Problem with Display port connection "blinking" monitor to a black screen and then back to normal - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Problem with Display port connection "blinking" monitor to a black screen and then back to normal

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-15-2015, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
I've been having problems where display port "blinks" on and off. Basically it's not that the monitor loses power or anything, It just cuts to a black screen then cuts back. Not long enough for it to say signal lost. I can do HDMI from either video card to my Dell P2715Q and it works fine. DP exhibits this issue when plugged in to either video card, I disabled crossfire to use the outputs of both cards.

What I've done so far: in no particular order

Replaced DP cable

Got a replacement monitor from dell

Tried DP output of both R9 290x

Reinstalled video drivers with the latest AMD beta using DDU atleast 3x, these drivers had worked fine since gta V came out until recently.

Ran sfc /scannow on winwdows 8.1 It found some corrupted files but I fixed them with the DISM tool.

The problem persists.

Do I possibly need to just nuke this windows install and try over? Very odd to me that hdmi has 0 issues.



My system right now is a 5820k w/ a msi x99 mobo and 4x4gb of ddr4

2x R9 290x

CM v1000 psu

HardwareDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
still having this issue, Ive tried everything I can think of, need some ideas.

HardwareDecoder is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 03:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ludus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rome
Posts: 62
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDecoder View Post

still having this issue, Ive tried everything I can think of, need some ideas.

i had the same problem and it's the cable. you should buy one with 19 pin (the 20th isn't connect). this solve all your issue.

take a look (for example)
http://www.startech.com/Cables/Audio-Video/DisplayPort/displayport-cable-10ft-certified~DISPLPORT10L

this has just 19 pin connected and is right for our monitors/vga.
Ludus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludus View Post

i had the same problem and it's the cable. you should buy one with 19 pin (the 20th isn't connect). this solve all your issue.

take a look (for example)
http://www.startech.com/Cables/Audio-Video/DisplayPort/displayport-cable-10ft-certified~DISPLPORT10L

this has just 19 pin connected and is right for our monitors/vga.

Im not sure what that means? I was having this issue with the DP > Mini dp that came w/ the monitor (after 6 months) and my replacement DP > DP cable from amazon


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005H3Q5E0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

HardwareDecoder is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DividebyZERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 63 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDecoder View Post

Im not sure what that means? I was having this issue with the DP > Mini dp that came w/ the monitor (after 6 months) and my replacement DP > DP cable from amazon


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005H3Q5E0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

is this issue happening at stock clocks with GPUs?
DividebyZERO is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 11:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ludus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Rome
Posts: 62
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDecoder View Post

Im not sure what that means? I was having this issue with the DP > Mini dp that came w/ the monitor (after 6 months) and my replacement DP > DP cable from amazon


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005H3Q5E0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33998432
Ludus is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-18-2015, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DividebyZERO View Post

is this issue happening at stock clocks with GPUs?

yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludus View Post

i had the same problem and it's the cable. you should buy one with 19 pin (the 20th isn't connect). this solve all your issue.

take a look (for example)
http://www.startech.com/Cables/Audio-Video/DisplayPort/displayport-cable-10ft-certified~DISPLPORT10L

this has just 19 pin connected and is right for our monitors/vga.

well I had ordered that cable I linked before and I was having the same issue, so I got around to trying the mini-dp > full dp cable they sent with my replacement monitor and I haven't had the issue since then... Maybe this monitor is very particular with cables.. I really don't know though.

HardwareDecoder is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-27-2015, 11:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DrNo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Same here with two sets of 2x Asus PB248Q.

First set is connected to a Nvidia GTX 750 and shows the blinking / blackouts. As the card only offers one DVI I bought two mini DP to DVI cables which solved the problem. So I am using the mini DP on the Nvidia card and connected to DVI on the monitor side.

On the second set of 2x PB28Q I also had problems while the GPU was a AMD HD7950. I switched to DVI and HDMI there.

Unfortunately this means losing a possible audio connection that comes with DP.
DrNo123 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-03-2016, 11:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fore1gn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I have a very similar issue. My g2460pf was absolutely fine, but after I moved the dp started flickering. When i quickly move the mouse or click on something it flickers, goes black, thinks for a few and comes back. Doing this enough times loses the connection. Tried replacimg the cable with the official one that came with the monitor, no difference. Hdmi works perfectly.

My guess is the dp got damaged? Both the pc and the monitor were tightly packed into boxes and not shaken etc (moved them myself). Going to try to reinstall drivers and get a dp-hdmi switch to find which port doesn't work, the gpu's or rhe monitor's.
fore1gn is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-10-2017, 11:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dialapro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I have the exact same issue. HDMI is fine, the Display port screen cuts of and on. Using a acer 4k screen. It has happend to 3 cables.
Dialapro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off