[Official] AMD R9 Radeon FURY / NANO / X / Pro DUO FIJI Owners Club - Page 514 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 Radeon FURY / NANO / X / Pro DUO FIJI Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 04:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Otterfluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 114
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Yes it's when it's at 0ohm the pot starts clicking once I have rotated it all the way.

I was playing around with crossfire and the main card's voltage is stable at whatever you set it at if your running crossfire, during loading and when it's actually at work. No dips, same voltage between 3dMark tests. Now I really want to solder in the volt mods for the second card biggrin.gif

Maybe I should try over-clocking the main card under crossfire while leaving the slave at stock and testing that way?
Otterfluff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 05:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Otterfluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 114
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Ok so the crossfire made a huge difference with the stable voltage, it has let me hit 1180Mhz core @ 1.32V and 630Mhz HBM with no crashes and no artifacts. Crazy that a single card cant manage this but if you crossfire it eliminates the voltage dip problems.

I may be able to hit 1190 but it's a bit of a hit and miss, at least with a stable voltage I might eventually find a sweet spot.

I wonder if the slave voltage would act similarly.
Otterfluff is offline  
post #5133 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gamedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
* Will AMD release a BIOS flash that will O.C. their HBM GPU's? Or will it be availlable in their new software suite for O.C.
Gamedaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5134 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 06:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
buildzoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 287
Rep: 38 (Unique: 23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamedaz View Post

* Will AMD release a BIOS flash that will O.C. their HBM GPU's? Or will it be availlable in their new software suite for O.C.

For voltage we just need new software no need for a special BIOS. It's not even the HBM's fault it's the new power management on the Fiji cards that make voltage control problematic.

Keep Calm and Raise Vcore

3960X 4.8Ghz 1.45V | 4x4GB RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34-2T | Rampage IV Extreme | R9 Fury Tri-X 1145/570 1.3V core | Cooler Master V1000
buildzoid is offline  
post #5135 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 06:51 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
@Buildzoid

Right been pressing ahead with R9 285 / 380 ROM PP compare, saw something in them that made me go back to Fury / FuryX wink.gif .

I present GPU Frequency per DPM.
Latest marked Fury PowePlay Table (Click to show)

Now you may recall in post 5123 a table I posted regarding Hawaii. Now if you ref the frequencies I've marked in image above, when you set those you will see default EVV for that GPU frequency.

At present this is how the Hawaii bios modders find DPM 1 - 6 voltage and they use the drooped VDDC value as a ref to set it manually how they require it. Once set manually you rerun the same app again and assess if you need to readjust.

The other benefit of these GPU frequencies for Hawaii is you can set a differing GPU frequency to gain better performance per DPM. In factory OC roms for Hawaii they set these as % of DPM 7 GPU freq (ref hawaii bios modding thread heading Making OC bios like factory pre OC'd card/rom).

One member even went as far as making them the same as highest state, due to his particular requirement.
MAX Clock per DPM mod (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownm View Post

Question!

Could I set the BIOS to always run 3d clocks even when idle on desktop?

Same idea like K-boost for Nvidia. Enable K-boost ran my 660 ti in full speed no matter what I was doing, Yes I don't care about temps and power saving... I would love to have both my AMD cards running 3d clocks all the time instead of downclocking


Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownm View Post

I wanted to share how awesome having stock clocks as idle.

Playing Counter Strike Source with a friend in Zombie Mod server. Normally the top GPU would run 500-800Mhz depending on frame rate which is capped at 120fps. However I would get dips down to 70-80fps when 30-40 people are shooting at once (unlimited ammo).

Now that idle clocks are full stock clocks, CSS is forced to run 1040Mhz on top GPU and I've never hit under 120fps even in the same place (40 people shooting at once).


Owning 660 Ti SLi I had the exact same issue with CSS. Core would downclock to the framerate and cause the game to run slower than it should and after enabling K-boost in EVGA I always had steady framerate.
gupsterg is offline  
post #5136 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 07:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xer0h0ur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,534
Rep: 94 (Unique: 72)
Hard mods go flying way over my head but its interesting to read what you guys are doing. What a time to be alive!

Alienware Aurora R4 ALX | Intel Core i7 4960X @ 4.5 GHz | 16GB 4x4 2133MHz EVGA quad channel kit | Nvidia FE RTX 2080 Ti w/ Nickel+Plexi EKWB and black backplate | OCZ ZX1250W PSU | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro + 256GB Micron M550 SSDs | 8TB Toshiba X300 | EK-DBAY pump/res | 360mm Alphacool NexXxos Monsta rad | x64 Windows 7 Ultimate | Samsung U28D590D 4K @ 60Hz | BenQ XL2730Z 1440p @ 144Hz
xer0h0ur is offline  
post #5137 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 08:27 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Hard mods are out of my league as well redface.gif , that's what got me into the soft mod for Hawaii. There are distinct benefits of both but the soft mod is way more accessible to the masses once tested, both together also enhance OC'ing.

Soft mod can also be very powerful, for example the Stilt for mining roms did :-
Quote:
- Elpida B-die performance issue fixed by rewriting the timings and the MC straps correctly.
- Hynix Gemma-die performance improved by rewriting the timings and the MC straps correctly.
- Enhanced the VRM configuration, yielding >5% improvement in VRM efficiency on the medium leaking test samples.
- 50% of the RBs (ROP) shedded, one array (16) from each of the SHs (0/1) to improve the power and the thermal.

DO feel a little alone at it at present redface.gif , originally when the Hawaii bios modding thing started on Guru3D there were 3 of us going at it hard IMO. There were also many testing and reporting their results, some sharing their own experience of a mod they tried and failed or worked, which helped things a long a lot. It was a great thread to be part of.

I was hoping someone (besides buildzoid) would come forward to try things and help me looking at PP table as well.

The Hawaii bios reader was such a benefit also, after its conception, which @Oneb1t & @DDSZ did.

This allowed some quick reading of various roms, there was more variation between some roms due to some cards being custom PCB. This variation did also aid marking values, marking/comparing them manually how I'm doing now (and we were doing at first then) is very time consuming. Hawaii reader can be updated IMO to include Fuji support, it's open source code (link to the repository).
gupsterg is offline  
post #5138 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 09:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
1190 at 1.35v huh?

That's a shame....


I haven't had an ati(amd) based GPU clock as badly as my fury since my x1800xl in 05 or so, that only did 45mhz OC... THIS card does 1060mhz 4k game stable... Needs voltage for sure, but still...

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
post #5139 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 10:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gamedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by buildzoid View Post

For voltage we just need new software no need for a special BIOS. It's not even the HBM's fault it's the new power management on the Fiji cards that make voltage control problematic.

* Would AMD release the voltage limits in the new Driver software release within their utility. That would make sense since the software is O.C capable from what I've read etc.
Gamedaz is offline  
post #5140 of 11683 (permalink) Old 11-07-2015, 10:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Otterfluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 114
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Smith1984 View Post

1190 at 1.35v huh?

That's a shame....


I haven't had an ati(amd) based GPU clock as badly as my fury since my x1800xl in 05 or so, that only did 45mhz OC... THIS card does 1060mhz 4k game stable... Needs voltage for sure, but still...

It is just one card, maybe my second will OC better, have to wait for me to volt mod and compare it. I am skeptical I can get better on another but anythings possible with the silicone lottery?
Otterfluff is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off