Polaris Bios Editing ( RX5xx / RX4xx ) - Page 530 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Polaris Bios Editing ( RX5xx / RX4xx )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5291 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 261
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
I know your tool, seems great to test the memory timings without flashing . But it have the same problem of the rest of software less wattman, like you can see here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/27868488-post5211.html . It don't have an auto button to apply the voltages. You know that wattman have two modes the auto and the manual one. Manual and auto mode are using different voltages, the ones all the tool are showing are the manual ones, not the auto ones. The auto mode is using an 25mv avfs range of voltages for per dpm and the manual is using a fixed voltage.

So I can't use your tool to test the timinings, because I want to use auto voltages.

What program are you using to do you tool?, is it visual studio 2019?.
i still don´t understand if and how i can finetune the Autovoltage applied. Idle and Max voltage is easy, but the other DPMs are hard to edit. Some suggestions? tuning ulEfuseMin is clearly helping a bit but i can´t do a precise job with that.
generaleramon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5292 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 05:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 608
Rep: 53 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
has someone tried to go lower than [email protected](Reference RX480)? Ultralow idle volts and zerofan is nice. 675mv using a -25mv offset from the OS seems fine, but 675mv via Bios is crashing when the drivers are loaded. Just curious

I have tested 650mv, it is shown in OverdriveNTool, but it seems is bloked to 700mv. I have changed the dpm 0 voltage and the ulMinVddc in asicprofiling table. Maybe you didn't have changed the ulMinVddc and that is why driver is crashing.


Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
i still don´t understand if and how i can finetune the Autovoltage applied. Idle and Max voltage is easy, but the other DPMs are hard to edit. Some suggestions? tuning ulEfuseMin is clearly helping a bit but i can´t do a precise job with that.
Auto and manual voltages are diferent and independent between them.

The auto voltages are the default used ones and are using a range of voltages for per dpm. The voltage range can be 0 or 25mv for the dpm7 depending of asic quality, if with dpm7 clock the voltage is the usMaxVoltage_0_25mv, it is 0, but it seems that there are other clocks like around 1411mhz that is likea ceiling for the range even if the voltage is lower than usMaxVoltage_0_25mv. Auto voltages are not shown by any tool or wattman, you only can see it blocking dpms.

Manual voltages, are using a fixed voltage for per dpm, are the ones you see at tools and wattman.

ulEfuseMin is more or less as a voltage offset and is used to set the defult manual voltages, not the auto ones, at least in 580 and 590 gpus. But it is not working ok for lowering voltages because it can lower in excess lower dpm voltages.

If you want to lower manual voltages is better to use wattman or a tool to set them, and apply them at start. Wattman is not saving profiles for me. What is working for me is to set a OverdriveNTool profile loaded by comands at windows start with a task created by windows task schedules, and I suppose with Afertburner but I don't have tested it. ONT command loader profiles are using manual voltages and Afterburner is using always manual voltages.

Maybe I have to explain better how I see is working asic profiling table to set auto and manual voltages.

This is one 480 asic profiling table, it can be diferent for you:

0C 01 03 06 38 C1 01 00 80 38 01 00 38 00 06 0A
6A 24 09 00 80 1A 06 00 E8 03 00 00 0C 01 18 08
20 03 00 00 B0 04 00 00 38 C1 01 00 38 C1 01 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 34 C4 01 00
43 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 C0 FF 08 0F
08 31 AC 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 4B 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 2B 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 9B 02 00 00
03 00 00 00 B8 01 00 00 76 02 00 00 2A 03 00 00
84 03 00 00 FC 03 00 00 56 04 00 00 BA 04 00 00
14 05 00 00 00 35 0C 00 00 35 0C 00 98 E0 0E 00
90 05 10 00 38 67 10 00 E0 C8 10 00 88 2A 11 00
30 8C 11
-----------00 A7 00 00 00 A2 04 00 00 BE 01 00 00
1B 00 00 00 00 00 0C 05 FE FF B5 9C 05 00 CE FF
FF FF 00 00 00 00 F3 0D 03 00 80 60 FE FF FD F8
FF FF 0A 03 CD FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 8A 00 F1 FF
FF FF F8 11 00 01 00 01 00 01 00 00

The first part is used to set the defult manual voltages, and the second to set the auto ones.
The blue values are used to set the min and max manual voltages.

