Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 423 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4221 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 04:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
goshobul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hello guys. Probably this is the wrong thread. I read OP's post. Outstanding but I am a bit of a moron. I have a 280x powercolor and I would like to go from 1030 on the core to 1100 with +20 power limit and fans kicking 100% when the card reaches 65c. Now I do these things in afterburner but I want to try some linux gaming and I can't find a way to do them all. Can somebody edit my ROM. I managed to only edin the core clock. Posting stock ROM. Couldn't find the fan numbers (probably cuz it's a 280x not a 290?). Voltage control seams locked down to GUI's. Can it be unlocked too from the bios? Thanks in advance!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Tahiti.zip (105.2 KB, 9 views)
goshobul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4222 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-08-2019, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 171
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by goshobul View Post
Hello guys. Probably this is the wrong thread. I read OP's post. Outstanding but I am a bit of a moron. I have a 280x powercolor and I would like to go from 1030 on the core to 1100 with +20 power limit and fans kicking 100% when the card reaches 65c. Now I do these things in afterburner but I want to try some linux gaming and I can't find a way to do them all. Can somebody edit my ROM. I managed to only edin the core clock. Posting stock ROM. Couldn't find the fan numbers (probably cuz it's a 280x not a 290?). Voltage control seams locked down to GUI's. Can it be unlocked too from the bios? Thanks in advance!
Use VBE7

BLUuuE is offline  
post #4223 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-11-2019, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hi, I have asus r9 290 dcuII 4gb elpida

Is there any chance to squeze anything from it like tighter timings?

I would kindly ask to edit my stock rom so I can compare if I'm editing in the right direction? I would like to get mild oc with undervolt.

I've increase the power limit but still stress test like kombustor throttles imminently not even reaching max temp 94 Celsius. I have spikes on gpu load

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9i91skjxhc...90dcu.rom?dl=0

Last edited by turbix; 02-11-2019 at 01:24 AM.
turbix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4224 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-12-2019, 09:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 171
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by turbix View Post
Hi, I have asus r9 290 dcuII 4gb elpida

Is there any chance to squeze anything from it like tighter timings?

I would kindly ask to edit my stock rom so I can compare if I'm editing in the right direction? I would like to get mild oc with undervolt.

I've increase the power limit but still stress test like kombustor throttles imminently not even reaching max temp 94 Celsius. I have spikes on gpu load

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9i91skjxhc...90dcu.rom?dl=0
I've copied The Stilt's BBBG timings to the 1375 and higher straps. See if this helps with performance.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 290dcu_1375-stilt.zip (97.8 KB, 17 views)

BLUuuE is offline  
post #4225 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-13-2019, 11:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
I've copied The Stilt's BBBG timings to the 1375 and higher straps. See if this helps with performance.
Thank you, just flashed it and will do some test. I'm green in that matter and don't get it. Does that mean that tigher timings will be noticed on 1375 MHz?
turbix is offline  
post #4226 of 4278 (permalink) Old 02-13-2019, 03:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 171
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by turbix View Post
Thank you, just flashed it and will do some test. I'm green in that matter and don't get it. Does that mean that tigher timings will be noticed on 1375 MHz?
No, you just need to set 1251MHz or higher and the tighter timings will be used.



1375 strap = 1251 - 1375
1500 strap = 1376 - 1500
etc...

BLUuuE is offline  
post #4227 of 4278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 03:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
@blue , I've been using HxD to change memory straps for years, is thins a program that does that? can you share??
Morests is offline  
post #4228 of 4278 (permalink) Old 03-04-2019, 03:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
No, you just need to set 1251MHz or higher and the tighter timings will be used.



1375 strap = 1251 - 1375
1500 strap = 1376 - 1500
etc...



what is this program??
Morests is offline  
post #4229 of 4278 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 11:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 171
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Morests View Post
what is this program??
https://github.com/integralfx/BIOSTimingsEditor

BLUuuE is offline  
post #4230 of 4278 (permalink) Old 04-26-2019, 12:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Hello,


I'm new to this forum and would like to ask for your support.


My card is ASUS STRIX-R9390X-DC3-8GD5-GAMING. It's suffering from annoying crashes whiich only occur in 2D (browsing, working with files), randomly. NEVER in 3D games, even the most demanding ones! The forums are FILLED with similar complaints from other users, but AMD and ASUS don't see the need for providing a fix. So I had to find a solution by myself, which was using MSI afterburner with a hack by setting Core Voltage (mv) to +125 and Power Limit (%) to -50.


While this is working fine "in software", I would like to make it "permanent" by modifying the BIOS of the card. Since I have no experience with that at all, I would kindly ask an expert from this forum to do the modification and upload it.


I've attached screenshots from the settings I changed with MSI afterburner (see above) and the values of the cards' stock BIOS I read with atiflash. The cards' stock ROM is attached, too (packed as "ZIP"-archive).


Thank you in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	msi Afterburner.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	150.8 KB
ID:	266846  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Overview.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	266848  

Click image for larger version

Name:	PowerPlay.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	215.1 KB
ID:	266850  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Limit tables.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	206.3 KB
ID:	266852  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Fan profile.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	266854  

Click image for larger version

Name:	VRM settings.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	132.0 KB
ID:	267258  

Attached Files
File Type: zip Asus.R9390X_stock.zip (99.6 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by Mister Floppy; 04-28-2019 at 11:02 PM.
Mister Floppy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off