Software for R9 285 bios edit - Page 106 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Software for R9 285 bios edit

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-08-2017, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JonnyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
I have found an incredible tool that in a simple manner solves all the gpu throttling sympthoms, without any risk to damage the card in bios editing etc.
ClockBlocker is the solution: the gpu and vram is fixed at the default maximum clocks, and now i have almost solved all the stuttering problems in some of my games.
JonnyOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 04:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne - Down Under
Posts: 197
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I have XFX R9 285 2Gb card...
I tried to flash with various BIOSes but no go...does anyone has working BIOS to try making my R9 285 into R9 380x?

AMD Threadripper 2950x
Gigabyte X399 Aorus Xtreme
32GB Team Dark Pro (3200C14 Samsung B-Die)
Sapphire Vega 64 LE + Sapphire Vega 64 LE
Samsun 970 Pro 512Gb + 6 HDD
Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 (Dual fan)
Thermaltake ToughPower DPS G 850W
Oldie
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Heidi is offline  
post #1053 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 07:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducegt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 772
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidi View Post

I have XFX R9 285 2Gb card...
I tried to flash with various BIOSes but no go...does anyone has working BIOS to try making my R9 285 into R9 380x?
I modified Asus 380x to work with my Powercolor 285 and it was beneficial. I shared it in this thread somewhere... At work at the moment. I couldn't get many XFX bios versions to work with my card so maybe your experiencing the opposite problem. You need to take the vram table from your card and inject it into a 380x bios. Try my Asus one and if that fails share your BIOS, let me know your memory type...mine is for epilda and I think hynix... Yours may be Samsung.. and I'll modify it for you.

ducegt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 12:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne - Down Under
Posts: 197
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks....it is Elpida by GPU-Z..i will dump the BIOS n post it here...

AMD Threadripper 2950x
Gigabyte X399 Aorus Xtreme
32GB Team Dark Pro (3200C14 Samsung B-Die)
Sapphire Vega 64 LE + Sapphire Vega 64 LE
Samsun 970 Pro 512Gb + 6 HDD
Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 (Dual fan)
Thermaltake ToughPower DPS G 850W
Oldie
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Heidi is offline  
post #1055 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducegt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 772
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidi View Post

Thanks....it is Elpida by GPU-Z..i will dump the BIOS n post it here...
You are welcome. Try this one first.. I saw you use the XFX DD and I found it and a XFX 380x BIOS at tech power up. I mashed them together and voila. Let me know if it works...it should.

XFX285to380x.zip 101k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip XFX285to380x.zip (101.0 KB, 10 views)

ducegt is offline  
post #1056 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 07:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne - Down Under
Posts: 197
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Any idea how to flash it correctly or just use that tool from TPU?
Thanks for it...I am going to try it right now...

AMD Threadripper 2950x
Gigabyte X399 Aorus Xtreme
32GB Team Dark Pro (3200C14 Samsung B-Die)
Sapphire Vega 64 LE + Sapphire Vega 64 LE
Samsun 970 Pro 512Gb + 6 HDD
Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 (Dual fan)
Thermaltake ToughPower DPS G 850W
Oldie
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Heidi is offline  
post #1057 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-25-2017, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne - Down Under
Posts: 197
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Nope...
No joy...
Dead...got to reflash it back...such stubborn card...

AMD Threadripper 2950x
Gigabyte X399 Aorus Xtreme
32GB Team Dark Pro (3200C14 Samsung B-Die)
Sapphire Vega 64 LE + Sapphire Vega 64 LE
Samsun 970 Pro 512Gb + 6 HDD
Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 (Dual fan)
Thermaltake ToughPower DPS G 850W
Oldie
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Heidi is offline  
post #1058 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-26-2017, 04:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducegt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 772
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidi View Post

Nope...
No joy...
Dead...got to reflash it back...such stubborn card...
Dang. Have you tried the ASUS one? As you will see in this post, the DD BIOS didn't work on my card despite almost every other one does. The tables in the XFX 380x bios matched up correctly. Not sure what's different about it.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1563409/software-for-r9-285-bios-edit/170#post_24655081

Also notice Traditions post above that... Seems he got it working with a XFX card, but not sure if it's DD.

ducegt is offline  
post #1059 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-26-2017, 04:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne - Down Under
Posts: 197
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
It worked in BIOS....but as soon as loading windows or Linux take place all I got is black screen with some white garbage vertical strips...besides...didn't even wanted POST with UEFI mode active...I'll try that one...interesting card, stubborn to the bone lool!
p.s.
which one of those two I shall flash?

AMD Threadripper 2950x
Gigabyte X399 Aorus Xtreme
32GB Team Dark Pro (3200C14 Samsung B-Die)
Sapphire Vega 64 LE + Sapphire Vega 64 LE
Samsun 970 Pro 512Gb + 6 HDD
Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3 (Dual fan)
Thermaltake ToughPower DPS G 850W
Oldie
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Heidi is offline  
post #1060 of 1125 (permalink) Old 09-26-2017, 05:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ducegt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 772
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heidi View Post

It worked in BIOS....but as soon as loading windows or Linux take place all I got is black screen with some white garbage vertical strips...besides...didn't even wanted POST with UEFI mode active...I'll try that one...interesting card, stubborn to the bone lool!
p.s.
which one of those two I shall flash?

asusswapWORKS.rom That's what I've been using since then.

Interesting that it worked in BIOS. The DD on my card wouldn't post no matter what. For windows, it may be worthwhile to uninstall the 200 series driver completely prior to booting with the 300 BIOS for the first time. Did you see if safe mode worked?

ducegt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off