Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 429 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4281 of 4308 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 06:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madsmagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Hi guys

Can somebody help me out here? The OP description isnt exactly newbie friendly. I have DL'ed Hawaii BIOS Reader and played around with top frequencies, in a hope to avoid black screen when the drivers loads.

Any help would be deeply appreciated..

madsmagnus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4282 of 4308 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 12:12 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,434
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by madsmagnus View Post
Hi guys

Can somebody help me out here? The OP description isnt exactly newbie friendly. I have DL'ed Hawaii BIOS Reader and played around with top frequencies, in a hope to avoid black screen when the drivers loads.

Any help would be deeply appreciated..
Figure out your maximum stable overclock that works with afterburner (NOT WATTMAN) before you consider the bios modding option. Then try to program in your stable OC clocks with the bios editor.
kithylin is offline  
post #4283 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
no matter how much extra voltage I pump into my card, it wont go over 1110mhz core clock on the Insan1ty bios. Not even at 1.45v. I get 1150mhz on the stock bios with 1.3v. Sapphire Trix OC r9 290.
aqvyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4284 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 12:55 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,434
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by aqvyx View Post
no matter how much extra voltage I pump into my card, it wont go over 1110mhz core clock on the Insan1ty bios. Not even at 1.45v. I get 1150mhz on the stock bios with 1.3v. Sapphire Trix OC r9 290.
Then it seems you were unlucky at the silicon lottery. There's not much that can be done for that. Not all cards will overclock very far. Back when I had my 290X before I had the Sapphire 20-phase-VRM insanity version and it would only do 1160 Mhz on the core no matter how much voltage I pumped into it. Some cards just won't go very far.
kithylin is offline  
post #4285 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 05:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 416
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by aqvyx View Post
no matter how much extra voltage I pump into my card, it wont go over 1110mhz core clock on the Insan1ty bios. Not even at 1.45v. I get 1150mhz on the stock bios with 1.3v. Sapphire Trix OC r9 290.
Did U set PL to +50%?


mirzet1976 is offline  
post #4286 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mirzet1976 View Post
Did U set PL to +50%?
I set the max power limit and tdp to 300W in the bios, thats the max the card can take anyways. I can run 1150 when I add +150mv onto the stock voltage (I set it to 993) sometimes, but sometimes it doesnt work anymore after a reboot. My ASIC is 70.1%. I orderd a new thermal paste and some thermal pads, would it be safe to try running the card at 1.4v 24/7? (idk if the voltage is accurate but thats what afterburner tells me)

Last edited by aqvyx; 02-26-2020 at 10:42 AM.
aqvyx is offline  
post #4287 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 416
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
My former ref. R9 290 WC was capable 1320MHz on 1.35V and mem clock 1620mhz (elpida), now I'm runing ref. RX 5700XT with EK Vector water block.
with this run I was 6th on HWBot.org -Radeon R9 290 3DMark - Fire Strike Ultra Rangliste

I tink that U need to move Power Limit slide in MSI Afterburner to +50% to maintain those high clocks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_id_1663035.png
Views:	31
Size:	3.85 MB
ID:	329230  




Last edited by mirzet1976; 02-26-2020 at 11:03 AM.
mirzet1976 is offline  
post #4288 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 12:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
1320mhz? Thats what I call a golden chip. Ill try messing around with the voltage and power silder more and share results. Do you have any normal firestrike results? https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21899207 I scored this but I had a lot of artifacts
aqvyx is offline  
post #4289 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 01:05 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,434
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by aqvyx View Post
1320mhz? Thats what I call a golden chip. Ill try messing around with the voltage and power silder more and share results. Do you have any normal firestrike results? https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21899207 I scored this but I had a lot of artifacts
Artifacts are very bad. You can physically damage the chip / memory by running a benchmark or game load with artifacts running. Decrease clocks until it has no more Artifacts if you value the health of your card. Also it could be to due to temps. In general all video cards will have a lower overclock (stable with no artifacts) if they're running hot in the 80c or higher range.
kithylin is offline  
post #4290 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 01:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Artifacts are very bad. You can physically damage the chip / memory by running a benchmark or game load with artifacts running. Decrease clocks until it has no more Artifacts if you value the health of your card. Also it could be to due to temps. In general all video cards will have a lower overclock (stable with no artifacts) if they're running hot in the 80c or higher range.
yeah I dont use the card with a bad oc, just benchmarked it once
aqvyx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off