Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 424 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 04:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imam360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Double post sorry.

Last edited by Imam360; 05-22-2019 at 04:13 PM.
Imam360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 04:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imam360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Mister Floppy View Post
Hello,


I'm new to this forum and would like to ask for your support.


My card is ASUS STRIX-R9390X-DC3-8GD5-GAMING. It's suffering from annoying crashes whiich only occur in 2D (browsing, working with files), randomly. NEVER in 3D games, even the most demanding ones! The forums are FILLED with similar complaints from other users, but AMD and ASUS don't see the need for providing a fix. So I had to find a solution by myself, which was using MSI afterburner with a hack by setting Core Voltage (mv) to +125 and Power Limit (%) to -50.


While this is working fine "in software", I would like to make it "permanent" by modifying the BIOS of the card. Since I have no experience with that at all, I would kindly ask an expert from this forum to do the modification and upload it.


I've attached screenshots from the settings I changed with MSI afterburner (see above) and the values of the cards' stock BIOS I read with atiflash. The cards' stock ROM is attached, too (packed as "ZIP"-archive).


Thank you in advance!


Hey there Mister Floppy. I had the exacte same issue 2 years ago, i fixed it by changing the MEM clock 2 to 1250Mhz instead of 1500Mhz. Since then, i didn't get a single blackscreen in 2d ( youtube, browsing internet etc ) So, just modify MEM clock 2 to 1250Mhz, flash your new bios and you're ready to go!

Last edited by Imam360; 05-25-2019 at 04:29 PM.
Imam360 is offline  
post #4233 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 02:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
@Imam360 :


Thank you very much for your suggestion, I will try it and report back!
Mister Floppy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4234 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 04:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imam360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
You're welcome! It will prevent the card from going crazy between 150mhz and 1500mhz all the time, which lead to crashes in 2D.
Imam360 is offline  
post #4235 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 06:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Well... I just had a black screen in 2D with the suggested BIOS modification by Imam360, so in my case the issue isn't directly clock related, but the culprits are the too low voltage settings that ****ty AMD and ASUS shipped the GPU with. Honestly, I didn' expect anything else, because during my long time testing to find the cause I also used the tool "ClockBlocker", and even with that I got black screens in 2D.


However, since I modified the voltage settings in MSI Afterburner with a hack by setting Core Voltage (mv) to +125 and Power Limit (%) to -50 (see my first posting), I didn't get a single black screen in 2D!


I would appreciate if someone with experience in BIOS modification could "translate these settings from software to hardware" and provide a file soon - thank you in advance!

Last edited by Mister Floppy; 05-25-2019 at 06:29 PM.
Mister Floppy is offline  
post #4236 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 06:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 391
Rep: 20 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mister Floppy View Post
Well... I just had a black screen in 2D with the suggested BIOS modification by Imam360, so in my case the issue isn't Clock related, but the culprits are the too low voltage settings that ****ty AMD and ASUS shipped the GPU with. Honestly, I didn' expect anything else, because during my long time testing to find the cause I also used the tool "ClockBlocker", and even with that I got black screens in 2D.


However, since I modified the voltage settings in MSI Afterburner with a hack by setting Core Voltage (mv) to +125 and Power Limit (%) to -50 (see my first posting), I didn't get a single black screen in 2D!


I would appreciate if someone with experience in BIOS modification could "translate these settings from software to hardware" and provide a file soon - thank you in advance!
Try it, I have made some changes to your bios
Attached Files
File Type: zip r390x.zip (98.3 KB, 12 views)


mirzet1976 is offline  
post #4237 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 11:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
@mirzet1976 :


Thank you very much, I will try it and report back!
Mister Floppy is offline  
post #4238 of 4278 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 10:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Well... unfortunately, the ROM provided by mirzet1976 from above - which is changing the "voltage" value for DPM0 to 968 (stock value was 900) and the MEM clock 2 to 1250Mhz instead of 1500Mhz - is still causing black screens in 2D mode...


