Fiji Bios Editing ( Fury / Fury X / Nano / Radeon Pro Duo ) - Page 153 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Fiji Bios Editing ( Fury / Fury X / Nano / Radeon Pro Duo )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1521 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 04:27 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Alastair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Benoni (South Africa)
Posts: 6,032
Rep: 260 (Unique: 163)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinsik View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair View Post

what does it mean to have 400MHz straps applied to 500?

It means to make tighter memory straps for 500 Mhz taken from 400 Mhz step.
Like sated in post by gupsterg

"Will replace ROM packs in OP hopefully this weekend . There will be:- i) stock ROM (UEFI) ii) modded ROM with editable VDDC/MVDDC offsets (Non-UEFI) iii) modded ROM with editable VDDC/MVDDC offsets plus 400MHz strap timings in 500MHz & 600MHz straps (Non-UEFI) for Fury Tri-X STD & OC, Fury X and Nano (all ref AMD PCB) "
Oh ok cool. Will the 400mhz straps stil work when running an OC like 600MHz ? Is their a performance boost from running 400MHz straps?

If You Can Cool It! You Can Clock It! (AMD's Vishera)
GHOST rev 3.5
(29 items)
Rura Penthe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.95GHz 1.5V 2700MHz NB/3000MHz HTT
Motherboard
ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
GPU
Sapphire R9-Fury 3840
GPU
Sapphire R9-Fury 3840
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 2133 4x4GB @ 2000 9-9-10-27 1CR
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint HD502HI
Power Supply
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W
Cooling
XSPC D5 Bay Res
Cooling
1x CoolerMaster Storm Force 200
Cooling
2x EK-FC Fury X fullcovers
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE360
Cooling
6x CoolerMaster Jetflo's 120mm
Cooling
Laing D5 Vario
Cooling
EK-FC Terminal Dual Parallel
Cooling
2x EK-FC Fury X Backplates
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream CE280
Cooling
6 Corsair ML140's
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
Dell SE2717H
Keyboard
Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Mionix Alioth
Audio
GX Gaming SW-G2.1 3000
Audio
Kingston Hyper X Cloud Core
CPU
AMD Athlon 860K
Motherboard
Asus A88X-Pro
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
RAM
G-Skill Ares 2133 CL10 8GB (2x4GB)
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000VX003
Optical Drive
Samsung HD502HI
Power Supply
Seagate M12II 620W
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer A30
Case
Corsair Carbide SPEC-02
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit
Keyboard
Razer Lycrosa
CPU
Intel Celeron G1840
Motherboard
MSI Z97-Guard Pro
GPU
Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
GPU
XFX RX480 reference edition 8G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4g
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
RAM
G-Skill Ares F3-1600C9D
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
Power Supply
Gigabyte XP1200M
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Alastair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1522 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 05:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kinsik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair View Post

Oh ok cool. Will the 400mhz straps stil work when running an OC like 600MHz ? Is their a performance boost from running 400MHz straps?
I assume there should be. But need to test this or someone should reply who has already done it.
kinsik is offline  
post #1523 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
Makes very little difference, affects stabilty more IMO. Info is within the thread.

Even just pure HBM clock differences make small difference IMO. If you view my started threads via my profile page you will find a thread with 250+ Fury X 3DM benches. 3x differing GPU clocks, with differing voltage to show negative performance scaling plus 3x HBM clocks thrown in.
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1524 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 07:02 PM
Mentally Insane User
 
99belle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 338
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I'm trying to flash a bios with ATIWin Flash and keep getting error VBIOS image not found. What am I doing wrong?
99belle99 is offline  
post #1526 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 06:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Skyl3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NE USA
Posts: 744
Rep: 27 (Unique: 23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99belle99 View Post

I'm trying to flash a bios with ATIWin Flash and keep getting error VBIOS image not found. What am I doing wrong?

What steps are you following to flash the BIOS?


I've heard you should not flash BIOS from Windows. I have done it and have not run into issues, but if you wish to be ultra safe, try following a guide like this.

How I flashed my BIOS from windows

  1. Verified all windows monitoring software was closed.
  2. Verified switches on GPUs were in first position (closest to rear of case)
  3. Downloaded ATIFlash.
  4. Extracted to C:\AtiFlash
  5. Copied/Downloaded appropriate BIOS file to C:\AtiFlash
  6. Launched an administrative command prompt and navigated to the AtiFlash folder via:
    Code:
    CD C:\AtiFlash
    
  7. Found the ID's of my GPUs by running:
    Code:
    AtiFlash -i
    
    -i Will list VGA devices and show their IDs.

  8. Backed up my old BIOS by running the following where X is the ID of the VGA device I got in the previous step and backupfile.rom is where the rom will be stored:
    Code:
    AtiFlash -s X backupfile.rom
    
    -s Saves current BIOS image from flash memory of VGA to a location you specify

  9. Wrote new BIOS by running:
    Code:
    AtiFlash -f -p X newbios.rom
    
    -f Forces flashing regardless of security checks
    -p Writes bios from file to VGA flash

CAUTION
There's an inherent risk with playing with your BIOS despite any amount of precautions you take. Please be very sure of what you are doing before following these steps. I am simply providing you with the method I chose to flash my BIOS. I am not claiming this to be the best method or the only method and I certainly won't take responsibility if following this damages your cards.

