Software for R9 285 bios edit - Page 112 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Software for R9 285 bios edit

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1125 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 12:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 625
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
Don't worry about it then.



I seem to be getting a few memory errors, but I was mostly browsing the internet and using Discord. Nothing too intensive.

I think it might be the low VDDCI, but I'm not too sure how I would change it.

I tried setting usVddcOffset for DPM0-6 but it doesn't change the VDDCI when idling. It's still 975mV, which is strange since changing DPM7 usVddcOffset changes the VDDCI under load.

If what you say about VDDCI actually not being the real VDDCI is true, then would that mean the real VDDCI is locked and can't be changed from BIOS? That seems to be the case here.

I found out that my BIOS is old.



I ended up flashing this BIOS and am now testing it. If all my issues before was because of an old BIOS... (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
Like you can see in this image https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...0&d=1545924360 ,975 is the min "vddci" and vddc when the memory is at the highest value. As you have two monitors and your memory is at 1500mhz in idle, your min "vddci" is 975mv and your min vddc is 1000 as you have a +25mv offset.

DPM 6 voltage is not going to decreace the voltages in idle. What you could do is to set the gray highlighted 1 near the blue vddci in the image, to 0 to get a minimun of 900mv for "vddci" and vddc.

About the memory errors, is a weird thing I see like you, increasing the "vddci" I was getting less memory erros. So I can know if the hwinfo "vddci" is only a phase for the core or is doing more things.

For my 380 the real vddci could be changed with the VOI as I said before, but couldn't be monitored and only can be measured by a multimeter and is risky and I don't know how to measure it in a properly way.

About the I2C dump, you can try to see if the values for the 70 and 71 tables, to see if some of the values are monitoring values. Vddci is changed between idle and load, but memory voltage is 1.5 or 1.55v, so maybe if une is not changing it is for the memory.

Edited: Into this:https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...0&d=1545924360 powerplay image the vddgfxoffsets are vddcoffsets and vddcoffsets vddgfxoffsets, sorry.

Last edited by mynm; 12-30-2018 at 03:21 AM.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1125 (permalink) Old 12-30-2018, 05:17 PM
@integralfx
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 211
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
Like you can see in this image https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...0&d=1545924360 ,975 is the min "vddci" and vddc when the memory is at the highest value. As you have two monitors and your memory is at 1500mhz in idle, your min "vddci" is 975mv and your min vddc is 1000 as you have a +25mv offset.

DPM 6 voltage is not going to decreace the voltages in idle. What you could do is to set the gray highlighted 1 near the blue vddci in the image, to 0 to get a minimun of 900mv for "vddci" and vddc.

About the memory errors, is a weird thing I see like you, increasing the "vddci" I was getting less memory erros. So I can know if the hwinfo "vddci" is only a phase for the core or is doing more things.

For my 380 the real vddci could be changed with the VOI as I said before, but couldn't be monitored and only can be measured by a multimeter and is risky and I don't know how to measure it in a properly way.

About the I2C dump, you can try to see if the values for the 70 and 71 tables, to see if some of the values are monitoring values. Vddci is changed between idle and load, but memory voltage is 1.5 or 1.55v, so maybe if une is not changing it is for the memory.

Edited: Into this:https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...0&d=1545924360 powerplay image the vddgfxoffsets are vddcoffsets and vddcoffsets vddgfxoffsets, sorry.
I was reading through buildzoid's Strix 480 review and it seems to have a very similar VRM layout as my Strix 380.

Quote:
VRAM
- 1 phase controlled by uP1541R
- 2 low side QM3056 MOSFETs
- 1 high side QM3054 MOSFET

AUX
- 1 phase controlled by uP1541R
- 2 low side QM3056 MOSFETs
- 1 high side QM3054 MOSFET
Similar controller and I think the same MOSFETs.

I think VDDCI might be the 0.95v rail, as undervolting it to 0.875v causes Windows to flash black screens, then BSOD with VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE.


Last edited by BLUuuE; 12-30-2018 at 05:58 PM.
BLUuuE is offline  
post #1113 of 1125 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 01:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 625
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
I was reading through buildzoid's Strix 480 review and it seems to have a very similar VRM layout as my Strix 380.

Similar controller and I think the same MOSFETs.

I think VDDCI might be the 0.95v rail, as undervolting it to 0.875v causes Windows to flash black screens, then BSOD with VIDEO_TDR_FAILURE.
I don't think it is the 0.95v rail, I never heard that 0.95v rail could be controlled by software.

