Fiji Bios Editing ( Fury / Fury X / Nano / Radeon Pro Duo ) - Page 196 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Fiji Bios Editing ( Fury / Fury X / Nano / Radeon Pro Duo )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1951 of 1990 (permalink) Old 09-13-2018, 12:04 AM
Tank destroyer and a god
 
Offler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,284
Rep: 84 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by diggiddi View Post
i'd say go for an 8gb card when updating, the 4gb will hold you back in future games, an 8gb 580 can match and even beat a fury x in some titles
So far best argument i heard against it...

My current concern with Fury X is AIO watercooler. No idea whats going on inside loop, no idea how long will the tubes survive, so i would like to go for R9 Nano just for this reason.

Getting one would solve my concerns at price of some performance (since I have the old noisy pump, it would not be much more noisier than it is now). Getting two would give the raw performance (as the Crossfire results seems to be far better than I expected).

Regarding power consumption - 175w seems wit those parameters seems to me like a great choice in terms of "Tocal cost of ownership", even in case when those cards will be Xfired.

Alternatively there is Nvidia 1080 Mini with 175w TDP (530 euro purchasing price), but I would prefer AMD solution.

--- Building in progress * AMD Threadripper 1900x * Asrock X399M Taichi * Radeon VII * Gskill Xflare / Samsung B-die 3200 14-14-14-32 * Samsung 970 PRO 512gb * Fractal Design Node 804 * Seasonic Prime Ultra 850 Titanium *
--- Desktop * AMD Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3,8GHz * ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 * Gigabyte R9 FuryX * A-Data XPG 2.0 / Elpida Hyper MNH 1866 @ 1600 6-6-6-18 * LSI 9211-8i / Raid 0 / 5x Corsair Force 3 GS * Creative Xfi Fatal1ty * Intel I210-T1 * Steelseries 6Gv2 * Logitech MX518 * Samsung U28E590D *
Offler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1952 of 1990 (permalink) Old 10-10-2018, 12:25 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Korgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 22
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Hi!

I would very thankful if someone could do the mem timings mod on my Nano bios.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Fijimod2.zip (44.7 KB, 5 views)
Korgan is offline  
post #1953 of 1990 (permalink) Old 10-10-2018, 03:13 AM
RadeonMOD Author
 
Ne01 OnnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: HolyWater Village
Posts: 648
Rep: 22 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by Korgan View Post
Hi!

I would very thankful if someone could do the mem timings mod on my Nano bios.
Ask Fox2232

https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/am...00302/page-101

Fat Ne01 ZEN RiG
(24 items)
CPU
ryZEN 1700 k17
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370
GPU
Radeon Vega 64 XTX LiquiD Limited Edition 1800/1200 1.137v
RAM
HyperX Predator 4x8GB DDR4-4133 CL19-21-21-41
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro
Hard Drive
Seagate New Baracuda 128MB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960Pro M.2 PCIe
Optical Drive
LiteOn DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic/XFX 780tW Black Ed. Platinum
Cooling
Cooler Master AiO WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD + Side Fan (Copper Solid™ Base & Radiator with HRSI™ )
Case
BIG Tower Corsair 750D SilentO MoD, Brushed Aluminium, 5 fans/dust free
Operating System
Win_X PRO x64 Custom Build
Monitor
iiyama ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 1440p 74Hz 10Bit with FreeSync™
Keyboard
Razer DeathStalker LED, 1000Hz Ultra Pooling 0.01ms Pro Gamer ED
Mouse
ROCCAT Nyth Modular MMO 1000Hz Ultra Pooling 0.01ms 12000 CPI XtreME Gamer ED
Mousepad
ROCCAT Taito – Shiny Black Medium w/Silver Nano Fibre Matrix surface
Audio
Audio-Technica ATH-AD1000X w/ATMOs™
Audio
SB-Zx Gamer ED, PCIe Gold Plated with Nichicon “Fine Gold” Japan-Plati Capacitors Mod (Hardware DTS™ & DolbyDigital™ )
Audio
Custom PyramiD™ 5.1 Woofer & Amplituner >300W + SB-Zx
Audio
Magnat Vector 2 - POW: 80W / 120W
Audio
Magnat Monitor Supreme 102 - POW: 60W / 120W
Audio
Jamo Pj 6000b - POW: 70W / 100W
Audio
Cables: Ultra Hi EFI PlaTinuum (B&R Pure Copper CU w/Silver 3.5mm)
▲ hide details ▲
Ne01 OnnA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1954 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-25-2018, 05:01 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,072
Rep: 768 (Unique: 351)
@Infuriare

Firstly sorry for the delay and thank you for your patience.