If I haven't scared you away and you do try to follow this and run into an error, take a screenshot or copy and paste your Command prompt window here.
Skyl3r is offline  
post #1527 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,160
Rep: 774 (Unique: 354)
gupsterg is offline  
post #1528 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 08:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Skyl3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NE USA
Posts: 744
Rep: 27 (Unique: 23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

OP has guide on GUI/CLI flashing within windows and warnings not to have monitoring apps, etc open when flashing.
Personally, I was not able to figure out how to flash a BIOS from the OP when I first tried. Seeing that the person I responded to was in the same boat, I felt it prudent to provide them the guidance that I would have needed. But, I should have included not running any monitoring software. I will update my post with that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

There is no pure dos flash tool for Fiji onwards wink.gif .
The guide I linked to won't work on Fiji?
Skyl3r is offline  
post #1529 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-22-2017, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AlKappaccino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Greetings,

late to this party, but anyways. I started to oc my Fury X again, after I went back to stock when ReLive came live and now I want to share some OC results with you.

I use OPs custom BIOS and changed MVDDC back to stock 1.300V. My card at stock runs VID on DPM7 with 1.187V which I changed to 1.231V. I used the already set +25mV offset but decreased VID of DPM0-DPM6 accordingly to match stock values again. So DPM0-6 is stock and DPM7 is around 1.256V under usage.

Core Clock on 1140mhz at 1.256V runs stable so far, running multiple stress tests. OC in percent = +8%

HBM can run stock with -25mV but for 545mhz, 1.300V is necessary Going higher results in memory error. OC in percent = +8%

GPU gets around 48-50°C, VDDC Temp get as high as 65°C and MVDDC is around 49°C. Logged with HWiNFO64.
I use a pretty aggressive cooling curve though, running 1,900rpm most of the time, which is an acceptable noise level for me.

And before I forget, my HW is: Windows 10, AMD ReLive 17.3.1, Radeon Fury X, Xeon E3-1231v3, [email protected] of DDR3 ram

So I ran a few benches to see the performance difference between stock, core oc, HBM oc and both overclocked. I ran each test 3 times and used the average of those for the diagrams.


Valley Benchmark (Click to show)




So first of, Valley benchmark with Ultra Preset. Min and Max FPS is not that important. 0,1/1/99-percentile would be much better, but I wanted to keep it simple. Let's talk about avg. FPS then.
We can see, that HBM oc only already gives us a boost of around +12%. Core OC gives us a boost of +15%. OCing both, results in literally the same, even a bit less. Even though the card maintained their max clock speeds, some kind of throttling seems to take place.

3D Mark (Click to show)




[/IMG]

Next up, 3D Mark. In Fire Strikes High Performance test, HBM oc gives +2%, core and both oced give around +8% performance boost. Again Core gives you more performance per % of oc, but oc on both tends to be even a tidbit worse than ocing only the core.

Heading over to 3D Marks Time Spy benchmark, we see a very interesting result. HBM oc now gives us -1.7% performance in overall score, on graphics it's withing margin of error. Core oc however increases our performance by around +5%. Again, OC on botch results the same.

Deus Ex: Mankind Divided (Click to show)

On Deus Ex: Mankind Divided (DX:MD) I used the built in benchmark on DX12, combined with a custom preset (Ultra with tweaks) I set up for my game. We can now see, that HBM oc does nothing and even the 8% core clock increase gives us only 4,8% FPS increase. I was curious whether the increased HBM clock really does nothing, so I also measured the frametimes using OCAT/PresentMon with those results:

Frame Times over 30sec in DX:MD (Click to show)




While definitely not the best frametimes, we see that HBM oc performs exactly as stock. Only core clock increase results in a better avg. result but oc on both give us the shortest spikes and overall best timings. Which is interesting, considering the reported FPS is the same.

Conclusion: While not the most comprehensive benchmark, I get a similar pattern throughout each test and I try to extend that when I got time. HBM oc does literally nothing at all, with the exception of Valley benchmark. Increasing the core clock results in minor performance increases, but you're very limited on how far you can push the card. A typical combination of both, seems to run the card into some kind of throttling (The clockspeeds stayed at max though). We can often see a slight decreased performance, even though it should be always slightly higher at minimum. But temps are okay, so are the used voltages. As of now, it seems that you gain nothing from HBM OC, but it may vary in different applications. I'll try to look further into this.

Oh and yeah, here are some AIDA64 screen I took. One is full stock (1050/500), the other full oc (1140/545):

AIDA64 (Click to show)


AlKappaccino is offline  
post #1530 of 1990 (permalink) Old 03-22-2017, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
0451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 968
Rep: 40 (Unique: 35)
Wow, just wow. +rep

Very detailed. Thank you for this!

I notice that my 3D mark score is much higher at 1140/600 compared with 1140/500. I wonder what causes the throttling in your situation.

0451 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off