Bluescreen error 0xa0000001 with amd 290x - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Bluescreen error 0xa0000001 with amd 290x

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mattriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
best fix so far...
(Went 1 month witout bluscreen) Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Step 1: Download and install the latest ati graphic driver.AND DONT TURN OFF OR RESTART YOUR COMPUTER AFTER INSTALLATION

Step 2: Then go to C:\Windows\System32\Drivers and rename atikmdag.sys to atikmdag.sys.old.

Step 3: Go to ati directory (usually in C:\ATI) and find the file atikmdag.sy_.

Step 4: Copy the file to your Desktop directory.

Step 5: Open cmd.exe by going to Start -> type cmd in the search box and hit enter.

Step 6: Change the directory to Desktop by typing chdir Desktop.

Step 7: Then, type EXPAND.EXE atikmdag.sy_ atikmdag.sys. Or,

expand -r atikmdag.sy_ atikmdag.sys

Step 8: When the expansion is complete, copy the new atikmdag.sys from your Desktop to

C:\Windows\System32\Drivers

Step 9: Restart your computer and the problem should be resolved.

I have gotten this bluescreen (0xa0000001) 4-5 times since i got the card (3 weeks ago) and i have tried reinstalling the gpu drivers like this and with GPU sweeper, but still no luck. the bluescreen comes randomly. It have not happen while playing games. Mostly when im just using windows or watching a movie. Also some times i get a windows error without bluescreening:


Im running the GPU in stock settings and the CPU on a stable 4.2GHz overclock.

My temps are not the problem, since all the bluescreens have happen idle, here are some idle screenshots. but my temps under load does not go very high either. playing games it never goes above 80 on the gpu. and i havnt checked the cpu temps when playing, but under prime95 they are under between 70-75


CPU temps just in case.



System:


My PSU seems not to be the problem, since it have gotten nice scores on reviews and i have calculated that im using around 662W (i have 750)


(may be some small errors, like which SSD type, which cd-rom and RAM. Please correct me here if im wrong.)


bluescreen file:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/gjj38p
other times i have gotten the error with atikmdag.sys

Troubleshooting done after the first bluescreen: 2.april
-Reinstalled drivers
-Disabled Hardware Acceleration
-Disabled Powerplay in msi afterburner
-Lowered the CPU overclock from 4.2 to 4.0
-Disabled ULPS in msi afterbruner

Troubleshooting done after the second bluescreen: 13.april
-increased power limit to +25

Troubleshooting done after the first redscreen: 17.april
-Installed the 14.4 driver while doing this (22.april)

Mattriz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 07:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,191
Rep: 858 (Unique: 627)
see post#2 . . .

https://www.overclock.net/t/1265543/the-amd-how-to-thread

prolly just disabling Hardware Acceleration might fix your issue. Rightclcik the video>Settings>Uncheck Hardware Acceleration if enabled.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mattriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post

see post#2 . . .

https://www.overclock.net/t/1265543/the-amd-how-to-thread

prolly just disabling Hardware Acceleration might fix your issue. Rightclcik the video>Settings>Uncheck Hardware Acceleration if enabled.
Thanks, i have disabled Hardware Acceleration. Hard to see if it accutaly changes anything since the bluescreens doesnt happen often.

What exactly were you referring to in post 2?

Mattriz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,191
Rep: 858 (Unique: 627)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattriz View Post

Thanks, i have disabled Hardware Acceleration. Hard to see if it accutaly changes anything since the bluescreens doesnt happen often.

What exactly were you referring to in post 2?

Issues with Firefox. you might be using it.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mattriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post

Issues with Firefox. you might be using it.
Im using Chrome.

Do you know about any other troubleshooting i can do?

Mattriz is offline  
post #6 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 04:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,191
Rep: 858 (Unique: 627)
if you are using 14.3 driver i would recommend reverting back to 13.12. here is what you do (if you want) . . .

1. Download 13.12
2. Run it to Uninstall current driver, It will ask you to delete all folders and just choose yes, then reboot
3. Run 13.12 again and this time Install it. Use Express, then reboot.
4. You can go to msconfig and disable CCC and raptr (if present) if you like.

