Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 255 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2541 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
I have probably about 30 or so dumps of registers via AiDA64, various Hawaii/Grenada cards plus Fiji. In each VID per DPM is how it should be, ie progressively getting higher per DPM.

The only time I have noticed a situation similar to how BanzaixD has posted is if a member has been applying an OC via SW and then not reboot, etc after resetting to stock.

As I have no Hawaii cards here's Fiji dumps.

Fury X Stock ROM (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  724 MHz, VID = 0.93700 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  892 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM4: GPUClock =  944 MHz, VID = 1.05000 V
DPM5: GPUClock =  984 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1018 MHz, VID = 1.14300 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1050 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
Fury X Stock ROM with 1100MHz GPU applied via MSI AB (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  753 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  928 MHz, VID = 1.05000 V
DPM4: GPUClock =  982 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1023 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1059 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1100 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
Fury X Stock ROM with 1150MHz GPU applied via MSI AB (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  789 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  972 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 1029 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1073 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1110 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1150 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V

In last two cases only GPU clock was raised via MSI AB, nothing else changed. The further I OC from stock GPU DPM 7 via MSI AB, more of the lower dpm registers in AIDA64 show clock/vid changes.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2542 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 05:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BanzaixD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

I have probably about 30 or so dumps of registers via AiDA64, various Hawaii/Grenada cards plus Fiji. In each VID per DPM is how it should be, ie progressively getting higher per DPM.

The only time I have noticed a situation similar to how BanzaixD has posted is if a member has been applying an OC via SW and then not reboot, etc after resetting to stock.

As I have no Hawaii cards here's Fiji dumps.

Fury X Stock ROM (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  724 MHz, VID = 0.93700 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  892 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM4: GPUClock =  944 MHz, VID = 1.05000 V
DPM5: GPUClock =  984 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1018 MHz, VID = 1.14300 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1050 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
Fury X Stock ROM with 1100MHz GPU applied via MSI AB (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  753 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  928 MHz, VID = 1.05000 V
DPM4: GPUClock =  982 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1023 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1059 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1100 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
Fury X Stock ROM with 1150MHz GPU applied via MSI AB (Click to show)
Code:
------[ GPU PStates List ]------

DPM0: GPUClock =  300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock =  512 MHz, VID = 0.93100 V
DPM2: GPUClock =  789 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM3: GPUClock =  972 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 1029 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 1073 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1110 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1150 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V

In last two cases only GPU clock was raised via MSI AB, nothing else changed. The further I OC from stock GPU DPM 7 via MSI AB, more of the lower dpm registers in AIDA64 show clock/vid changes.

I know that it seems weird, but I can assure that all those values are taken with everything at stock:



This screen has been taken from my pc after a cold boot, with no automatic oc profiles on windows loading (never had one), and with just the minimal programs on background. Maybe there are others sw issues I'm not aware of, but since I've found the exact same issue on many other dumps I think it can only be related to the latest driver releases or to AIDA (maybe a bug?).
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

I haven't looked at the values displayed by AIDA (if they're even correct), however that kind of configuration is impossible at stock settings (the DPM leakage bins are linear). Post the original bios those values came from so I can have a look. Usually if the PP is misconfigured the wrong DPMs just won't activate, no real issues.

Thank you very much Stilt smile.gif Here's my stock untouched bios image dumped with GPU-Z

Hawaii.zip 98k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Hawaii.zip (97.8 KB, 4 views)
BanzaixD is offline  
post #2543 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 05:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gungstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 118
Rep: 21 (Unique: 11)
aida64 shows same thing on Asus 290dc2oc with stock bios: dpm0-993, dpm1-1175, dpm2-1156...
and for Sapphire 390 Nitro: (Click to show)
DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V
DPM1: GPUClock = 500 MHz, VID = 0.96200 V
DPM2: GPUClock = 698 MHz, VID = 0.98100 V
DPM3: GPUClock = 858 MHz, VID = 1.07500 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 899 MHz, VID = 1.10600 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 935 MHz, VID = 1.14300 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 969 MHz, VID = 1.18100 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, VID = 1.26200 V
gungstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2544 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 06:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,589
Rep: 864 (Unique: 331)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BanzaixD View Post

I know that it seems weird, but I can assure that all those values are taken with everything at stock:



This screen has been taken from my pc after a cold boot, with no automatic oc profiles on windows loading (never had one), and with just the minimal programs on background. Maybe there are others sw issues I'm not aware of, but since I've found the exact same issue on many other dumps I think it can only be related to the latest driver releases or to AIDA (maybe a bug?).
Thank you very much Stilt smile.gif Here's my stock untouched bios image dumped with GPU-Z

Hawaii.zip 98k .zip file

I think you're seeing an anomaly caused by the leakage of your ASIC. Your "ASIC quality" is pretty low, yes?

