Polaris Bios Editing ( RX5xx / RX4xx ) - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Polaris Bios Editing ( RX5xx / RX4xx )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-01-2016, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
generaleramon Level 1
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCIEgate View Post

ATIFlash can't find the card (no support yet, i guess).
Any possibility to flash this BIOS otherwise?

Using Latest version ? https://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2531/atiflash-2-71
generaleramon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-01-2016, 09:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
PCIEgate Level 1
 
PCIEgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post

Using Latest version ? https://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2531/atiflash-2-71
Sure, this will probably only work with the updated BIOS tools provided for the reviewers: http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-rx-480-4gb-versus-radeon-rx-480-8gb_183576
Maybe one of the reviewers can share them.
PCIEgate is offline  
post #13 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-01-2016, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
generaleramon Level 1
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 233
RX480MEMMODv2.zip 98k .zip file

Ram speed limit 2500mhz
Attached Files
File Type: zip RX480MEMMODv2.zip (98.4 KB, 248 views)
generaleramon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-01-2016, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
larrydavid Level 1
 
larrydavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post

RX480MEMMODv2.zip 98k .zip file

Ram speed limit 2500mhz

What about changing the memory voltage?
larrydavid is offline  
post #15 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 05:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
Cross-Flow Level 1
 
Cross-Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Nice Work biggrin.gif

Is there anny Chance to flash a 4 GB RX 480 to a 8 GB RX 480?
Cross-Flow is offline  
post #16 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 08:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
BulletBait is an unknown quantity at this point BulletBait is an unknown quantity at this point
 
BulletBait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cross-Flow View Post

Nice Work biggrin.gif

Is there anny Chance to flash a 4 GB RX 480 to a 8 GB RX 480?

Have you actually pulled you shroud off and seen 8 physical RAM modules. Otherwise, from what I hear, that was only reviewer's cards that came like that and it had a BIOS switch deactivating 4GB of VRAM. The reference consumer cards should only come with 4 physical VRAM modules.



BulletBait is offline  
post #17 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 10:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
eparra83 Level 1
 
eparra83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
I bought an xfx rx 480 4GB on launch. I replaced the thermal paste and I saw 8 Samsung memory chips. I downloaded an xfx rx 480 8GB bios from the tech power up database but I'm not sure what flash utility I can use. Any help would be appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BulletBait View Post

Have you actually pulled you shroud off and seen 8 physical RAM modules. Otherwise, from what I hear, that was only reviewer's cards that came like that and it had a BIOS switch deactivating 4GB of VRAM. The reference consumer cards should only come with 4 physical VRAM modules.
eparra83 is offline  
post #18 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 10:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
jackalopeater Level 1
 
jackalopeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by eparra83 View Post

I bought an xfx rx 480 4GB on launch. I replaced the thermal paste and I saw 8 Samsung memory chips. I downloaded and xfx rx 480 8GB bios from the tech power up database but I'm not sure what flash utility I can use. Any help would be appreciated.

Same thing here, all the memory modules are sitting pretty....waiting to be flashed from a 4GB to an 8GB...but ATIWINFLASH isn't recognizing the card as a Radeon card, lol.

jackalopeater is offline  
post #19 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 11:22 PM
Smug, Jaded, Enervated.
GHADthc is an unknown quantity at this point GHADthc is an unknown quantity at this point
 
GHADthc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Terra Australis
Posts: 1,206
Oh wow, that is interesting...I will be paying close attention to this thread.

I also wonder if the chips used for RX 480's are actually the rumoured 40 CU chips, and just have AMD's usual software locks on them to disable 'faulty' CU's, would be pretty cool if something like this actually played out (Wouldn't surprise me, with the trend of the last few generations of cards).

Forever a WIP.
(15 items)
CPU
2700X (XFR2/PBO @ 4.25Ghz ).
Motherboard
Asus CH7 Wifi.
GPU
GTX 1080Ti w/ Raijintek Morpheus.
RAM
G.Skill Flare-X 16GB 3200C14 (Running @ 3466Mhz C15).
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 250GB (OS), Seagate Ironwolf Pro 6TB (250GB SSD partition+2GB Ram StoreMI setup), Kingston UV400 500GB SSD (half partitioned).
Power Supply
Silverstone Strider Gold 850W ST85F-GS.
Cooling
Stock cooling....(Custom loop build in progress).
Case
Silverstone TJ11 (Custom loop project)..currently in Lian Li V2000 Plus.
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro N.
Monitor
Catleap Yamakasi Q270B @ 110Hz.
Keyboard
Steelseries 6Gv2.
Mouse
Zowie EC2-A.
Mousepad
Puretrak Talent.
Audio
Burson Play, Monoprice Monolith M1060C, Rode NTA1 (With Rode arm), Behringer PS400.
Other
2060mm of radiators stuffed inside/outside a TJ11 in the works + 2x D5 strong, Koolance RP-452X2, Koolance CTR-CD1224, blocks, fittings etc etc...
▲ hide details ▲
GHADthc is offline  
post #20 of 5209 (permalink) Old 07-03-2016, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
PCIEgate Level 1
 
PCIEgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 38
An updated ATIFlash is included in the reviewer BIOS files:



Just need someone to share them (ATIFlash.exe would be enough).
PCIEgate is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off