Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 430 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 03:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 415
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by aqvyx View Post
1320mhz? Thats what I call a golden chip. Ill try messing around with the voltage and power silder more and share results. Do you have any normal firestrike results? https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21899207 I scored this but I had a lot of artifacts
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18834127 but this is far better https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21290545



Last edited by mirzet1976; 02-26-2020 at 03:59 PM.
mirzet1976 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-26-2020, 11:03 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,426
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by mirzet1976 View Post
Why are you posting this? Of course a 5700XT is better than a 290X... ?????????

Even a base model / reference 5700 XT is going to be literally twice the performance of a good overclocked 290X. They're also using a newer processor which yields +3000 points in the physics test. And firestrike calculates the CPU physics test in to the overall score. Faster CPU = Faster overall score.
kithylin is offline  
post #4293 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 02:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
do you think 1.4v will be safe long term? I dont have cooling problems
aqvyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4294 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 03:31 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,426
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by aqvyx View Post
do you think 1.4v will be safe long term? I dont have cooling problems
I ran 1.45v on my 290X when I owned it for 16 months with no issues. But I had the special and unique Sapphire Vapor-X OC 8GB card with the 20-Phase VRM on it that could handle 450-500 watts on a regular basis with no issues. It barely ever maxed out it's capabilities. If you only have a reference PCB with the reference VRM design then I would say 1.4v would be "Extremely Unsafe" and most likely that card would not last very long. How long your card would last at that kind of load depends on many different factors.

And you claim "I don't have cooling problems", safe I think for 1.40v on a 290X would mean you're able to keep the core temps at < 80c at all times, even under heavy load.

Last edited by kithylin; 02-27-2020 at 03:38 AM.
kithylin is offline  
post #4295 of 4308 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
I ran 1.45v on my 290X when I owned it for 16 months with no issues. But I had the special and unique Sapphire Vapor-X OC 8GB card with the 20-Phase VRM on it that could handle 450-500 watts on a regular basis with no issues. It barely ever maxed out it's capabilities. If you only have a reference PCB with the reference VRM design then I would say 1.4v would be "Extremely Unsafe" and most likely that card would not last very long. How long your card would last at that kind of load depends on many different factors.

And you claim "I don't have cooling problems", safe I think for 1.40v on a 290X would mean you're able to keep the core temps at < 80c at all times, even under heavy load.

iirc the Trix 290 does have a reference pcb. The VRMs and the chip always stay below 85 degrees. My card only has 1x6 pin and 1x8 pin so it can only draw 300w max. So you think I should keep it below 1.36v or even below that?
aqvyx is offline  
post #4296 of 4308 (permalink) Old 03-18-2020, 06:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
madsmagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Figure out your maximum stable overclock that works with afterburner (NOT WATTMAN) before you consider the bios modding option. Then try to program in your stable OC clocks with the bios editor.
Heyo

Sorry for late answer. Nah I have a reference R9 290 that seems do die the instant an AMD driver hooks onto it. MS Basic drivers, do not push it over the edge. So I was really hoping to fx push the card way down in perf and see if it will run with a driver. Take it from there? But the power tables in this program are scaring me a bit. I too the frequencies down by like 25-30 MHz on core and mem, and I tried to pull the voltage a bit down too. Didnt work. Havent really touched it since.

madsmagnus is offline  
post #4297 of 4308 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 01:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 715
Rep: 49 (Unique: 30)
you have nothing to be afraid your card is probably already toasted

OneB1t is offline  
post #4298 of 4308 (permalink) Old 04-19-2020, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hello everyone

I have a r9 390 that is driving me nuts for some reason the memory frequency is so unstable that when I'm not doing anything that is graphically intensive I get a black screen, I found a really cool tool called "clockblocker" and it allows me to force my memory frequency to be always at Max the downside is that it only works with old amd drivers, and some games like cod warzone and monster hunter world are forcing me to update, is there any other app that I can use to look my memory clock frequency? Or does anyone knows how can I modify my vbios to the point that I can change the idle state of my gpu memory frequency?

Thanks.
michbeltre is offline  
post #4299 of 4308 (permalink) Old 04-19-2020, 02:57 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,426
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by michbeltre View Post
Hello everyone

I have a r9 390 that is driving me nuts for some reason the memory frequency is so unstable that when I'm not doing anything that is graphically intensive I get a black screen, I found a really cool tool called "clockblocker" and it allows me to force my memory frequency to be always at Max the downside is that it only works with old amd drivers, and some games like cod warzone and monster hunter world are forcing me to update, is there any other app that I can use to look my memory clock frequency? Or does anyone knows how can I modify my vbios to the point that I can change the idle state of my gpu memory frequency?

Thanks.
Yes, you can use AMD WattMan that is built into the drivers in modern AMD drivers released for 2020.
kithylin is offline  
post #4300 of 4308 (permalink) Old 04-27-2020, 12:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
@MihaStar
I need some help with modifying Firepro Tonga card.

What I have (MXRT-7600 which is oem version of W7100)
What I want to be (FirePro S7150)

They are identical card from visual perspective.

DeviceID
W7100 = 0x692B
MXRT7600 = 0x693B
S7150 = 0x6929

When I flash MXRT 7600 rom, I get DeviceID = 0x693B (same as bios)
When I flash S7150 rom, I get DeviceID= 0x692B (It should be 0x6929)

I modified bios of both 7600 and 7150 to see if it changes.
I changed right after 'PCIR' and I was able to see changed DeviceID during atiflash.
But even after reboot, DeviceID still remains same as before modification.

What I dont understand is why DeviceID become 0x692B when I flashed 0x6929 BIOS
Is there ASIC lock that overwrites DeviceID? or ATOMBIOS command that sets PCIID?

I attached both BIOS
Attached Files
File Type: zip mxrt7600.zip (98.5 KB, 2 views)
File Type: zip s7150.zip (181.0 KB, 2 views)
kino0924 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off