The Hawaii PROs have a flat spot in their leakage binning for ultra low leakage ASICs. For the lowest leakage bin the voltage ceiling is the same for DPM1 - DPM3. As long as you have not altered the DPM states manually it should be fine. I personally would probably modify the bios for lower voltage since obviously the GPU doesn't need the same voltage to run at 483MHz / 721MHz as it does at 915MHz.
The Stilt is offline  
post #2545 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BanzaixD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

I think you're seeing an anomaly caused by the leakage of your ASIC. Your "ASIC quality" is pretty low, yes?

The Hawaii PROs have a flat spot in their leakage binning for ultra low leakage ASICs. For the lowest leakage bin the voltage ceiling is the same for DPM1 - DPM3. As long as you have not altered the DPM states manually it should be fine. I personally would probably modify the bios for lower voltage since obviously the GPU doesn't need the same voltage to run at 483MHz / 721MHz as it does at 915MHz.

So is 76.8% still in the low ASIC "quality" (low leakage) range?

Thanks for the clarification Stilt, now this makes sense. I will surely edit my modded rom with more consistent voltages per DPM thumb.gif
BanzaixD is offline  
post #2546 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 08:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,589
Rep: 864 (Unique: 331)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BanzaixD View Post

So is 76.8% still in the low ASIC "quality" (low leakage) range?

Thanks for the clarification Stilt, now this makes sense. I will surely edit my modded rom with more consistent voltages per DPM thumb.gif

It certainly isn't "low quality" (low leakage) but rather high actually. Are you using Afterburner or similar software? I have no idea what causes that, but it won't matter if you set the DPM voltages manually to sufficient levels anyway.

It could be 3rd party software intervention or a improperly fused ASIC. I got some prototype cards (fuses not configured) which have 38.4V or something like that as the default voltage for DPM3.
The Stilt is offline  
post #2547 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

I got some prototype cards (fuses not configured) which have 38.4V or something like that as the default voltage for DPM3.

Is 38.4V a typo?
gupsterg is offline  
post #2548 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BanzaixD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

It certainly isn't "low quality" (low leakage) but rather high actually. Are you using Afterburner or similar software? I have no idea what causes that, but it won't matter if you set the DPM voltages manually to sufficient levels anyway.

It could be 3rd party software intervention or a improperly fused ASIC. I got some:thumb: prototype cards (fuses not configured) which have 38.4V or something like that as the default voltage for DPM3.

I actually have Afterburner installed, but I use it mostly for the ingame OSD and very rarely to oc the card a bit before playing demanding games. It doesn't start automatically on Windows boot and I have no automatic OC profiles. I have TRIXX installed too, but I've used it just a couple of times for benching with +200mv. This is an anomaly I've seen on many custom 290 lately, here's a list of dumps taken by users from an italian forum:
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

AMD R9 390
Code:
Sapphire R9 390 Nitro 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, MemClock = 1500 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 500 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 698 MHz, VID = 0.98700 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 858 MHz, VID = 1.05600 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 899 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 935 MHz, VID = 1.13100 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 969 MHz, VID = 1.16800 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, VID = 1.25300 V
Code:
Sapphire R9 390 Nitro 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1010 MHz, MemClock = 1500 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 500 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 698 MHz, VID = 0.98700 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 858 MHz, VID = 1.05600 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 899 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 935 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 969 MHz, VID = 1.16200 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1010 MHz, VID = 1.20600 V
Code:
Sapphire R9 390 Nitro 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1010 MHz, MemClock = 1500 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 500 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 698 MHz, VID = 0.98700 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 858 MHz, VID = 1.05600 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 899 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 935 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 969 MHz, VID = 1.16200 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1010 MHz, VID = 1.20600 V 
Code:
Sapphire r9 390 Nitro 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, MemClock = 1500 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 500 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 698 MHz, VID = 0.98700 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 858 MHz, VID = 1.06200 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 899 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 935 MHz, VID = 1.13700 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 969 MHz, VID = 1.16800 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, VID = 1.25300 V


AMD R9 390X
Code:
Sapphire R9 390X Nitro 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1080 MHz, MemClock = 1500 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.00000 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 533 MHz, VID = 0.96200 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 766 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 884 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 933 MHz, VID = 1.13700 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 977 MHz, VID = 1.18100 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 1011 MHz, VID = 1.21800 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1080 MHz, VID = 1.27500 V