Dpm 0 is using manual voltages so ulMinVddc is used for it.
The green one is usMaxVoltage_0_25mv and is used to set the max auto voltage.

About the rest of values I have written about them in some recent post.

It seems AMD where kidding us for 3 years, or in some point they starts to use auto voltages as default ones. I'm a little bit tired of this.

Last edited by mynm; 05-18-2019 at 05:39 AM.
mynm is offline  
post #5293 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 05:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kilogrm70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 48
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Does anyone happen to have a copy of the der8auer RX 480 Unlocked Air bios? The download link for it at the page below seems to be corrupted.

http://overclocking.guide/download/a...cked-air-bios/
kilogrm70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5294 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 01:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 148
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by kilogrm70 View Post
Does anyone happen to have a copy of the der8auer RX 480 Unlocked Air bios? The download link for it at the page below seems to be corrupted.

http://overclocking.guide/download/a...cked-air-bios/
The download link actually downloads the whole file, but prepends some error messages so the file isn't recognised as a zip file.

I made a simple Python script that downloads the file, removes the error messages and saves it as bios.zip.
Code:
from urllib import request

URL = 'https://overclocking.guide/download/amd-radeon-rx-480-unlocked-air-bios/?wpdmdl=2394'

with request.urlopen(URL) as response:
    data = response.read()
    zip_header_start = data.find(b'\x50\x4b')
    if zip_header_start != -1:
        with open('bios.zip', 'wb') as file:
            file.write(data[zip_header_start:])
            print('Saved to bios.zip')
    else:
        print('Invalid download link')
Attached Files
File Type: zip bios.zip (344.2 KB, 10 views)

BLUuuE is offline  
post #5295 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 03:42 AM - Thread Starter
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 261
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
I have tested 650mv, it is shown in OverdriveNTool, but it seems is bloked to 700mv. I have changed the dpm 0 voltage and the ulMinVddc in asicprofiling table. Maybe you didn't have changed the ulMinVddc and that is why driver is crashing.




Auto and manual voltages are diferent and independent between them.

The auto voltages are the default used ones and are using a range of voltages for per dpm. The voltage range can be 0 or 25mv for the dpm7 depending of asic quality, if with dpm7 clock the voltage is the usMaxVoltage_0_25mv, it is 0, but it seems that there are other clocks like around 1411mhz that is likea ceiling for the range even if the voltage is lower than usMaxVoltage_0_25mv. Auto voltages are not shown by any tool or wattman, you only can see it blocking dpms.

Manual voltages, are using a fixed voltage for per dpm, are the ones you see at tools and wattman.

ulEfuseMin is more or less as a voltage offset and is used to set the defult manual voltages, not the auto ones, at least in 580 and 590 gpus. But it is not working ok for lowering voltages because it can lower in excess lower dpm voltages.

If you want to lower manual voltages is better to use wattman or a tool to set them, and apply them at start. Wattman is not saving profiles for me. What is working for me is to set a OverdriveNTool profile loaded by comands at windows start with a task created by windows task schedules, and I suppose with Afertburner but I don't have tested it. ONT command loader profiles are using manual voltages and Afterburner is using always manual voltages.

Maybe I have to explain better how I see is working asic profiling table to set auto and manual voltages.

This is one 480 asic profiling table, it can be diferent for you:

0C 01 03 06 38 C1 01 00 80 38 01 00 38 00 06 0A
6A 24 09 00 80 1A 06 00 E8 03 00 00 0C 01 18 08
20 03 00 00 B0 04 00 00 38 C1 01 00 38 C1 01 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 34 C4 01 00
43 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 C0 FF 08 0F
08 31 AC 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 4B 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 2B 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 9B 02 00 00
03 00 00 00 B8 01 00 00 76 02 00 00 2A 03 00 00
84 03 00 00 FC 03 00 00 56 04 00 00 BA 04 00 00
14 05 00 00 00 35 0C 00 00 35 0C 00 98 E0 0E 00
90 05 10 00 38 67 10 00 E0 C8 10 00 88 2A 11 00
30 8C 11
-----------00 A7 00 00 00 A2 04 00 00 BE 01 00 00
1B 00 00 00 00 00 0C 05 FE FF B5 9C 05 00 CE FF
FF FF 00 00 00 00 F3 0D 03 00 80 60 FE FF FD F8
FF FF 0A 03 CD FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 8A 00 F1 FF
FF FF F8 11 00 01 00 01 00 01 00 00

The first part is used to set the defult manual voltages, and the second to set the auto ones.
The blue values are used to set the min and max manual voltages.

