The R9 290 -> 290X Unlock Thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

The R9 290 -> 290X Unlock Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
basco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
used the one from kinpincool it says 4.17 and you have to rename it to atiflash

we only have one world
basco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
muhd86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
i have ordered 3 sapphire gpus ---wil be geting them max monday or tuesday so will post here if i am able to unlock them with the method speciified --

the mauler rev 4.0
muhd86 is offline  
post #13 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 29
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by basco View Post

dont want to hijack this thread but could you take a look at my prob here:
https://www.overclock.net/t/1442692/vc-powercolor-radeon-r9-290-unlocked-into-r9-290x/350#post_21203293

for some odd reason cant get atiflash -force command going.

thanx a lot

Copy the rom to the usb and then rename it to asus.rom and flash away.

Atiflash -p -f 0 asus.rom

CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.5Ghz 1.3V (delidded) MB: Asrock Z97E-ITX/AC GPU: Watercooled Inno3D GTX 980 Ti @1500/2000Mhz RAM: 16Gb Corsair Dominator @ 2000Mhz PSU: Coolermaster V700 700w CASE: Bitfenix Prodigy WC: Laing DDC 3.25, EK-CoolStream 120 XT + 240 PE + EK Vardar 2250RPM, Phobya Xtreme 200mm + Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm, EK Titan X full GPU-block, EK Supremacy EVO CPU-block
Toss3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Never Finished
 
airisom2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Within the Milky Way
Posts: 2,125
Rep: 272 (Unique: 209)
Quote:
Originally Posted by R35ervoirFox View Post

atiflash 4.07 won't work, you need aitflash 4.17.

My sapphire 290 booted with blank screen with both asus and sapphire 290x bioses, so couldn't see if the unlocked laughingsmiley.gif

Thanks. Updated OP.

1680 V2 4.5GHz 1.33v | G.Skill Trident X 4X4GB 2400MHz | R4BE | Titan Xp + Morpheus II
Wasabi Mango UHD550 | Rosewill Rise | Thermalright LGM RT
Logitech G600 | G440 | Tt Meka G-Unit Cherry MX Black+Double O-Rings
JBL LSR308s | Temblor T10 | Custom headphones | TEAC-UD501+Passive Preamp | Emotiva BasX A-100
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB | 51TB DAS | SS Prime Ultra Titanium 1KW
airisom2 is offline  
post #15 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
basco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
thx toss3 but if i start with -f =invalid command
cant find the force command.
bios is same as on tpu databse.
i really tried a lot before posting here but this drives me crazy

we only have one world
basco is offline  
post #16 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 29
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by basco View Post

thx toss3 but if i start with -f =invalid command
cant find the force command.
bios is same as on tpu databse.
i really tried a lot before posting here but this drives me crazy

don't start with the -f, but atiflash -p -f 0 asus.rom.

Here's a guide: CLICK

CPU: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.5Ghz 1.3V (delidded) MB: Asrock Z97E-ITX/AC GPU: Watercooled Inno3D GTX 980 Ti @1500/2000Mhz RAM: 16Gb Corsair Dominator @ 2000Mhz PSU: Coolermaster V700 700w CASE: Bitfenix Prodigy WC: Laing DDC 3.25, EK-CoolStream 120 XT + 240 PE + EK Vardar 2250RPM, Phobya Xtreme 200mm + Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm, EK Titan X full GPU-block, EK Supremacy EVO CPU-block
Toss3 is offline  
post #17 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
basco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
used this guide and from kingpin and pcghx
all same
3 weeks before flashed my asus 7950cu no prob

we only have one world
basco is offline  
post #18 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 01:59 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 7,823
Rep: 711 (Unique: 516)

Looks like so far, only cards to have unlocked are PowerColor and XFX cards (and 1 Sapphire card).

youra6 is offline  
post #19 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 02:24 PM
GPU Enthusiast
 
rv8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,531
Rep: 200 (Unique: 147)
No success on a sapphire 290 here, I've tried asus, powercolor, and sapphire 290x bioses no luck with any of them. Seems to be a luck thing until more data comes in.

Steins Gate
(16 items)
CPU
3700X
Motherboard
ASUS CH8 WiFi
GPU
EVGA 2080S FTW3
RAM
2x8GB DDR4 3200 c14 @ 3800 C16 1T
Hard Drive
960 Evo
Hard Drive
850 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 360
Case
Fractal Design S2
Monitor
Acer ed323qur
Keyboard
CM MK730
Mouse
G703
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Polk tsi 100
Audio
HD518
Audio
Denon PMA-60
▲ hide details ▲
rv8000 is offline  
post #20 of 4158 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 02:51 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ontariotl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 297
Rep: 29 (Unique: 22)
It certainly looks like a big crap shoot to get one that will flash with the extra shaders and TMU's. I am certainly curious to see how many actual XFX 290 cards will flash properly.

I'm wondering if we should post where we bought our cards as well? Maybe its a certain shipment as even some XFX wont flash for some of the members here. Just makes me wonder where they bought their card. I really can't see that I would be so lucky to flash 2 of them and hit the jackpot (with exception of a great overclock as some others have seen).

I got mine from Newegg.ca online and they were shipped from L.A.
ontariotl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off