AMD R9 290

Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Code:
------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, MemClock = 1300 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 699 MHz, VID = 1.11200 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 888 MHz, VID = 1.11800 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 930 MHz, VID = 1.15000 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 965 MHz, VID = 1.18100 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 991 MHz, VID = 1.21200 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, VID = 1.24300 V
Code:
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, MemClock = 1300 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.13100 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 699 MHz, VID = 1.11800 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 888 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 930 MHz, VID = 1.15600 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 965 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 991 MHz, VID = 1.21200 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V
Code:
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, MemClock = 1400 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.16200 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 721 MHz, VID = 1.14300 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 915 MHz, VID = 1.13700 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 959 MHz, VID = 1.16800 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 995 MHz, VID = 1.20600 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 1022 MHz, VID = 1.23700 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, VID = 1.24300 V
Code:
Sapphire Vapor-X R9 290 Tri-X 

-----[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, MemClock = 1400 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.15000 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 721 MHz, VID = 1.13100 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 915 MHz, VID = 1.13100 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 959 MHz, VID = 1.15600 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 995 MHz, VID = 1.19300 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 1022 MHz, VID = 1.22500 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V
Code:
Msi Gaming R9 290 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 150 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, MemClock = 1250 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.87100 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 662 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 841 MHz, VID = 1.18100 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 881 MHz, VID = 1.20600 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 914 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 939 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1040 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V
Code:
ASUS R9 290 DIRECT CU II 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, MemClock = 1260 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.22500 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 699 MHz, VID = 1.20000 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 888 MHz, VID = 1.18700 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 930 MHz, VID = 1.21800 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 965 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 992 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V
Code:
Sapphire AMD R9 290 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 947 MHz, MemClock = 1250 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.99300 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 483 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 662 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 841 MHz, VID = 1.10600 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 881 MHz, VID = 1.13700 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 914 MHz, VID = 1.17500 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 939 MHz, VID = 1.20000 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 947 MHz, VID = 1.22500 V 


AMD R9 290X
Code:
MSI R9 290X Lightning 

------[ ADL PStates List ]------ 

State #0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, MemClock = 150 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 
State #1: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, MemClock = 1250 MHz, VID = 0.000 V 

------[ GPU PStates List ]------ 

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V 
DPM1: GPUClock = 516 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM2: GPUClock = 727 MHz, VID = 1.09300 V 
DPM3: GPUClock = 840 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V 
DPM4: GPUClock = 890 MHz, VID = 1.16800 V 
DPM5: GPUClock = 936 MHz, VID = 1.20600 V 
DPM6: GPUClock = 977 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V 
DPM7: GPUClock = 1000 MHz, VID = 1.24300 V 

As you can see all the 390/390X DPM states dumps look good, but all the custom 290s seem to share the same anomaly (the Sapphire 290 reference looks pretty normal instead). The only 290X in the list (MSI Lightning) shows the anomaly between DPM6 and DPM7. Unfortunately I've not detailed info about ASIC "Quality" for those dumps. Not sure about the rate of improperly fused ASIC cards, but I'm quite sure this is a sw side "issue".

Oh well, not an issue at all for me, I was just curious about the possible causes tongue.gif
BanzaixD is offline  
post #2549 of 4297 (permalink) Old 04-30-2016, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,423
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
gupsterg is offline  
post #2550 of 4297 (permalink) Old 05-02-2016, 03:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MihaStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Somewhere in Russia...
Posts: 65
Rep: 32 (Unique: 12)
Greetings to everyone! smile.gif

Just want to wake you up with a pack of photos (Hi-res). The card under torture is my 290X. Initial state, before the process (Click to show)
2Gbit Hynix chips are removed (Click to show)
BGA balls are restored on several chips (Click to show)
All the new memory chips are ready (Click to show)

I didn't capture the final state of the card, but it's the same like the initial, but with Elpida BABG.

The operation passed successfully, the card works with new memory, and it's time to prepare a magic BIOS for it... I'll report back with it when it's ready. wink.gif


There's one more thing I'd like to share. As someone may remember, I applied Coolaboratory Liquid Pro on GPU during the first card re-assembly. It happened in the end of December'15, and now, after about 4 months, I tried to clean the GPU before soldering process... Remains of the Liquid Pro on the GPU (Click to show)
When I removed the heatsink, I saw that liquid metal didn't look the same like when it just had been applied to the surface. Now It looked like some dried, porous metal surface, maybe like aluminum, without it's initial mirror-like gloss. I tried to remove it with a cotton pad, but it has very good adhesion to the die surface, and I couldn't remove it completely, you see the remains on the photo.
Maybe, I should use a scrubbing pad (it's included to the package), I'll try it later.

I'm not sure it's a good idea to apply it's again and use it further, but I didn't decide what to apply as a thermal interface for the GPU yet... wth.gif
MihaStar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off