Dpm 0 is using manual voltages so ulMinVddc is used for it.
The green one is usMaxVoltage_0_25mv and is used to set the max auto voltage.

About the rest of values I have written about them in some recent post.

It seems AMD where kidding us for 3 years, or in some point they starts to use auto voltages as default ones. I'm a little bit tired of this.
Thanks for the tips, my first card can idle @700mv, the second one is stable @750mv. About the rest, i have set the max voltage to 1150mv and i'm tuning the other DPMs with ulEfuseMin, not perfect but it's something.
generaleramon is offline  
post #5296 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 04:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 608
Rep: 53 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
Thanks for the tips, my first card can idle @700mv, the second one is stable @750mv. About the rest, i have set the max voltage to 1150mv and i'm tuning the other DPMs with ulEfuseMin, not perfect but it's something.

So are your 480s using manual mode as default?. Are you getting a max voltage of 1.15v without changing to manual mode with wattman or other tool?. Don't you have set usMaxVoltage_0_25mv to 1150mv?.
mynm is offline  
post #5297 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 261
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by mynm View Post
So are your 480s using manual mode as default?. Are you getting a max voltage of 1.15v without changing to manual mode with wattman or other tool?. Don't you have set usMaxVoltage_0_25mv to 1150mv?.
Full "Auto"
ulMaxVddc > 1150mv
ulMinVddc > 700mv
ulEvvDefaultVddc > 1150mv
ulEvvNoCalcVddc > 1150mv
usMaxVoltage_0_25mv > 1150mv
generaleramon is offline  
post #5298 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 608
Rep: 53 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
Full "Auto"
ulMaxVddc > 1150mv
ulMinVddc > 700mv
ulEvvDefaultVddc > 1150mv
ulEvvNoCalcVddc > 1150mv
usMaxVoltage_0_25mv > 1150mv

Ok, so if you are using auto mode it shoult be only using usMaxVoltage_0_25mv as a max voltages and no the other values. Setting ulMaxVddc, mvulEvvDefaultVddc and ulEvvNoCalcVddc to a diferent value of the one you set to usMaxVoltage_0_25mv you could see if your 480s are using a diferent votage for auto and manual.



The rest of the second half of the table values before usMaxVoltage_0_25mv, for me are used for auto mode, and are like a voltage offset, like ulEfuseMin for maual ones. I have tested to do them all 0 and I don't see any problem, but I have no idea if they are doing only that or they have other funtion for the voltages. Some of they names are related to avfs, so these ones should be ok to change.


Edited: If you want lower voltages I think is better to use 590 asic profiling table, with it you will get lower voltages for auto. And not messing around with all the values and losing the time.

Last edited by mynm; 05-19-2019 at 07:58 AM.
mynm is offline  
post #5299 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 09:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gammagoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 248
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
IDK if you guys have seen this, https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/am...he-fly.426435/

"The electricity markets in the two most-populous states couldn’t be more different. California government heavily regulates electricity while Texas allows free market competition in most of the state.
Yet, Texas produces more than double the amount of wind, solar and other renewable electricity as California while California’s retail electric rates were 89 percent higher than Texas’ in 2017."
Forbes
Lighthugger
(8 items)
CPU
8700K
Motherboard
Hero-X
GPU
1080ti
RAM
F4-3200C14-8GRV
Cooling
Intel Raystorm pro
Cooling
D5
Cooling
HWLABS 560mm
Operating System
Win10
▲ hide details ▲
gammagoat is offline  
post #5300 of 5343 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 261
Rep: 39 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by gammagoat View Post
Thanks! i will test it for sure...but i'm afraid my timings are already maxed out. I have a slightly new set now (let's call it "Ubermix v3.3"). 242GB/[email protected] Not bad i must say.
generaleramon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off