Would appreciate help in finding / editing the voltage offset in the RX480 Bios - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Would appreciate help in finding / editing the voltage offset in the RX480 Bios

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
doktor83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
if i manage to make it then i will share it, of course biggrin.gif
doktor83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 11:50 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
For sure. I'm on a really nice bios now. Averaging 35fps at 5120x2880 Fallout 4 while using way more than my physcial ram, virtual commit over 11GB on 8GB ram. More ram means more fps for this game. It ran good though.

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #53 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 04:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 581
Rep: 50 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by doktor83 View Post

Gremlins


I think that I can explain that.

You can see here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1609782/watttool-a-simple-tool-that-combines-overclocking-with-vrm-monitoring-tweaking-for-rx-400-series that:
Quote:
Memory clock and voltage: works similar to WattMan. The voltage is not the actual memory voltage (which is fixed to about 1.5 V or needs a hardmod). The voltage controllers second loop is not used, so it is questionable, whether the memory controller has an own dynamic voltage plane. My guess is that the voltage set here simply is a lower limit for the core voltage. If you overclock the memory, always check for memory errors (can be done with HWiNFO)

So WattMan memory voltage is limiting the minimun core voltage when the memory is at the max frequency. And it isn't what you see in the bios editor as memory voltage.

I know how to mod that WattMan memory voltage in my 380 like I say here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1563409/software-for-r9-285-bios-edit/970#post_25725041

But I don't have a 480 or a 470 to test.

I don't see your bios here, but in the grotoc bios those values I guess are: Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Orange highlight value I guess is bios editor memory voltage: 1000mv.

Red highlight value 0B, I guess is a pointer to WattMan memory voltage, is 11 so it's pointing to eleventh voltage in vddc voltage table.

Red highlight value B6 03 is 3B6 that is 950mv and I guess is WattMan memory voltage.

Black highlight value is 1650 mhz for the memory.

So changing the pointed value I guess that you could lower the core voltage to 900mv.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ryan5rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto!
Posts: 70
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Ok I've been trying to follow this thread but have been failing pretty miserably. I have a 4gb 480 that doesn't seem to have any vdcc control whatsoever built in.
(http://filebin.ca/3IaTpLWMymtC/modded-oc1275-1900.rom)

I've been trying to follow @chris89 's steps to undervolt but I don't 100% understand, especially since my bios seems to be missing the offsets required. I'll keep trying on my own, but if there's anything I can do to help please let me know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by h00chi3 go_quote.gif
I got it....

Chris Berman dressed as a Night Elf Hunter, smoking a cigarette while making a pipe bomb in a van, right outside of Eaten. As he went to check his email on his workstation, he spilled his green water cooling additive everywhere, and when he went to clean it up, he hit one of his fans that was on, causing a nice cut and making a bloody hand print. He did not want to leave evidence so he drove the van into the hood
ryan5rd is offline  
post #55 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 05:20 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Between 65282 and 65285 basically use a clock like these to undervolt those power states...

Between 65286 and 65288 you can either run run less clocks or enter manually in 65286, 7, 8 any value at or below 1250mv. Likely 1066-1166mv and call it 65288 max 1306mhz at 1166mv.


Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #56 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 06:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doktor83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 61
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mynm View Post

I think that I can explain that.

You can see here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1609782/watttool-a-simple-tool-that-combines-overclocking-with-vrm-monitoring-tweaking-for-rx-400-series that:
So WattMan memory voltage is limiting the minimun core voltage when the memory is at the max frequency. And it isn't what you see in the bios editor as memory voltage.

I know how to mod that WattMan memory voltage in my 380 like I say here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1563409/software-for-r9-285-bios-edit/970#post_25725041

But I don't have a 480 or a 470 to test.

I don't see your bios here, but I in the grotoc bios those values I guess are: Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Orange highlight value I guess is bios editor memory voltage: 1000mv.

Red highlight value 0B, I guess is a pointer to WattMan memory voltage, is 11 so it's pointing to eleventh voltage in vddc voltage table.

Red highlight value B6 03 is 3B6 that is 950mv and I guess is WattMan memory voltage.

Black highlight value is 1650 mhz for the memory.

So changing the pointed value I guess that you could lower the core voltage to 900mv.

Now this is interesting, i might give it a try when i get more free time.
This explains the next thing:

I modified all GPU mhz/ mV parameters in Polaris on a Xfx 470 4gb card.
Memory also (vddci)



But even after this i MUST lower VDDCI with WattTool to 890mV if i want the undervolt to work.
Looks like the card is ignoring the setting for mvdcc that gets directly from the bios.
doktor83 is offline  
post #57 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 07:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 581
Rep: 50 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by doktor83 View Post

Now this is interesting, i might give it a try when i get more free time.
This explains the next thing:

I modified all GPU mhz/ mV parameters in Polaris on a Xfx 470 4gb card.
Memory also (vddci)



But even after this i MUST lower VDDCI with WattTool to 890mV if i want the undervolt to work.
Looks like the card is ignoring the setting for mvdcc that gets directly from the bios.

Yes, WattTool and wattman memory voltage are the same, I guess that the bios pointed voltage and that it isn't only changing vddci, I guess it coul be changing the min vddci and vddc for the max memory clock like in my 380. So if it's working with WattTool, changing the pointed voltage at the bios could work.

I don't know what the bios editor memory voltage is or if it's vddci, but they aren't the same thing.
mynm is offline  
post #58 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 08:39 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
@mynm Thanks man yeah I find the vddci to be static on Polaris unlike Tonga. It's 900mv all the time.

Maybe you picked up an RX 480 8GB we could figure out how to increase vddci to 1000mv rather than 900mv? More overclocking I'm sure.

Thanks

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #59 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 09:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Loladinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 854
Rep: 41 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris89 View Post

@mynm Thanks man yeah I find the vddci to be static on Polaris unlike Tonga. It's 900mv all the time.

Maybe you picked up an RX 480 8GB we could figure out how to increase vddci to 1000mv rather than 900mv? More overclocking I'm sure.

Thanks
Yeah, you probably shouldn't overvolt the IMC. According to buildzoid that things is as fragile as a baby panda, and overvolting kills it faster than you can say "Crikey!".

Loladinas is offline  
post #60 of 217 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 11:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 581
Rep: 50 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris89 View Post

@mynm Thanks man yeah I find the vddci to be static on Polaris unlike Tonga. It's 900mv all the time.

Maybe you picked up an RX 480 8GB we could figure out how to increase vddci to 1000mv rather than 900mv? More overclocking I'm sure.

Thanks

You are welcome thumb.gif . I see that in some 480 with NCP81022 controller https://www.overclock.net/t/1609782/watttool-a-simple-tool-that-combines-overclocking-with-vrm-monitoring-tweaking-for-rx-400-series/240#post_25870177 vddci can be monitored and it's 900mv like you say, so maybe WattTool, wattman memory voltage or the bios pointed voltage isn't changing vddci.

I guess vddci could be the 84 03 value next to the red highlight 0B pointer. This value is named vddic in tonga but itn't working on it, but it could be working on the 480/470/460.

Edited: I'm not going to buy a 480/580 or 470/570.
mynm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off