[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club - Page 1205 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12041 of 12062 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 09:05 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 703
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by christoph View Post
yeah, I had them before, same problem as you, and the errors just went away, don't know why, but I know that windows 10 has a lot of issues and one of them is the monitor scaling and their full screen gaming optimization...

when you get your new monitor reset the bios to defaults and type in your settings manually and then you can save the profile but once you have your new monitor plugged in
What BIOS settings? For the CPU? I mean, these have been the same for a while.

Weird thing, I was able to get 4.8GHz on my CPU with 2400MHz RAM a few months ago. Then I tried to update the microcode to see if it imrpoves things and poof, no more 4.8GHz for me, no matter what I do. Even reverting to the BIOS I was using before isn't working.

EDIT : I updated Windows to 1809 and installed the 18.12.3 driver from AMD. Same behaviour. Doesn't crash, just throws errors. It's been like that forever though, since the first moment HWiNFO64 introduced the error counter.

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB

Last edited by tolis626; 12-23-2018 at 10:32 AM.
tolis626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12042 of 12062 (permalink) Old 12-23-2018, 12:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,595
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
What BIOS settings? For the CPU? I mean, these have been the same for a while.

Weird thing, I was able to get 4.8GHz on my CPU with 2400MHz RAM a few months ago. Then I tried to update the microcode to see if it imrpoves things and poof, no more 4.8GHz for me, no matter what I do. Even reverting to the BIOS I was using before isn't working.

EDIT : I updated Windows to 1809 and installed the 18.12.3 driver from AMD. Same behaviour. Doesn't crash, just throws errors. It's been like that forever though, since the first moment HWiNFO64 introduced the error counter.

did you clean install the AMD driver?

is your OC stable right now? try the Intelburntest

christoph is offline  
post #12043 of 12062 (permalink) Old 12-24-2018, 04:39 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 703
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by christoph View Post
did you clean install the AMD driver?

is your OC stable right now? try the Intelburntest
Yes, I DDU'ed the damn thing.

My CPU overclock? It's like 90% stable. Something's not quite right and I'll get a BSOD every now and then. I'm trying to figure out what. I suspect it's the memory overclock.

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12044 of 12062 (permalink) Old 12-24-2018, 07:32 AM
Oldtimer
 
gapottberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 794
Rep: 54 (Unique: 38)
Memory Overclocking has caused me more grief than any other tinkering I know how to do. That being said I am unable to help tinkering. My advice that has proven very helpful for me is to get a copy of memtest 86 on a bootable USB and every time you tinker with memory settings unplug your os HDD and boot to the memtest. Run at least one full pass before booting to windows. Will save you much grief if you push it too far. Nothing worse than corrutping your os and having to do a full reinstallation.

#REDTEAM
Serenity
(11 items)
Dat_Ashe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8320E OCed @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard
ASRock 970 Fatality
GPU
MSI 390X
RAM
Gskill Ripjaw 16GB @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD
Optical Drive
ASUS Blue Ray
Power Supply
Thermaltake toughpower 650watt
Cooling
Thermaltake Water 3.0
Case
Thermaltake T81
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus VX248
CPU
FX-6300
Motherboard
BIOSTAR TA970
GPU
SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 270 2GB
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1866mhz
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 1TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
ASUS Blu-ray Drive
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt PSU
Cooling
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Case
Antec GX500
Operating System
Windows 10 Technical Preview
Monitor
ASUS VX248 24" 1080p LCD Moniter
Mouse
Logitech G602 wireless gaming mouse
▲ hide details ▲


gapottberg is offline  
post #12045 of 12062 (permalink) Old 12-24-2018, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,595
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
Yes, I DDU'ed the damn thing.

My CPU overclock? It's like 90% stable. Something's not quite right and I'll get a BSOD every now and then. I'm trying to figure out what. I suspect it's the memory overclock.
then you should start from there, or at least try gaming and check for errors WITHOUT OC at all

christoph is offline  
post #12046 of 12062 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 09:11 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 703
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by gapottberg View Post
Memory Overclocking has caused me more grief than any other tinkering I know how to do. That being said I am unable to help tinkering. My advice that has proven very helpful for me is to get a copy of memtest 86 on a bootable USB and every time you tinker with memory settings unplug your os HDD and boot to the memtest. Run at least one full pass before booting to windows. Will save you much grief if you push it too far. Nothing worse than corrutping your os and having to do a full reinstallation.
Oh, I went through that whole ordeal with memory overclocking. If I knew what I was getting into, I wouldn't have started it at all, but I did and here I am.

