweak 2.2.14 with original bios. But his bios looks old; 15.12.. etc. Mine was 15.23.... I couldn't flash that bios to my card.

Bluescreen, graphic card driver problem etc... But I can flash Matrix and DCU II - Some guys also can't flash Matrix , I really don't know why.

I did test all bios on Techpowerup - starts with 015.012.000.00..... non of them worked for me.

Mine works with 015.23... Matrix, Matrix Non Platinum, Top, DCU II non top


But full unlocked voltage just with this; I'm able to increase voltage to 1.4V



My switch position - Dual DVI (2560 x 1440) I always use it.

Matrix bios problem is limited @1.256V - So I was stable at 1180Mhz.

DJ_OXyGeNe_8 is offline  
post #8 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,407
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_8 View Post

and one guy reported; He has original 7970 Top and he can unlock voltage with Gpu Tweak 2.2.14 with original bios. But his bios looks old; 15.12.. etc. Mine was 15.23.... I couldn't flash that bios to my card.

My card shipped with the older bios as well:



I might have to try the ASUS GPU tweak. As for flashing to the matrix bios, I don't mind the voltage lock of 1.256v. I'm not looking for high OCs, just a small boost. I know ASC quality is not proven, but my previously RMAed card was 52% and couldn't go much past 1050 core at 1.18v while my current card with ASIC of 70.4% can do 1125 core with 1.18v. So 1.256v should be more than enough for what my OC goals are.

If you can, would you please upload the matrix bios you've tried outside of what TechPowerup has listed? Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_8 View Post

and one guy reported; He has original 7970 Top and he can unlock voltage with Gpu Tweak 2.2.14 with original bios. But his bios looks old; 15.12.. etc. Mine was 15.23.... I couldn't flash that bios to my card.

I just tried this GPU Tweak and it allowed me to adjust voltage. But as noted, my clocks are already maxed with the default voltage. So at this point it doesn't really help. I've seen people using a modified version of Trixx to bump the clock speeds and using GPU tweak to bump the voltage. But I'm looking for a more permanent every-day OC at the bios level.

It looks like some of the older DC2T cards work with the 15.12 bios, but not the Matrix bios. yet the newer cards running 15.23 bios from the factory can run the matrix bios. Note that I was able to run the DC2T 15.23 bios on my card as well.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
post #9 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 02:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DJ_OXyGeNe_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 441
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
I gave a file at my thread , all bioses in it smile.gif

Matrix, Matrix non platinum, 7970Top and DCU II non Top and also Gpu tweak 2.2.14

I did sell my first card, was 1125 stable with 1.170V

My 2nd card (that I'm using now) was stable 1145 Mhz with 1.170V

I could run it 1240Mhz with DCU II non top bios smile.gif

1230Mhz - 6600Mhz



http://p1305.hizliresim.com/19/b/mxcrl.png

1200Mhz - 7000Mhz - 1.275V



http://o1305.hizliresim.com/19/b/mxq6d.png

1240Mhz - 6000Mhz


http://p1305.hizliresim.com/19/c/mywm2.png

And my temp is around 65-70C

With matrix bios never go over 1200 and was stable at 1180

Now 1200 is stable smile.gif

The guy said (who used original bios and Gpu Tweak) he is using 1260 Mhz stable.



you can download this one http://s3.dosya.tc/server5/UzJ5QZ/winflash.rar.html

DJ_OXyGeNe_8 is offline  
post #10 of 204 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
ericeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 17,407
Rep: 2741 (Unique: 1482)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_8 View Post

you can download this one http://s3.dosya.tc/server5/UzJ5QZ/winflash.rar.html

Is the "matrix.rom' different from what is posted at techpowerup? I'll give the matrixnonp.rom a try.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div><span></span><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span><span></span><div class="quote-block"><span>Originally Posted by </span><strong>DuckieHo</strong><span> </span><a href="showthread.php?s=bd8d1313c09af4210eda3f9b5ad 8a046&amp;p=4306551#post4306551"><img alt="go_quote.gif" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a></div><span></span><div><span>Benchmarking is so boring......</span></div><span></span></div><span></span></div><span></span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/229532-essentials-overclocking-680i-nvidia-reference-boards.html">eVGA 680i Overclocking guide</a><span> .......... </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/269840-asus-p5e-x38-thread.html">ASUS P5E/Rampage Formula Thread</a><span>.......... </span><a href="http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=521851" target="_blank">4.4GHz CPU-Z</a><br><br><div style="text-align:center;"><span style="font-size: 12px;"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/426626-official-rog-asus-rampage-formula-x48.html"><span><b>The Official Asus Rampage Formula Club</b></span></a></span></div></div></div>


ericeod is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off