I had been using the "vddci" voltage to 1.137v with peaks to 1.2v, for more than one year without problesm. [metion]chris89[/metion] was using the "vddci" to like 1.35v, without problems. And some 380x with a stock core to 1050mhz, I think that could be using 1.175v for "vddci" with a 1050mhz stock core and 1.225v, because dpm7 vddcOffset is -50mv, but I don't remember if anybody here had confirmed it.

The problem is as your gpu have a different controller, I was not sure if it is or not the same voltage. But if it can be changed with the vddcOffsets it seems to be the same voltage. So seems to be only one phase more for the core, and not the vddci.
But I can be 100% sure because I don't have technical knowledge about this things, I can't do more, sorry.

@The Stilt and @buildzoid said that it was the vddci more than two years ago, they have the technical knowledge, so you could ask them.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1114 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-04-2019, 03:52 PM
@integralfx
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 211
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
I don't think it is the 0.95v rail, I never heard that 0.95v rail could be controlled by software.

I had been using the "vddci" voltage to 1.137v with peaks to 1.2v, for more than one year without problesm. [metion]chris89[/metion] was using the "vddci" to like 1.35v, without problems. And some 380x with a stock core to 1050mhz, I think that could be using 1.175v for "vddci" with a 1050mhz stock core and 1.225v, because dpm7 vddcOffset is -50mv, but I don't remember if anybody here had confirmed it.

The problem is as your gpu have a different controller, I was not sure if it is or not the same voltage. But if it can be changed with the vddcOffsets it seems to be the same voltage. So seems to be only one phase more for the core, and not the vddci.
But I can be 100% sure because I don't have technical knowledge about this things, I can't do more, sorry.

@The Stilt and @buildzoid said that it was the vddci more than two years ago, they have the technical knowledge, so you could ask them.
I've been testing the effects of VDDCI on core stability and I can confirm keeping it equal to VDDC helps a lot.

1150MHz core 1500MHz 1138mV VDDC
VDDCI while running Heaven:
1000mV = crash instantly
1050mV = artifact and crash
1138mV = pass

I bought an RX 570 4GB Nitro+ for very cheap, so I won't be messing around with my 380 anymore.

The Nitro+ uses a NCP81022 voltage controller I think, so there won't be as much control compared to the IR3567B. It'll be interesting to see how well it overclocks as well as the VRM temperatures (if it has sensors for them).

I'll be lurking around in the Polaris BIOS Editing thread now.

Thank you very much for your help thus far.

I can't seem to change DPM3 memory clock without BSOD. Even setting it 1500MHz will BSOD even though 1600MHz is stable.
I don't think this happened before, so maybe it's something with the new drivers. I'll try an older driver and see if it works.


Last edited by BLUuuE; 01-04-2019 at 09:06 PM.
BLUuuE is offline  
post #1115 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 01:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 625
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
I've been testing the effects of VDDCI on core stability and I can confirm keeping it equal to VDDC helps a lot.

1150MHz core 1500MHz 1138mV VDDC
VDDCI while running Heaven:
1000mV = crash instantly
1050mV = artifact and crash
1138mV = pass

I bought an RX 570 4GB Nitro+ for very cheap, so I won't be messing around with my 380 anymore.

The Nitro+ uses a NCP81022 voltage controller I think, so there won't be as much control compared to the IR3567B. It'll be interesting to see how well it overclocks as well as the VRM temperatures (if it has sensors for them).

I'll be lurking around in the Polaris BIOS Editing thread now.

Thank you very much for your help thus far.

I can't seem to change DPM3 memory clock without BSOD. Even setting it 1500MHz will BSOD even though 1600MHz is stable.
I don't think this happened before, so maybe it's something with the new drivers. I'll try an older driver and see if it works.
You are welcome.

As I said I think that hwinfo vddci is not the vddci.

I have tested a 580 nitro+ 4gb and now I am using a xfx 580 gts 8gb with the NCP81022 voltage controller, and it has no VRM temperature monitoring. With the nitro+ one vddci is not seen with hwinfo, with the gts you can see the vddci, but voltage values seems like using an voltage offset that I don't know if its real.

Also afterburner last beta voltage control for them is not working, and after using it is breaking voltage contro for trixx, and riva tuner OSD, so you have to restart the pc. I will heave to test an older versin of it, but I don't know what version to use.

The most weirt thing I see with both is that trying to get an I2C dump with aida 64, an intermittent green screen appears and I have to restart the PC.

I had returned the 580 nitro+ because some times it was getting artifacts and a blue screen after windows login.

