Weird gpu Glitch and pc doesnt turn on while gpu is properly seated. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Weird gpu Glitch and pc doesnt turn on while gpu is properly seated.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
An4rk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Hello guys , today i had a weird day, i was unplugging usb ports, and suddenly my pc just shut off.
and there were no signs of life until i removed the gpu, my pc wouldnt boot on.
i've got it to boot by mounting the gpu a little bit sideways

(the screw holes are 1mm up from the case) ive tried different ports, different ways to plug it in, with and without the power cable everything it can only boot like that. the thing is as im typing im running this weird gpu placement, it works fine other than dxdiag says weird things:


wasnt a sample before




ive tried replugging the usb devices the way they were.

So now the question do i buy a new mobo or do i buy a new gpu????

An4rk1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 07:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mfknjadagr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 3,720
Rep: 96 (Unique: 70)
That's odd....have you tried reflashing the bios on your card by chance...seems like a lot of variables...perhaps grounding....bad slot...card trying to bite the dust...corrupted bios....so many possibilities...a lot of odd thing with that screenshot too...5.5gb memory...gibberish driver and name...driver version is funky

mfknjadagr8 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-21-2015, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
An4rk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 51
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfknjadagr8 View Post

That's odd....have you tried reflashing the bios on your card by chance...

nope, and if you can judge by the dust layer in the first photo i haven't opened the case in quite a while

also it has always shown 6gb of memory

Also have tried to benchmark Tomb Raider Game and it hasn't shown increase or decrease in frames


tried to reinstall the driver and it said that it has failed to load identification driver

An4rk1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off