I also suggest lowering your cpu oc to 4GHz or keep it at 4.2 and turn off HT. It could be the psu that is giving you problems. not sure.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows 8.1 - 64

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mattriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post

if you are using 14.3 driver i would recommend reverting back to 13.12. here is what you do (if you want) . . .

1. Download 13.12
2. Run it to Uninstall current driver, It will ask you to delete all folders and just choose yes, then reboot
3. Run 13.12 again and this time Install it. Use Express, then reboot.
4. You can go to msconfig and disable CCC and raptr (if present) if you like.

I also suggest lowering your cpu oc to 4GHz or keep it at 4.2 and turn off HT. It could be the psu that is giving you problems. not sure.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows 8.1 - 64
The 13.12 driver also gave me bluescreen a week ago, thats when i updated to 14.3. Even with CCC not installed i have gotten the same bluescreen.

I lowered the CPU to 4.0.

But as previously mentioned, its hard to say if any of these changes help, since the bluescreens happens so rarely.

Mattriz is offline  
post #8 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-03-2014, 01:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DrDead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I had the exact same BSOD's with my xfx 290 3-5 times a day before i flashed it with the PT1 bios. It seems like the cards doesn't like to be down clocked too low in idle and the PT1 stops the card from down clocking at all. Helped for me so far (about a month now). Not a single BSOD and currently running 14.3 beta.

Link to the PT1: https://www.overclock.net/attachments/18264

All info about flashing can be found in this thread: https://www.overclock.net/t/1443242/the-r9-290-290x-unlock-thread

cheers! cheers.gif
DrDead is offline  
post #9 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-04-2014, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Mattriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDead View Post

I had the exact same BSOD's with my xfx 290 3-5 times a day before i flashed it with the PT1 bios. It seems like the cards doesn't like to be down clocked too low in idle and the PT1 stops the card from down clocking at all. Helped for me so far (about a month now). Not a single BSOD and currently running 14.3 beta.

Link to the PT1: https://www.overclock.net/attachments/18264

All info about flashing can be found in this thread: https://www.overclock.net/t/1443242/the-r9-290-290x-unlock-thread


cheers! cheers.gif
Thanks, but i dont think i will do this before the bluescreens becomes a regular problem.

Got this respond from AMD when i sendt this forum post to them:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Your problem occurs when the Timeout Detection and Recovery (TDR) detects that the graphics card (GPU) has not responded within a predetermined period of time and reinitializes it with the Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) to prevent the need to reboot. There is no single cause for a TDR event to be triggered. Thus we need patience to resolve the problem. Now I provide some methods and hope they may help.

Please remove existing graphic drivers completely using third party tool driver sweeper before installing your new driver. You can down Driver Fusion by this link.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/mg/getmirror/driver_fusion_(driver_sweeper),1.html

Before beginning the uninstall/reinstallation process, please run Windows Update to ensure that there are no outstanding recommended/required updates, especially updates for the .Net or C++ frameworks, or Service Pack updates. This will ensure that our software will run properly. You may need to run Windows Update and restart multiple times, as certain updates will not appear in the list of updates until certain previous updates have been installed first.
Please keep in mind that Driver Fusion is in no associate or maintained by AMD and is used at the user’s discretion.

II. Run Driver Fusion and select all of the ATI filters then start.

III. Restart the computer when it finished.

Download and install the 14.3 beta driver. These two links may help.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows 7 - 64

If the problem persists, I would like to provide a link to you which makes it easier for you to understand the problem and give you clear instructions on troubleshooting, you can click on this link.http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-27116RadeonSeries-ATIKMDAGhasstoppedrespondingerrormessages.aspx

If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reply to this e-mail directly and I will try to provide any additional information that you may require. Thank you for contacting AMD!



In order to update this service request, please respond, leaving the service request reference intact.

Best regards,

AMD Global Customer Care

Nothing new, as i already have tried using driver fusion and windows is up to date.

Mattriz is offline  
post #10 of 91 (permalink) Old 04-04-2014, 01:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Forceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,870
Rep: 794 (Unique: 514)
Have you tried disabling ULPS in Afterburner? I was getting idle lockups when ULPS was enabled.

Forceman's Law: Any AMD/Nvidia GPU thread, no matter what the topic, will eventually include a post referencing the GTX 970.
Forceman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off