The memory itself is stable. With the settings I have, it was stable after like 8 hours of memtest86. So I don't think it's the RAM itself, but rather the IMC on my CPU. I'm increasing system agent and IO voltages slowly and I'll see how it goes. Oh well, if Ryzen 3 rumors turn out to be true, this rig's days are numbered anyway.

Quote: Originally Posted by christoph View Post
then you should start from there, or at least try gaming and check for errors WITHOUT OC at all
Stock doesn't give errors, I've already tried it. But if I move the core from stock, it will give like 2-3 errors after hours of gaming. Touch the memory at all and errors multiply like rabbits during mating season. I think my card is just a dud. I can push the memory past 1700MHz for short benchmarking runs, but that's about it. As I said above about the Ryzen rumors, same goes for Navi rumors. The 390x should've been on its way out long ago, but I had audio gear siphoning all my money. Still, can't complain, it's served me well these past 4 years. Far longer than I expected it to last to be honest. Only big downside is that it's a damn power hog. Really helps with heating the house during Greece's mild winters, though, so it really pulled double duty as a space heater too.

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB

Last edited by tolis626; 01-07-2019 at 01:34 PM.
tolis626 is offline  
post #12047 of 12062 (permalink) Old 01-28-2019, 08:32 AM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 703
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
So, in case anyone sees this...

I sent the monitor in for RMA. There was no dead pixel, but rather dirt in the panel. They changed my panel instead of giving me a new monitor, which I'm kind of salty about, but we'll see, I don't have it in my hands yet. Bad thing is, the service guy told me that he could not reproduce the problem with the DP connection, so they said I should either try with another GPU or contact the manufacturer of my GPU. So I sent an email to MSI support and I'm waiting for the "screw you" response I'm expecting. The way this whole thing looks, I'll probably have to buy another GPU if I'm to enjoy this damn thing, provided it doesn't give me even more problems. Worst thing is that I don't wanna go NVidia and, apart from the rather expensive Radeon VII, there's nothing REALLY better than the 390x on the AMD side. I mean, +5-10% at best isn't reason enough for me to go 580 or 590. I was really hoping for Navi, but I doubt I'm gonna be able to wait 'til the summer for it. Unless money (or lack thereof) forces me to wait and not buy a VII. Sigh...

PS : Got a response from MSI. First message gave me some general crap about reinstalling drivers and cleaning ports on the card. After I explained that I've tried everything, the guy sent me a shady looking BIOS flashing folder, complete with ATIWinflash and some other stuff that I don't know anything about. I'd appreciate if anyone gave a look.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 602-V308-30S-BIOS.zip (1.27 MB, 11 views)

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB

Last edited by tolis626; 01-30-2019 at 09:38 AM.
tolis626 is offline  
post #12048 of 12062 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 02:36 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 703
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Sorry to bother everyone again, but I was messing around with Wattman and I saw that there is an option to increase the memory voltage? Is that actually working or is it just a placeholder than does nothing?

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
post #12049 of 12062 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 05:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,595
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
Sorry to bother everyone again, but I was messing around with Wattman and I saw that there is an option to increase the memory voltage? Is that actually working or is it just a placeholder than does nothing?
I think it does not apply for the R9 video cards

christoph is offline  
post #12050 of 12062 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 06:11 AM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,366
Rep: 1554 (Unique: 1016)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
Sorry to bother everyone again, but I was messing around with Wattman and I saw that there is an option to increase the memory voltage? Is that actually working or is it just a placeholder than does nothing?
Try increasing it a tiny bit and check voltage in gpuz to see if the memory voltage has indeed changed. If there's no change, it'll either be locked or your in fact changing the cards minimum floor voltage like on the Vega.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off