[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club - Page 1207 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12061 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 623
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
Meh, don't waste your time. These cards were terrific back in the day, but now you get midrange performance at best, with the power consumption, thermals and noise of an OC top of the line card. Funny for experiments if you can, like, maybe find one cheap and preferably water cool it, but that's about it. I have to commend AMD for how well this card has aged, though. I remember it's competition was really Kepler. I don't see anyone even mentioning 700 series cards from NVidia anymore... Seems I made the right choice back then.

Yes, maybe is a waste of time, but I have already wasted the time finding out how to do the mvddc mod, and I want to know if it is working. I bought a 380 ,before the 590 I have now, instead of a 290 a little bit more expensive, maybe a bad choice, and I have started doing bios modding to my 380 reading the hawaii bios mod thread, so is some thing I want to test, if I found a cheap 390.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12062 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 06:13 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 738
Rep: 36 (Unique: 33)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
Yes, maybe is a waste of time, but I have already wasted the time finding out how to do the mvddc mod, and I want to know if it is working. I bought a 380 ,before the 590 I have now, instead of a 290 a little bit more expensive, maybe a bad choice, and I have started doing bios modding to my 380 reading the hawaii bios mod thread, so is some thing I want to test, if I found a cheap 390.
Well then, I hope you do get to buy one! These are really great cards to push. I mean, treat them correctly and they can take some punishment. They are just... Old at this point. But I guess it's fine for tinkering, especially if you won't really mind that much if the card dies. Cheers!

New baby : Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X, Ryzen 7 3800x, Sapphire RX 5700 XT Nitro +, Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi), G.Skill TridentZ Neo 16GB 3600MHz 16-16-16-36, Corsair H150i Pro, EVGA 850G3, Corsair Force MP600 1TB, Seagate Barracuda 4TB

Old Rig : Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
Yennefer
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3800x
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Nitro+
RAM
G. Skill TridentZ Neo 16GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP600 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Power Supply
EVGA 850G3
Cooling
Corsair Hydro H150i Pro
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQUXEN
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Roccat Tyon
▲ hide details ▲
tolis626 is offline  
post #12063 of 12078 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 05:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hawker-gb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Split,Croatia
Posts: 537
Rep: 31 (Unique: 19)
Hello guys and girls

i have Sapphire R9 390 Nitro without backplate.
Suddenly and randomly my monitor blacks out and pc needs hard reset.
I suspect on GPU and did following:

-Use it in another pc and screen,same effect
-clean and replace thermal paste,same
-Change cables,try DP and HDMI,same effect
-There is no overheating,just randomly blacks out

Can i try anything else or its dead?

hawker-gb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12064 of 12078 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 09:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,678
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by hawker-gb View Post
Hello guys and girls

i have Sapphire R9 390 Nitro without backplate.
Suddenly and randomly my monitor blacks out and pc needs hard reset.
I suspect on GPU and did following:

-Use it in another pc and screen,same effect
-clean and replace thermal paste,same
-Change cables,try DP and HDMI,same effect
-There is no overheating,just randomly blacks out

Can i try anything else or its dead?
is not the video card, is windows, lots of people are experiencing black screens

christoph is offline  
post #12065 of 12078 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hawker-gb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Split,Croatia
Posts: 537
Rep: 31 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by christoph View Post
is not the video card, is windows, lots of people are experiencing black screens
Strange because R5 2400g works well on same Windows (igpu)
And it happen on two different PCs on win10.

What is solution in case of Windows?

hawker-gb is offline  
post #12066 of 12078 (permalink) Old 06-28-2019, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,678
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by hawker-gb View Post
Strange because R5 2400g works well on same Windows (igpu)
And it happen on two different PCs on win10.

What is solution in case of Windows?

there's a lot you can try, look in google about windows Black screens, and you'll find a lot

christoph is offline  
post #12067 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-23-2020, 08:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mister300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 61
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Doom Eternal Performance on a 2015 card

My 5820K with a 5 yr old XFX underclocked 390X hits 70-100 fps on my LG 2K 144Hz VA panel on ultra nightmare settings, runs like butter. Vulkan API runs great. I see no need to upgrade card yet.

Last edited by Mister300; 03-23-2020 at 08:38 PM.
Mister300 is offline  
post #12068 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 10:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dlee7283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 5,093
Rep: 288 (Unique: 236)
Ive seen the used 390 drop below 50 usd used prices which means it might be crossfire time for some owners with Doom Eternal and Resident Evil 3 coming out

https://www.ebay.com/itm/SAPPHIRE-NI...sAAOSw~ppeWEjp

dlee7283 is offline  
post #12069 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 10:37 AM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
How well does the 390 scale in crossfire?

Because otherwise you are better off going with the Vega 56 or comparable price/perf Nvidia card.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #12070 of 12078 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 10:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dlee7283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 5,093
Rep: 288 (Unique: 236)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
How well does the 390 scale in crossfire?

Because otherwise you are better off going with the Vega 56 or comparable price/perf Nvidia card.
Its around the 50 bucks range right now with mining taking a nosedive ATM. It might be worth it if you got a beefy PSU and you have games that perform well in Vulkan.

Vega is optimal but some might not want to fork out 200+. Just a budget option for some who already have 390 card.

Depending on the scenarios CFX outperform a single GTX 1070 in many tests which I think is good for a 2015 card.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment..._1440p_not_oc/

Major con is of course you would need to have a 1000w PSU


Last edited by dlee7283; 03-26-2020 at 10:52 AM.
dlee7283 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off