[Official] AMD R9 290X / 290 Owners Club - Page 3396 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 290X / 290 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #33951 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 09:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JourneymanMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,579
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archea47 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneymanMike View Post

Are you using a Reference water block on a Non-Reference card? If so buttkick.gif

It's a 'reference' board and on a couple threads round here I was told it should work. Of course ... in this thread it was also suggested I take some measurements to be sure redface.gif

Don't even try milling the chokes down! You'll end up with junk! doh.gif
JourneymanMike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33952 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goin back to Cali
Posts: 21,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneymanMike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archea47 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneymanMike View Post

Are you using a Reference water block on a Non-Reference card? If so buttkick.gif

It's a 'reference' board and on a couple threads round here I was told it should work. Of course ... in this thread it was also suggested I take some measurements to be sure redface.gif

Don't even try milling the chokes down! You'll end up with junk! doh.gif <<<---


lol, he was referring to milling the block not the inductors.


tsm106 is offline  
post #33953 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DividebyZERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 63 (Unique: 48)
DividebyZERO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #33954 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 11:14 AM
AMDiggity!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,059
Rep: 63 (Unique: 50)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 View Post

lol, he was referring to milling the block not the inductors.

Yep, that's the case smile.gif

I've made some progress but I'm going slow

What I'm not sure about is how much clearance I need between the chokes and the waterblock - will it short if it touches? Copper is obviously conductive but I don't know if current runs through the outer part of the chokes or just the coil inside

Edit: Added picture. Talking a break now, my lady came over to cool my nerves smile.gif

Archea47 is offline  
post #33955 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 12:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JourneymanMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,579
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneymanMike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archea47 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourneymanMike View Post

Are you using a Reference water block on a Non-Reference card? If so buttkick.gif

It's a 'reference' board and on a couple threads round here I was told it should work. Of course ... in this thread it was also suggested I take some measurements to be sure redface.gif

Don't even try milling the chokes down! You'll end up with junk! doh.gif <<<---


lol, he was referring to milling the block not the inductors.

I should read the post from the begging!! doh.gifdoh.gifdoh.gif
JourneymanMike is offline  
post #33956 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JourneymanMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,579
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archea47 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 View Post

lol, he was referring to milling the block not the inductors.

Yep, that's the case smile.gif

I've made some progress but I'm going slow

What I'm not sure about is how much clearance I need between the chokes and the waterblock - will it short if it touches? Copper is obviously conductive but I don't know if current runs through the outer part of the chokes or just the coil inside

Edit: Added picture. Talking a break now, my lady came over to cool my nerves smile.gif


Take a little off and try the fit and so on ...until you get the clearance that you need! Then, just for good measure, if you have enough material, take a couple more .001's thumb.gif
JourneymanMike is offline  
post #33957 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 12:42 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goin back to Cali
Posts: 21,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archea47 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 View Post

lol, he was referring to milling the block not the inductors.

Yep, that's the case smile.gif

I've made some progress but I'm going slow

What I'm not sure about is how much clearance I need between the chokes and the waterblock - will it short if it touches? Copper is obviously conductive but I don't know if current runs through the outer part of the chokes or just the coil inside

Edit: Added picture. Talking a break now, my lady came over to cool my nerves smile.gif



Measure the height the cap is over the inductor. There's your clearance requirement.


tsm106 is offline  
post #33958 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 03:51 PM
New to Overborked.net
 
HOMECINEMA-PC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane 'Straya , Beautiful one day and Flippin HOT the next .....
Posts: 4,844
Rep: 176 (Unique: 113)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabba1977 View Post

I need two of them, so, I want to know if CF is smoother (fcat analysis, frame-peacing, etc, etc) than actual sli of 970 / 980.

I have read many reviews...hardcop, etc, etc.

But I,ll be gratefull if someone can tell me from "first hand", is for playing with one monitor (no g-sync) at 1600p with x79 platform.

Thanks, best regards.
CF runs like one big card 1440p , 1600p and 4k wink.gif
HOMECINEMA-PC is offline  
post #33959 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 04:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nosequeponer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 145
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I run bf4 all max in one r290x at 144p dowscaled to 1080p with no problem and over 60fps
nosequeponer is offline  
post #33960 of 44170 (permalink) Old 01-08-2015, 06:09 PM
AMDiggity!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,059
Rep: 63 (Unique: 50)
First block is done, but I'm hesitant to celebrate on that one as the copper flaked off showing a tiny edge of an o-ring. Should be fine but I'll leak test it overnight and put a little silicone gasket sealant if it doesn't leak

Second block is almost done
Archea47 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off