Software for R9 285 bios edit - Page 28 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Software for R9 285 bios edit

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-08-2016, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 622
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerowalker View Post

So wait, which one is the one to be wanted, IFC on or off?

For better temperatures (68º to 71º), IFC off, tech support say is "legacy setting as other Radeon product lines", and is fan control type 0.

Fan control type 1 is IFC, and tech support say that is "a mode for quiet using purpose and target the GPU temperature as 76 degree C. So that the GPU might up to 8X degree C when running in 3D mode. That is a normal behavior and the GPU can up to 100 degree C."

Is explained at: https://www.overclock.net/t/1561372/hawaii-bios-editing-290-290x-295x2-390-390x
at Fan control modes section, Advanced Fan control mode "is like" sapphire´s IFC.

Other question to the 380 nitro owners. What are yours gpu max voltage at stock? My gpu has 1.175v or 1.188v.

Regards.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 06:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tradition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Recently bought a r9 380 nitro 4gb its stock voltagem goes up to 1.2v and i can get 1100/1650 without voltage and 1200/1650 with voltage quite good BUT the r9 285 that i have in crossfire with it with 1150/1500 has more points in sintetic benchmarks and also in games that dont use more than 2gb o vram

Ryzen 1700 @4.0 1.32v 16gb 3266 cl16 Rx 5700
Tradition is offline  
post #273 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 08:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Scougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 82
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradition View Post

Recently bought a r9 380 nitro 4gb its stock voltagem goes up to 1.2v and i can get 1100/1650 without voltage and 1200/1650 with voltage quite good BUT the r9 285 that i have in crossfire with it with 1150/1500 has more points in sintetic benchmarks and also in games that dont use more than 2gb o vram

Have you increased the power limit? If not, you will keep having the card downclock to stay in the power envelope. There is a reg hack to allow say 50% (or more if you want it) power limit rather than the stock 20% power limit which gets hit even when not overclocked !!!
Scougar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-11-2016, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tradition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Im using 50% power limit thats no it i dod manage to get a bit higher then the r9 285 but with higher clocks 1150 vs 1190 one does 10700 pts on 3dmark the another 10900

Ryzen 1700 @4.0 1.32v 16gb 3266 cl16 Rx 5700
Tradition is offline  
post #275 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 09:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 622
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradition View Post

Recently bought a r9 380 nitro 4gb its stock voltagem goes up to 1.2v and i can get 1100/1650 without voltage and 1200/1650 with voltage quite good BUT the r9 285 that i have in crossfire with it with 1150/1500 has more points in sintetic benchmarks and also in games that dont use more than 2gb o vram

Ok thanks, do you have the 985mhz version or the 1010?

I'm now using the crimson 16.1 driver and now the max voltage is 1.156v.

Does anybody see any change in max voltages in crimson drivers?

Other thing I see is that, I'm doing tests changing voltages, to undervolt but I can't, at PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable, and with ccc drivers if I change voltages, I have a max voltage of 1.23v, but now with crimson driver I have a max voltage of 1.156.

Regards.
mynm is offline  
post #276 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 10:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tradition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Mine is the 1010 edition havent looked in voltages when changed driver i did however on my r9 285 b4 crimson woudnt go over 1150mhz now it goes to 1200 and it is due to driver

Ryzen 1700 @4.0 1.32v 16gb 3266 cl16 Rx 5700
Tradition is offline  
post #277 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 02:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 622
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradition View Post

Mine is the 1010 edition havent looked in voltages when changed driver i did however on my r9 285 b4 crimson woudnt go over 1150mhz now it goes to 1200 and it is due to driver

Ok thanks. I'm not doing OC. I had my gpu at 985/1450 -60mv or 900/1450 -80mv in CCC 15.11.1 and previous, and with Crimsons I'm having to put it at -50mv or -70mv.

Regards.
mynm is offline  
post #278 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
warpuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North of CaNanda
Posts: 745
Rep: 21 (Unique: 17)
Has anybody done this with a HIS Radeon R9 285 IceQ X² OC 2GB ? Futuremark says they are Vision Tek

All stock run

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/10799785

Primary: Crossover 27" 2560 x 1440, Crosshair VI, Ryzen 1600, Flair 2400, GTX 690. Secondary: MSI 890FX GD-70 R 2.0, FX-8350, HD 7790, Kingston 8 GB x 2, Western 1Tb hybrid, VisionTek 1000
[


warpuck is offline  
post #279 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-17-2016, 02:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ansau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 260
Rep: 24 (Unique: 23)
Ok guys, updating a little bit, because I have a lot.

First, I think my r9 285 cannot be recovered, not even with electrical mod by disabling the bios memory. The thing is ATIflash through DOS is not updated to support Tonga. I realized it when testing with a 380 of a friend of mine. It was not detecting the gpu no matter what. So even I managed to bypass the bios memory, I think it would be impossible.
I've also tried a few things, like swapping the gpu when in windows, but as long as I connect the 285 it's pops an instant bsod.

After tons of days I've finally given up and bought a new r9 380 4GB Nitro. Guys, I think I've found how to tweak voltages for Tonga to, not only reach much higher frequencies, but also to reduce the heat produced.
The key is to change the voltages from the last line of the table2. Since Tonga has a dynamic voltage range, there's more than one voltage to consider:
- Red circle (value1) affects the high range and has a huge impact on the temperatures seen in the gpu. As strange as it might be, +0.05v increased the temps by about 4-5ºC.
- Blue circles (value2 and 3) are the low and mid range. This are the most important to look for stability.
- Orange circle voltage (value0) seems to be the target the gpu will ask. I once left with the stock value of 63288 and it crashed when booting a game.


Having that in mind, the reason why overclocking Tonga is such weird seems to be because the stock range is too wide. The stability is determined by the low voltages, and that's why some gpus need +100mV to get just 1150MHz. The +mV also affects the high voltage, making the gpu eating insane voltages and increasing a lot the temperature.

So far, I can do 1200/1625 with these voltages, without needed to add +mV. Temps are quite good, 81-82ºC with fans at 68%.

And now the best thing. Extreme clocks like these...


The benchmark didn't finished and I was seeing some artifacts, but the bios used was not stable at 1200. And yes, 1275MHz cooled by air at 78-79ºC.

PD: Max voltage read in TRIXX is 1.304v for 1200 and 1.344v when tested 1275.
Ansau is offline  
post #280 of 1125 (permalink) Old 01-17-2016, 08:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,468
Rep: 841 (Unique: 323)
Here is ATiFlash with Tonga support, in case you need wink.gif

atiflash.zip 228k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip atiflash.zip (228.3 KB, 163 views)
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off