Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) - Page 52 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 04:04 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,803
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,803
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fat4l 
I decided I want to use 1050mV vddci but I'm not sure where exactly it is located.

I hope you don't mind me taking your PM to thread smile.gif , reason I'm bringing it to thread is so anyone else wishing to know the same has info and I'm not repeating same thing via PMs to others wink.gif .

Also by bringing things to thread means others can view/chime in and some things bring up holes in my own post 1. For example how you stated your strap info which brought about me stating we can edit frequency and I should add info to post 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fat4l 
Can I just search for e80308983a and edit e803 to 1a04 ?
This is what I saw in your rom.

No you've interpreted image wrong in post 1 heading Memory Interface (RAM I/O bus voltage) VDDCI and frequency editing.

The VDDCI voltage and frequency are turquoise boxed values, you seem to have picked up the unmarked/orange boxed values. The text in image is same colour as marked values to denote what goes with what.

If searching like you are first rule of this mod is the frequency will be same as what is default highest RAM frequency of a rom. So lets say rom has 1250MHz, this becomes 125000 > 01 E8 48 > 48 E8 01.

Second rule is if VDDCI is shown as 1.000v in GPU-Z sensors page when stock rom flashed and no modification of voltage has been done via an OC app (AUX voltage in MSI AB) or hard mod, this means 1.000v becomes 1000 > 03 E8 > E8 03. We can't take other voltages out of GPU-Z as absolute, for example 1.050v set in rom shows as 1.047v in it. For cases where people see higher than 1.000v VDDCI I suggest they view the PowerPlay table and pick out SCLK (GPU Freq.) & MCLK (RAM Freq.) as shown in image post 1 relevant heading.

So search would be 48 E8 01 E8 03 , I still suggest cross ref'ing tables for a rom created via AtomDis so you know you're in the PowerPlay table.

For example in the tables I created for your master rom, heading data tables:

000f: a572 Len 0288 Rev 06:01 (PowerPlayInfo)

What that means is offset location a572 is where PowerPlay table start in rom, it has a length of 288 hexadecimal. Press CTRL+E to select whole block using that info, this way you'll see range of hex values for complete table in lower status bar, A572-A7F9. Now when you search for hex values if offset for found values is within that range you're in right table.

You can also press CTRL+G and enter a572 to go to beginning of table and then start search via pressing CTRL+F and entering hex values plus set Datatype to Hex-values.

Setting the frequency via this mod doesn't gain any performance, I set it the same because stock roms do this and I wouldn't want to chance introducing instability to a modded rom from not doing this.
gupsterg is online now  
post #513 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 02:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fat4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,439
Rep: 73 (Unique: 38)
ugh biggrin.gif I'm even more confused than before biggrin.gif

CPU: Intel i7 4790K 5100MHz @1.335V MB: Asus ROG Maximus VII Formula RAM: 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666MHz CL10 VGA: Asus ROG GTX 1080Ti Strix 2152MHz @1.131V SDD: Samsung 870 PRO 1TB NVME + 860 EVO 1TB PSU: Asus ROG Thor Platinum 850W MON: Asus ROG Swift PG278Q 27"
fat4l is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,803
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is online now  
post #515 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fat4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,439
Rep: 73 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Will look at both your ROMs tomorrow, edit and attach to post wink.gif .
okay cool and thanks cheers.gif

CPU: Intel i7 4790K 5100MHz @1.335V MB: Asus ROG Maximus VII Formula RAM: 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2666MHz CL10 VGA: Asus ROG GTX 1080Ti Strix 2152MHz @1.131V SDD: Samsung 870 PRO 1TB NVME + 860 EVO 1TB PSU: Asus ROG Thor Platinum 850W MON: Asus ROG Swift PG278Q 27"
fat4l is offline  
post #516 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-21-2015, 10:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 419
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

On Hawaii the VDDCI should never be set higher than +50mV (= 1.050V) as the memory PHY / controller is the hottest part of the GPU already.

Well isn't that interesting - not sure if I read that before but its only just hit me just how hot that must mean.. when a reference card on a launch cooler will causally chill at 95c on the core and similar on VRMs just how hot is this memory controller? exclamation.gif

Im wondering where that chip is located on the PCB too.
Ized is offline  
post #517 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 10:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
erua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Hi,
first of all I'd like you very much for your work you're doing. I wished I could edit the bios in this way since I bought my 290X as undervolting was causing stability issues (black screens, crashes) primarily on load changes or in low power states. Being able to modify the voltage of the highest state only is great and works like a charm (-100 mV atm, saving up to 50 Watts on full load).
But I still have a problem, too. My card causes post to fail when I set the pci mode from legacy bios to uefi in the uefi settings of my motherboard. I then have to dismount the card to switch back to the iGPU, getting into the uefi settings and set it back to legacy mode.
GPU-Z sais, the card does support uefi. With your information, I was able to determine that the bios file contains both images and the 'last image bit' is not set in the first (legacy) image. I'd like to enable uefi mode for faster boot times as I want to use the card along with pci passthrough.
Hope somebody can figure out what is wrong with booting in uefi mode. Thanks and keep it up wink.gif
erua is offline  
post #518 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 07:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dianasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Will look at both your ROMs tomorrow, edit and attach to post wink.gif .

Hi,
Could you take a look at the attached roms, Sapphire 290x and PowerColor 290x. Can we under-volt them as much as possible? I use them for mining.

Currently have loaded the stilts rom M25M.bin . This is -25mv. 1000 core, 1375 mem.

I would like to under-volt more if possible?

Thanks.

290xRoms.zip 85k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip 290xRoms.zip (85.2 KB, 8 views)
dianasta is offline  
post #519 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 09:50 PM
either freeze or burn
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,530
Rep: 459 (Unique: 230)
Okay. New ROM:

Based on an Asus (NOT PT) rom.

Mods done:

1250 MHz memory Strap for Elpida adopted up to 1750 Strap.
FF F1 mods.
DPM 7 - 1.287
Stock Voltage at LOAD on my card: 1.211

drool.gif Much to my Surprise:smile.gif It's hitting Very Respectable scores. 15300+ on 1300? I needed 1320 to even break 15K on a PT1 drool.gif

If you need a pre-overclocked version, let me know. thumb.gif
thumb.gif

Are you guys up for this?

ASUSX.zip 104k .zip file

Let me know how the BIOS treats your card. We can mod the lower straps to get better close to stock speeds performance.

Any performance testing info at 1375, 1500 will be highly appreciated.

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #520 of 4258 (permalink) Old 11-22-2015, 10:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fyzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 911
Rep: 60 (Unique: 26)
I've been tinkering with bioses for my card. I have feeling that my card has more to give with the memory. The 390 bios performs the best on my card, but it is so finicky, even tho that the 390 non x bios fixed some things, it is still far from perfect. The 290 bios is still by far the most stable, but not the best performing. It still kinda annoys me that me card won't budge over 1270, no matter voltage or cooling (does 1120mhz+ on stock voltage). I had it even up to 1270 on air with temperatures with 60c+, yes it got more stable, but still not higher. There is also not alot of bioses that support hynix bfr.
fyzzz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off