[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD R9 390/390X Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
Not sure why, as I have not seen any issues in any other title, but my beloved Dirt Rally is flickering trees normal to white, over and over, regardless of clock speeds...

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 06:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DividebyZERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 63 (Unique: 48)
Weird do you have any CCC override settings or changes? I wonder if its specific to you or a game bug

Is that at stock?
DividebyZERO is offline  
post #33 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DividebyZERO View Post

Weird do you have any CCC override settings or changes? I wonder if its specific to you or a game bug

Is that at stock?
No ccc changes at all.

The white seems to flicker on the trees only....
Completely stock clocks.

Had to be driver right?

Cry3, bf4, fc4, even Skrotum, err, skyrim, all look fine

Update: forgot i found a new setting called advanced blending" that i turned on yesterday...

Turned this off, and all is perfect!

Phew.... smile.gif

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 07:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DividebyZERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 63 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Smith1984 View Post

No ccc changes at all.

The white seems to flicker on the trees only....
Completely stock clocks.

Had to be driver right?

Cry3, bf4, fc4, even Skrotum, err, skyrim, all look fine

Update: forgot i found a new setting called advanced blending" that i turned on yesterday...

Turned this off, and all is perfect!

Phew.... smile.gif

Advanced blending? was that in the Blendtec section, "Does it blend?"
sorry, its what came to my mind. Good you sorted it out!
DividebyZERO is offline  
post #35 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 11:14 PM
Turtle Rig Fan
 
aDyerSituation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,419
Rep: 99 (Unique: 71)
How well do this things overclock? Considering they already are

It's either a pair of these, a Fury X, or a 980 Ti and these look a little more promising

DyerLIVE
(15 items)
CPU
i7 7820x 4.7 ghz, 3.0ghz mesh
Motherboard
X299 ASUS ROG Strix-E
GPU
1080 Ti
RAM
32gb 3800mhz 16-17-16-37-1T trfc 400 (Model F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK)
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Intel 730 240GB
Hard Drive
Intel 530 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA 750w G2
Cooling
DeepCool Castle EX 360mm
Case
Fractal Meshify S2 White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
AOC G2460PF 24” 144hz
Keyboard
Logitech G610
Mouse
Logitech G203
Mousepad
Steel Series XXL
▲ hide details ▲
aDyerSituation is offline  
post #36 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 02:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Amhro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 987
Rep: 23 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwcw View Post

No i was thinking 290x 4gb or 390 8gb but think the 390 is the right choice for me now!
Thanks very helpful i did have a look at the 970 also instead of a 390 but the ram issue does bother me slightly and i think the 390 is the correct choice for me cant really justify the extra for the 390x and dont want to wait longer for the nano
Yep, only yesterday I have noticed 3,5gb+ vram usage several times, good thing i did not go with 970 biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent Smith1984 View Post

Probably not even possible, but I'll know if mine is tonight when I try flashing the 390X BIOS over.

If anything, I'll get higher default clocks out of it, and maybe a heftier power tune profile.
Have you tried it? Results? biggrin.gif

vlocka
(14 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS CROSSHAIR VII HERO
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z 16GB 3200/14
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Power Supply
Corsair RM650i
Cooling
COOLER MASTER MasterLiquid ML240L RGB
Case
PHANTEKS P400S TG White
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ G2420HDB
Keyboard
A4 X7
Mouse
A4 V8M
Audio
HyperX Cloud
▲ hide details ▲
Amhro is offline  
post #37 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aDyerSituation View Post

How well do this things overclock? Considering they already are

It's either a pair of these, a Fury X, or a 980 Ti and these look a little more promising

So far, I seem to be topping out at around 1180/1620

I was expecting the core clock to be about what I hit, but I was hoping more on the VRAM...

It's very strange. The VRAM will run as high as 1750 with no issues through the Firestrike demo, but then black screen at the end, and I have to reboot to recover from the error.
It will do this until I drop below 1625.

Has anyone every played with AUX voltage on these cards?

My living room was roasting at 79F (101 outside) yesterday, and I noticed that, the cooler seems to do a great job of cooling the card, but it seems to have exposed my airflow limitations, because as soon as the card runs at 82-83c for a few minutes, the case becomes saturated with heat inside, and then temps begin rising again.

I am replacing my stock exhaust fans with some high flow corsair units, and also mounting a fan on the bottom portion of my from mount raditor to get more air on the card.

I am convinced this is a good cooler, as reviews have put temps around 72c (open bench) load, and I am seeing around 78c if I remove my door.

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
post #38 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 05:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,374
Rep: 113 (Unique: 74)
Downloading some benchmark tools, 3d Mark being one of them. The FireStrike test u r running, is it free (basic) version? Could you run Unigine Heaven as it is not CPU dependent? These settings:

AMD
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Cooling
Corsair H115i PLATINUM
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
post #39 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post

Downloading some benchmark tools, 3d Mark being one of them. The FireStrike test u r running, is it free (basic) version? Could you run Unigine Heaven as it is not CPU dependent? These settings:

Will run later.

Very curious to see how Heaven doe myself...

I have not had a chance to try 390x BIOS yet. Been slammed.

I'll try and give it a go by the weekend. Tomorrow is my wife's birthday, so I'll probably be away from the PC most of the day.

Adding new members to spreadsheet today.

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
post #40 of 12088 (permalink) Old 06-25-2015, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
joeh4384's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Posts: 827
Rep: 23 (Unique: 23)
It looks like MSI did a good job with the updated cooler. I had their 290x gaming and that cooler was mediocre at best temps on both core and vrm in low 80s at stock. I ended up snagging a corsair hg10 and put that on and it does ok but could do a better job on the vrms.



joeh4384 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off