So I reverted flashing the stock ROM and using my "MSI afterburner" hacks:When I'm using "MSI Afterburner" with settings "Power Limit (%) to -50" and "Core Voltage +125 mv", the GPU is working solid as a rock, no black screens in 2D mode at all; the "VDDC" value I read with GPU-Z is 1.016 V in idle state.


In case the information from AIDA64 is useful, here it is for the stock ROM:

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock = 543 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V
DPM2: GPUClock = 780 MHz, VID = 1.00600 V
DPM3: GPUClock = 900 MHz, VID = 1.10600 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 950 MHz, VID = 1.15900 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 995 MHz, VID = 1.21200 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, VID = 1.24300 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1070 MHz, VID = 1.27500 V

I still would appreciate if someone with experience in BIOS modification could "translate" my "MSI afterburner" settings from above "from software to hardware" and provide a file soon - thank you in advance!

Last edited by Mister Floppy; 05-31-2019 at 10:51 PM.
Mister Floppy is offline  
post #4239 of 4278 (permalink) Old 06-01-2019, 03:38 AM
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 280
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mister Floppy View Post
Well... unfortunately, the ROM provided by mirzet1976 from above - which is changing the "voltage" value for DPM0 to 968 (stock value was 900) and the MEM clock 2 to 1250Mhz instead of 1500Mhz - is still causing black screens in 2D mode...


So I reverted flashing the stock ROM and using my "MSI afterburner" hacks:When I'm using "MSI Afterburner" with settings "Power Limit (%) to -50" and "Core Voltage +125 mv", the GPU is working solid as a rock, no black screens in 2D mode at all; the "VDDC" value I read with GPU-Z is 1.016 V in idle state.


In case the information from AIDA64 is useful, here it is for the stock ROM:

DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V
DPM1: GPUClock = 543 MHz, VID = 0.96800 V
DPM2: GPUClock = 780 MHz, VID = 1.00600 V
DPM3: GPUClock = 900 MHz, VID = 1.10600 V
DPM4: GPUClock = 950 MHz, VID = 1.15900 V
DPM5: GPUClock = 995 MHz, VID = 1.21200 V
DPM6: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, VID = 1.24300 V
DPM7: GPUClock = 1070 MHz, VID = 1.27500 V

I still would appreciate if someone with experience in BIOS modification could "translate" my "MSI afterburner" settings from above "from software to hardware" and provide a file soon - thank you in advance!
feel dumb to just apply a 125mv offset... i don't think your card needs 1.025v to idle at 300mhz. The black screen is probably caused by another DPM. Or a combination with the memclock jumping to 1250-1500mhz. Try using Wattman and set all DPMs (1 to 7) to something starting from 1.2v(DPM1) and ending with 1.275v in DPM7( to find out what is exactly triggering the black screen). All my 40nm(28-14nm too) cards idle around 750-775mv. 900mv for a 28nm chip is plenty.

Modded you bios. VDDCI +25mv(Should help the IMC/Memory Controller), MemClock lowered to 1250Mhz

Idle Voltage still @900mv, all other DPMs now look like this:
DPM0: GPUClock = 300 MHz, VID = 0.90000 V (+0mv)
DPM1: GPUClock = 543 MHz, VID = 1.10000 V (+132mv)
DPM2: GPUClock = 780 MHz, VID = 1.12500 V (+119mv)
DPM3: GPUClock = 900 MHz, VID = 1.15000 V (+44mv)
DPM4: GPUClock = 950 MHz, VID = 1.20000 V (+41mv)
DPM5: GPUClock = 995 MHz, VID = 1.23700 V (+25mv)
DPM6: GPUClock = 1030 MHz, VID = 1.25000 V (+7mv)
DPM7: GPUClock = 1070 MHz, VID = 1.27500 V (+0mv)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Asus.R9390X_mod.zip (99.6 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by generaleramon; 06-01-2019 at 04:01 AM.
generaleramon is offline  
post #4240 of 4278 (permalink) Old 06-01-2019, 09:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
@generaleramon:


Thank you very much, I will try it and report back
Mister Floppy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off