A temporary fix for the excess PCI-E slot power draw for the reference RX 480 cards - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

A temporary fix for the excess PCI-E slot power draw for the reference RX 480 cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Firstly: This fix is by no means an official one and you will be using it at your own risk. If you for any reason manage to fry your card while using it, you are not entitled to make any claims for warranty exchange (RMA).

As soon as the bios flashing software supporting Ellesmere becomes available, I'll be releasing a modified bios which makes the necessary changes automatically.

The procedure is rather simple, and can be done on any software which supports I2C control on Radeon graphics. Personally I recommend MSI Afterburner for the job.

- Download and install the newest MSI Afterburner
- Go to the installation folder of MSI Afterburner (where the MSIAfterburner.exe is located) and open a new command window ("Left Shift + Right Mouse Click" when no file is selected)
- Additional step: Verify that the I2C interface to the VRM controller is working by typing following command: "MSIAfterburner /ri06,08,0D" (without the quotes). If the response is ": 20" or ":44" you're good to go.
- The two commands you need to input are following: "MSIAfterburner /wi06,08,1E,BB" and "MSIAfterburner /wi06,08,1F,B0".

Once you have given these commands the power draw from the PCI-E slot has reduced and moved towards the PCI-E power connector. The recommended programming value is "B" (/wi06,08,1E,BB and /wi06,08,1F,B0), however you can go set it to anywhere between "B" and "F". Higher the value, more of the power draw will be directed to the PCI-E power connector.

Do note that this fix must be re-applied after every reboot.

EDIT: Added the I2C response for IR3567B controller (0x44).
IR3567A = 0x20.

The fix applies for both!


////////////////////////////////////

Update (alternative, more permanent way)

EDIT: Removed. Currently the Polaris bioses appear to be signature protected, which prevents any kind of modifcations to tables affecting the frequencies, voltages or power limits. The modified bioses will work otherwise normally, however the display driver will not load. The modified bioses must be sent to AMDs signature server, which recalculates the new security signature for the bios contents. A service which is not available for end-users, obviously.
The Stilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:19 AM
*cough* Stock *cough*
 
Nukemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,711
Rep: 129 (Unique: 101)
This is very interesting. I do not have a 480 to test on.

Thanks for posting this. thumb.gif

Gaming
(15 items)
Media Center
(17 items)
CPU
2600K @ 4.4
Motherboard
Maximus IV Gene-z
GPU
Asus Dual 1070 OC with Artic Mono Plus
RAM
G.SKILL F3-1866C9D-16GXM Ripjaws X 16GB
Hard Drive
M4 256
Hard Drive
MX 300
Optical Drive
Liteon Slot load
Power Supply
Corsair 850HX
Cooling
H80i
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 HP 64 bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2420Z
Keyboard
Logitech G810 Orion
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
X-fi Titanium Fatality
CPU
i5 750
Motherboard
h55n usb3
GPU
msi gtx 650 ti
RAM
Corsair XMS3 CMX8GX3M2A1600C9
Hard Drive
WDC Red 3tb
Hard Drive
M4 128
Hard Drive
WDC scorpio Blue 2.5
Optical Drive
Sony AD-7690H-01
Power Supply
FSP SFX 300 watt
Cooling
Geminii S
Case
SG05
Operating System
Windows 7 HP 64 bit
Monitor
SyncMaster 245t
Keyboard
Logitech Wave
Mouse
Logitech G9
Audio
Sound Blaster Omni
Other
HD PVR
▲ hide details ▲
Nukemaster is offline  
post #3 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:31 AM
kizwan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:38 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,811
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is online now  
post #5 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

+rep thumb.gif , sweet share for aiding the AMD community.

Thanks, there was indeed an error. Luckily only in the sample, not in the actual command biggrin.gif
The Stilt is offline  
post #6 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 08:50 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,811
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
gupsterg is online now  
post #7 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 09:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
I-o-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Wow, thanks for that.

It would be nice if you could elaborate more on which component you talk to and what the values mean.

I assume you are talking to the PWM controller? What are the parameters and the exact metrics?


Found the datasheet for the controller but no info about how to actually drive it via i²c
http://www.infineon.com/cms/en/product/power/dc-dc-converter/digital-dc-dc-multiphase-controller/IR3567B/productType.html?productType=5546d462533600a401533d2546765ec7#ispnTab2
I-o-I is offline  
post #8 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rollingdice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 66
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Aw, my card's response is :44. I guess it's unable to shift the load to the 6-pin connector?
+rep anyway for the tips smile.gif



rollingdice is offline  
post #9 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I-o-I View Post

Wow, thanks for that.

It would be nice if you could elaborate more on which component you talk to and what the values mean.

I assume you are talking to the PWM controller?

So these commands change the default configuration of the IR3567 VRM controller, which is used on all of the reference boards. There are six phases for the GPU power plane (VDDC) and half of these phases are fed from the PCI-E power connector and the other half from the PCI-E slot 12V source. At the default configuration the cards are shipped with, each of the VRM phases handle the same amount of load. The changes made by these commands affect how the load is distributed between the VRM phases.

With the configuration enabled by these commands, the half of the VRM which is fed from the PCI-E power connector will be taking care of a larger portion of the load than the other half. Since the total power draw of the GPU will remain intact, the power draw from the PCI-E slot will decrease and the power draw from the PCI-E power connector will increase.

This will increase the stress on the other half of the VRM, however the operating parameters will still remain safely below any risk limits. The per phase overcurrent limit on these cards is configured extremely conservatively (36A per phase) and even with the changed configuration there is no need to increase these safety limits from their default values. Also the over temperature protection (OTP) limits are left intact (115°C for forced throttling, 130°C for immediate shutdown).
The Stilt is offline  
post #10 of 178 (permalink) Old 07-05-2016, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingdice View Post

Aw, my card's response is :44. I guess it's unable to shift the load to the 6-pin connector?
+rep anyway for the tips smile.gif

This is my bad actually!
IR3567A response is 20 and IR3567B is 44.
You're good to go.
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off