I felt it was best to post this rather then keep in private message. I took your provided VBIOS and created tables list. Took the powerplay and then added the extra HBM clock you wanted. As the table had grown, the table length for powerplay was adjusted. As the extra data in the MCLK table had shifted the other tables, the pointers to those tables in powerplay were adjusted also.

Spoiler!


Afterwards I also had to move back the UEFI to correct place once the new powerplay was in VBIOS. Also adjusted the pointers at top of VBIOS for tables to account for the extended powerplay.

Try the VBIOS and let me know how it goes for you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Strix_mod.zip (106.2 KB, 16 views)
gupsterg is offline  
post #1955 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-29-2018, 02:47 AM
HWBOT Overclocker
 
Infuriare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
@Infuriare

Firstly sorry for the delay and thank you for your patience.

I felt it was best to post this rather then keep in private message. I took your provided VBIOS and created tables list. Took the powerplay and then added the extra HBM clock you wanted. As the table had grown, the table length for powerplay was adjusted. As the extra data in the MCLK table had shifted the other tables, the pointers to those tables in powerplay were adjusted also.



Afterwards I also had to move back the UEFI to correct place once the new powerplay was in VBIOS. Also adjusted the pointers at top of VBIOS for tables to account for the extended powerplay.

Try the VBIOS and let me know how it goes for you.
Many thanks for the step by step guide! Have now tested the bios out and it works perfectly on the older 16.12.2 drivers with the card dropping down to 100mhz at idle. However, using later drivers will cause the gpu to get stuck at the lower of the two dpm states, with awful performance in benchmarks and low bandwidth with oclmembench confirming it.
Infuriare is offline  
post #1956 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-29-2018, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,072
Rep: 768 (Unique: 351)
gupsterg is offline  
post #1957 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-29-2018, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
buildzoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 287
Rep: 38 (Unique: 23)
Can you try hard lock the BIOS in the high speed state? I have all my furys locked to full speed

Keep Calm and Raise Vcore

3960X 4.8Ghz 1.45V | 4x4GB RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34-2T | Rampage IV Extreme | R9 Fury Tri-X 1145/570 1.3V core | Cooler Master V1000
buildzoid is offline  
post #1958 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-29-2018, 04:32 PM
Useful idiot
 
Minotaurtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 2,373
Rep: 80 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
No problem .

Nothing I can do about how the later drivers work with Fiji. Truly seems they just gimped Fiji from drivers after v16.12.2 .
I seem to have managed to not get scathed with the new drivers somehow... I checked and there actually is still a difference between my modded bios and the stock one... a pretty big difference actually... enough to make me think that the memory clock is still working too... mostly because a 25mhz increase in core isn't enough to get the difference I'm seeing.... still thinking of jumping to vega 64 or a gtx 1080 since prices have come down some now.


edit: I just remembered about the power mod in my bios... so it may just all be down to that... I have the power limit set to something like 400 watts... and I see it pulling over 300 from time to time according to hwinfo

Intel who?


Minotaurtoo is offline  
post #1959 of 1990 (permalink) Old 11-30-2018, 12:20 AM - Thread Starter
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,072
Rep: 768 (Unique: 351)
Quote: Originally Posted by buildzoid View Post
Can you try hard lock the BIOS in the high speed state? I have all my furys locked to full speed
Yes that would work but defeats what I think Infuriare was after.

Quote: Originally Posted by Minotaurtoo View Post
I seem to have managed to not get scathed with the new drivers somehow... I checked and there actually is still a difference between my modded bios and the stock one... a pretty big difference actually... enough to make me think that the memory clock is still working too... mostly because a 25mhz increase in core isn't enough to get the difference I'm seeing.... still thinking of jumping to vega 64 or a gtx 1080 since prices have come down some now.


edit: I just remembered about the power mod in my bios... so it may just all be down to that... I have the power limit set to something like 400 watts... and I see it pulling over 300 from time to time according to hwinfo
Don't use a 3D load to determine if the HBM OC has an affect. Use OCLmembench/AIDA64 GPGPU bennch, etc.
gupsterg is offline  
post #1960 of 1990 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 07:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Garwinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
I used the BIOS package provided in the first post with added voltages offsets for Fury X. The description in the first post mentions that HBM is put at 1.275V so you have to add to this yourself to get the 1.3V. I have tried these offset-enabled bioses before without issue, but now, no matter how high I put the offset for HBM, it stays at 1.275V. It looks like at least the HBM offsets do not work anymore. For the core I am not really sure, I do see a higher voltage for the core, but that could be the build-in offset of about 25mV mentioned in the first post as well. Has this anything to do with what is mentioned for infuriare's problem?
Garwinski is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off