Activation of cores in Hawaii, Tonga and Fiji (unlockability tester ver 1.6 and atomtool) - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Activation of cores in Hawaii, Tonga and Fiji (unlockability tester ver 1.6 and atomtool)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 292
Rep: 48 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tx12 View Post

Thank you. All zero readings may tell Fury is not supported properly.
UPD: fury support looks to be working, but I need to add some non-zero reading from it.
tx12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 04:12 AM
No more emoji texts :(
 
Duality92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,017
Posting to sub to test Tonga tonight.

| Last Review : Noblechairs Icon | Overclock.net Facebook, Twitter and YouTube | Builds In Progress [The AORUS] [The POS] |


Duality92 is offline  
post #13 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,816
Rep: 129 (Unique: 88)
OOooohhhh, I'm not at home right now, anybody with an MSI 390 able to run this???

Agent Smith1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 08:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ansau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 253
Rep: 24 (Unique: 23)
Here a Gigabyte r9 285.

Adapters detected: 1
Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:6939 - 1458:229D 00
Memory config: 0x500013A9 Elpida
Tonga-class chip with 8 compute units per Shader Engine
SE1 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
SE2 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
SE3 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
SE4 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
28 of 32 CUs are active. HW locks: 4 / SW locks: 0.
Sorry, all 4 disabled CUs can't be unlocked by BIOS replacement.
Ansau is offline  
post #15 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tx12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 292
Rep: 48 (Unique: 37)
tx12 is offline  
post #16 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 12:38 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
brucethemoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,457
Rep: 453 (Unique: 358)
Interesting, I wonder why there isn't a fully enabled Tonga GPU yet.

Sent from my Sig Rig
brucethemoose is offline  
post #17 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 12:40 PM
No more emoji texts :(
 
Duality92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucethemoose View Post

Interesting, I wonder why there isn't a fully enabled Tonga GPU yet.

R9 380X incoming maybe?

| Last Review : Noblechairs Icon | Overclock.net Facebook, Twitter and YouTube | Builds In Progress [The AORUS] [The POS] |


Duality92 is offline  
post #18 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RaduZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 452
Rep: 23 (Unique: 22)
Sapphire R9 285 Dual-X (bought when it was released)
Code:
Adapters detected: 1
Card #1 PCI ID: 1002:6939 - 174B:E306 00
Memory config: 0x500013A9 Elpida
Tonga-class chip with 8 compute units per Shader Engine
SE1 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
SE2 hw/sw: FF200001 / 00000000 [..x.....]
SE3 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
SE4 hw/sw: FF010001 / 00000000 [.......x]
28 of 32 CUs are active. HW locks: 4 / SW locks: 0.
Sorry, all 4 disabled CUs can't be unlocked by BIOS replacement.

Sad panda frown.gif
RaduZ is offline  
post #19 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ansau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 253
Rep: 24 (Unique: 23)
The full tonga exists, but only as a mobile chip, I think it's the r9 m295x. Same happens with Nvidia and the suposed 960ti. which should be the gtx 970m.
Ansau is offline  
post #20 of 1408 (permalink) Old 07-30-2015, 05:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PEJUman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tx12 View Post

Thank you! This chip obviously got 1 failed CU in SE3, so it was cut down to Fury Air.

yeah noticed that too... somewhere (anandtech) I read a reply from AMD marketing rep, that Fury Air always symmetrically disabled. what I see here suggested he was wrong.
nonetheless, I think the day of R9 290 unlockables seems to be behind us, AMD seems intent on HW locks now (looking at the 285s), guessing this is mainly die salvaging from the MAC production line.
PEJUman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off