I think I am going to return the xfx 580 gts aswell, and try to buy a gpu with a IR3567B controller.

I don't had tested to OC memory to the 380 with 18.12.3 drivers, I was using 18.12.1.1 because I was getting better firestrike scores with it.

Hope you will not have any problem with your 570 nitro+.
mynm is offline  
post #1116 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 03:11 PM
@integralfx
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 211
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
You are welcome.

As I said I think that hwinfo vddci is not the vddci.

I have tested a 580 nitro+ 4gb and now I am using a xfx 580 gts 8gb with the NCP81022 voltage controller, and it has no VRM temperature monitoring. With the nitro+ one vddci is not seen with hwinfo, with the gts you can see the vddci, but voltage values seems like using an voltage offset that I don't know if its real.

Also afterburner last beta voltage control for them is not working, and after using it is breaking voltage contro for trixx, and riva tuner OSD, so you have to restart the pc. I will heave to test an older versin of it, but I don't know what version to use.

The most weirt thing I see with both is that trying to get an I2C dump with aida 64, an intermittent green screen appears and I have to restart the PC.

I had returned the 580 nitro+ because some times it was getting artifacts and a blue screen after windows login.

I think I am going to return the xfx 580 gts aswell, and try to buy a gpu with a IR3567B controller.

I don't had tested to OC memory to the 380 with 18.12.3 drivers, I was using 18.12.1.1 because I was getting better firestrike scores with it.

Hope you will not have any problem with your 570 nitro+.
That sounds a bit concerning... I hope I don't encounter the same issues when I get my 570.

I really wanted a 570/580 with an IR3567B but the only one I know that uses that is the Strix. They are usually more expensive than every other 570/580 so it's really not worth it.

Do you have any information on the NCP81022 like the IR3567B Google docs?

I found the Vout_Max register in the data sheet, but I can't find out what values correspond to what voltage.

BLUuuE is offline  
post #1117 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 03:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 625
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
That sounds a bit concerning... I hope I don't encounter the same issues when I get my 570.

I really wanted a 570/580 with an IR3567B but the only one I know that uses that is the Strix. They are usually more expensive than every other 570/580 so it's really not worth it.

Do you have any information on the NCP81022 like the IR3567B Google docs?

I found the Vout_Max register in the data sheet, but I can't find out what values correspond to what voltage.
The nitro+ 580 was working ok for my with the exception of the problems at windows login, it have a very good heatsink, but I don't know if the 570 is using the same heatsink.

The only 570 with the IR3567B and dual bios I see in my country is this one http://www.xfxforce.com/en-us/produc...x-rx-570p4dfd6 , but if it is using the same heatsink of the 580 gts maybe is not worth it.

Other 570 IR3567B gpus but without dual bios are the gigabyte ones but I have no idea if all of them. You will have to check reviews or the bios and see if you see into the VOI this values 08 96. If you see a 10 96 or you don't see these values is using the 81022.

I don't have a NCP81022 doc. The Vout_Max was not working for my 380, but I don't remember how it is working, I will try it with my 580 if I could, but afterburner I2C seems to not be working.

Edited: I forget that also the sapphire pulse 570 ones are using the IR3567B but without dual bios.

Last edited by mynm; 01-05-2019 at 03:55 PM.
mynm is offline  
post #1118 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-05-2019, 08:18 PM
@integralfx
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 211
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
The nitro+ 580 was working ok for my with the exception of the problems at windows login, it have a very good heatsink, but I don't know if the 570 is using the same heatsink.

The only 570 with the IR3567B and dual bios I see in my country is this one http://www.xfxforce.com/en-us/produc...x-rx-570p4dfd6 , but if it is using the same heatsink of the 580 gts maybe is not worth it.

Other 570 IR3567B gpus but without dual bios are the gigabyte ones but I have no idea if all of them. You will have to check reviews or the bios and see if you see into the VOI this values 08 96. If you see a 10 96 or you don't see these values is using the 81022.

I don't have a NCP81022 doc. The Vout_Max was not working for my 380, but I don't remember how it is working, I will try it with my 580 if I could, but afterburner I2C seems to not be working.

Edited: I forget that also the sapphire pulse 570 ones are using the IR3567B but without dual bios.
The Nitro+ has good VRMs so I shouldn't be too worried about it.

Just having a bit of fun before I get my 570.
1300MHz 1.35v 1700MHz w/ The Stilt's BBBG Timings
FireStrike - 11823 graphics


FireStrike - 13288 graphics (tesselation disabled)


Last edited by BLUuuE; 01-05-2019 at 08:35 PM.
BLUuuE is offline  
post #1119 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-06-2019, 01:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 625
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by BLUuuE View Post
The Nitro+ has good VRMs so I shouldn't be too worried about it.

