[Official] AMD R9 Radeon FURY / NANO / X / Pro DUO FIJI Owners Club - Page 644 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 Radeon FURY / NANO / X / Pro DUO FIJI Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6431 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sugarhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 38.051289,23.709791
Posts: 9,327
Rep: 564 (Unique: 287)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

If the temperature is below the throttling temperature (75°C) and the power draw stays below the TDP (270W, PowerTune / Power Control @ 0%), it is definitely a driver issue and not directly related to PowerTune or PowerPlay. Disabling PowerPlay is definitely not the correct approach to solve it, since it will mess up the power management completely.

Its a driver issue for years. The past years the method to avoid this problem was:

Disable powerplay
Then you set 2 profiles. A 2d one and a 3d one.
The 2d one is the default clocks of your gpu via the bios.
The 3d one most of the times was the default clocks of your gpu +1 mhz
Manual change from 3d clocks to 2d with AB

A pain in the ...

This was the perfect way for the 7970 to achieve 3d clocks all the time without trottling. But with 290x and fury it seems they changed the powerplay or something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiG StroOnZ
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
No I said if Vega is clocked @ 1600MHz out of the box, I will eat my shoe on Twitch.tv.

Sound good? wink.gif
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juicin View Post
Not in games, which is what 99.9999 percent of us care about

And unless you own a business, you get paid for your time. So your compute power just makes more work for you not less

Ryzen is a joke to the vast majority of the market who would consider buying their product.
sugarhell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6432 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 311
Rep: 24 (Unique: 11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarhell View Post

Disable powerplay
The current afterburner version doesn't support that for fury cards yet..Unwinder to the rescue! biggrin.gif
Semel is offline  
post #6433 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Stock
 
hyp36rmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3,712
Rep: 144 (Unique: 122)

Price drop on the Nano to $499! mighty tempting for two


hyp36rmax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6434 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 11:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,535
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Is anyone here running out of graphics memory. I haven't done yet... but seems to be going very close.

With BF4, playing at 2560x1440, with all ultra 2 x AA, i'm using ~3.6gb GPU memory.

Doesn't bode well for 4k or new games frown.gif

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #6435 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 02:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Noirgheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 295
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
My question is, how did reviewers test Crimson without downclocking?

EDIT: lol vsync was off
Noirgheos is offline  
post #6436 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 02:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Noirgheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 295
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98uk View Post

Is anyone here running out of graphics memory. I haven't done yet... but seems to be going very close.

With BF4, playing at 2560x1440, with all ultra 2 x AA, i'm using ~3.6gb GPU memory.

Doesn't bode well for 4k or new games frown.gif

What kind of FPS do you get with those settings on your Fury?
Noirgheos is offline  
post #6437 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 03:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,535
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noirgheos View Post

What kind of FPS do you get with those settings on your Fury?

Between 70-120 depending on the map and what's going on

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #6438 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 07:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Someone try this and see if it makes any difference on the downclocking issue. The bios has only two SCLK states (instead of eight) so in theory it should address it, unless it is a hardware related issue (power or thermal related throttling). It might cause some undefined behavior during UVD or VCE, but that´s what I´m looking you guys to find out. In case there is a issue with the bios (no picture, restart while loading the display driver, etc) you can recover by using the second bios (primary / secondary).

The bios is intended for Fury X MBA (113-C8800100-103) board. AFAIK there is currently only a single version available, so it should be the correct one regardless of the ODM or the age of the card.

FuryXLCB2.zip 102k .zip file

If anyone tries it, please report the changes in behavior, issues, improvements, etc.
Attached Files
File Type: zip FuryXLCB2.zip (102.2 KB, 39 views)
The Stilt is offline  
post #6439 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 07:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Noirgheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 295
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98uk View Post

Between 70-120 depending on the map and what's going on

Thats insane! I sometimes drop below 60FPS at 1080p! Only in certain areas though. Like spikes. But damn. What the hell is wrong with my PC? My CPU can't bottleneck it, its a 4790K. Is running 15.11.1 CCC instead of Crimson really limiting me that much?
Noirgheos is offline  
post #6440 of 11676 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 12:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,535
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noirgheos View Post

Thats insane! I sometimes drop below 60FPS at 1080p! Only in certain areas though. Like spikes. But damn. What the hell is wrong with my PC? My CPU can't bottleneck it, its a 4790K. Is running 15.11.1 CCC instead of Crimson really limiting me that much?

I'm using Crimson 15.12 with a stock 4770k. You might want to also check your RAM is fast enough, I was using 1600mhz before and that held me back massively.



Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off