Just having a bit of fun before I get my 570.
1300MHz 1.35v 1700MHz w/ The Stilt's BBBG Timings
FireStrike - 11823 graphics


FireStrike - 13288 graphics (tesselation disabled)
impressive scores scores and clocks, I remember to see 470 gpus with the fisrt score when it was launched, and the 570 could be near to the second. The 1.35v to the "vddci" also confirms, like @chris89 's test, that is not the vddci voltage.

Edited: The difference between the 580 pulse ans 580 nitro+ heatsink is ridiculous: https://images.techhive.com/images/a...22577-orig.jpg https://www.pcworld.com/article/3196...ht-budget.html .

I don't see a 570 nitro+ vs 580 nitro+ one.

I think that powercolor gpus ones have the also the IR3567B but not sure now.

Last edited by mynm; 01-06-2019 at 03:05 AM.
mynm is offline  
post #1120 of 1125 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 09:28 PM
Nvidia "shill"
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,380
Rep: 27 (Unique: 17)
So I know I am a bit late to this thread but was hoping someone could answer my question. Is there a limit to how much voltage you can edit in the BIOS, because I have the voltage slider in afterburner maxed out and the card tops out at 58-60C and was thinking about giving it 1.25v or something is there any tips on how to go about this? Only other GPU I modified was my pair of GTX 660's and they are a little different from this in terms of editing.

That's about as far as I can get without artifacting or crashing, I know the memory is surprisingly high but I feel the core clock is lacking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	5
Size:	77.7 KB
ID:	273742  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.PNG
Views:	7
Size:	158.9 KB
ID:	273746  


CPU’s I’ve owned: Pentium III-S 1400MHz, P4 630, P4 631, C2D E6320, C2D E6700, X3230, QX9650, X5470, i5 655K, i7 3770K ES, Pentium 2020M, i3 4130T, i5 4690K, i7 5775C, Athlon XP 3200+, E2-1800, Athlon 64 X2 1.8GHz, A10 4600M, Ryzen 5 2600X, Ryzen 9 3900X

GPU’s I‘ve owned: GeForce2 MX400, 8800GTX, GTX 285, GTX 660 SLI, GT 1030, GTX 1070, GTX 1080, GTX 1080 ti, x1300, R9 380, R9 290X, Iris Pro 6200.
Venus
(22 items)
Mars
(10 items)
Jupiter
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Taichi
GPU
MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Armor OC (2.1GHz/12004MHz)
GPU
MSI GT 1030 OC 2GB (GDDR5)
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ Neo RGB 3800MHz 2 x 16GB (16-16-16-32) 1T (Tuned sub-timings) 1.452v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 SSD 250GB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 4TB NAS 7200RPM HDD
Hard Drive
Crucial M500 960GB SATA 2.5-Inch 7mm (with 9.5mm adapter) Internal Solid State Drive CT960M500SSD1 (purchased in 2015)
Optical Drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750W PQ (Semi modular)
Cooling
Corsair Hydro Series H100i v2
Cooling
Noctua NF-P14s redux-1200 PWM (exhaust fan)
Cooling
4 x Noctua NF-P12 redux-1700 PWM (H100i V2 fans)
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered Glass ATX Full Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
Monitor
Sceptre 27" Curved 144Hz Gaming LED Monitor Edge-Less AMD FreeSync DisplayPort HDMI, Metal Black 2019 (C275B-144RN)
Monitor
Acer SB220Q bi 21.5 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) IPS Ultra-Thin Zero Frame Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse
Other
Thermaltake Commander FT Touch Screen 5.25 inch fan controller
Other
Corsair Vengeance Airflow Memory Cooling Fan CMYAF
Other
ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III
CPU
Intel i7-5775C 4GHz 1.2v
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97N-Gaming 5
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2400MHz (2x8GB) 11-13-13-31
Cooling
Thermaltake 7-bladed 92mm
Case
Fractal Design Node 202 Black Mini-ITX
Operating System
Something besides windows 10, literally anything but windows 10
Monitor
Probably a tv
Keyboard
None, controller operated
Mouse
None, controller operated
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600 Stock PBO
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Superclocked
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4 (b-die) 3600MHz (16GB) (16-16-16-36) 1.45v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf NAS 4TB 7200RPM
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Prism AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech Mini Wireless Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off